We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST PLACE TO STAY IN BLACKPOOL”
Review of The Baron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Baron
Ranked #328 of 864 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 May 2012

This B and B is quite honestly the best place to stay in Blackpool. Not only is it on the sea front with a glorious view over the Irish Sea but is within walking distance of all the attractions,shops, restaurants etc of the sea side resort. The Baron is owned by a delightful couple who not only know how to treat guests but make their stay unforgettable. I stayed over 8 nights in May, and certainly would recommend this guest house to everyone.

David

Room Tip: I had a room overlooking the sea but from my stay there I think allthe rooms are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAVIDNEWYORK010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 267 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
479170
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I spent 5 days on a production in Blackpool and stayed in the Baron, it's walking distance to town and better than most B&B's the couple who owned it were very nice and friendly, it is comfortable and relaxing hotel with no rowdy stag and hen party's, we left early each morning so never sampled the breakfasts.
A small bar with reasonable prices. Quite a nice stay

Room Tip: Not sure as I had a double but the singles seemed small some of guys told me
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Ok, you could argue that this is not a Hotel, it's more a B&B or Guest House, but whatever you want to describe it as it is a wonderful, quaint, comfortable, and more importantly, clean establishment, run by a friendly couple, who are only to pleased to help in any way they can.
I stayed here with my family over the Easter BH period, occupying rooms 23, (Twin with sea views) and 24, (Double with sea views).
Both had modern, well equipped bathrooms, and although there was no bath, (which i didn't mind), there was an excellent shower and always plenty of hot water. The bedroom itself was modestly furnished and comfortable, with nice views, through double glazed windows, out to sea and down towards the North Pier.

Breakfast was very, very good. Beautifully cooked, whether it be a full English or simply eggs on toast. There was cereal and fresh fruit if you wanted something lighter, together with a selection of yoghurts and fruit juices, and as much toast & preserves as you could want. I have stayed in some 5* hotels that didn't feed you so well.

My only gripe, if that's what you want to call it, is that there are no evening meals served. I would have gladly paid a little extra for BB&EM, especially if it were up to the standard of the breakfasts. I did raise this point with Graham, the owner, who said that there were so many eating establishments in Blackpool that they couldn't compete, price wise.

After paying, (for two adults & two teenagers), over £60 in Harry Ramsdens, (for fish & chips!), then £80+ in another restaraunt and £120+ in another in the four nights we stayed in Blackpool, given longer I would argue what he was saying!

The bar in the lounge area was an absolute dream! After spending 8 hours roaming round the Pleasure Beach with two teenagers, a very large G&T and to collapse into a comfy sofa was bliss.

Barnaby, (the owners African Grey), has to get a mention, as being a tease. Go to his cage in the bar and try to get him to talk to you and he will ignore you, but if you leave him alone and sit quietly he will chat away for ages, (my two girls loved him).

The Baron will be top of my list when looking to stay in Blackpool again, without any hesitation.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are at the front of the building & are a little extra, but i don't mind that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R00ster1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

This was a traditional English B and B, complete with a "Basil Fawlty" manager/owner. The decor was terrific, room comfy, breakfast superlative and the location was right on the waterfront near all the action and shops. Parking was a bit tricky as it is in many parts of England. It took a wee bit of time to retrieve the car when we left in the morning.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fredine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We booked online through booking.com last minute on Saturday 3rd March. Never stayed in a guest house before as always stayed in hotels. However, The Baron was superb, cannot say anything bad about it and shall permanently book my stay here when I visit Blackpool again! Worth all 4 stars in which it has been accredited!

Upon arrival we were given a very warm and friendly welcome. Elegantly furnished, warm and sophisticated decor! Stayed in room 11, superior room which had modern, stylish bathroom and superking size bed. Bed was very comfortable. Double glazed windows which lead to a well deserved quiet night!

Fully English breakfast included in the price. Well presented and served without any grease, good quality meat, not your cheap cuts and locally sourced. The waiter was very professional and accomadating!

Oh and lastly, free car park which is rare these days!!

We will definately be back and will recommend to others!

Catherine and Craig

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatB1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Stayed here for New year £40 per person Bed & breakfast in a Superior Room. The only thing that was superior was the bathroom obviously just been refurbished to a high standard. Room itself was basic good quality carpet but a bit old fashioned stayed in room 11. Breakfast was very good but felt a bit cramped in the dining room as though everyone was on top of you. Stay in Blackpool on a regular basis and have stayed in a lot better and cheaper than this.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gouldingstephen62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Just got back from a short break at The Baron Hotel. There was more than adequate parking which is a rare thing in Blackpool. The Hotel was very welcoming, clean and comfortable. Both the bedroom and bathroom were a good size, ours had both a shower and bath! Bed was comfortable and everywhere was very clean. Upon arrival we were given a choice of room and the hospitality from start to finish was perfect. The breakfasts were the best ever with so much choice.
Barney the African Grey parrot was a real hit with us both. Will definitely be returning when we visit Blackpool again. Thanks for a great break.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.4 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#92 of 864 in Blackpool
214 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 73 in Blackpool
3,431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
4,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
577 reviews
2.6 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,281 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#149 of 864 in Blackpool
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baron

Address: 296 North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #328 of 864 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £35 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Baron 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Baron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baron Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing