We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a nice place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Baron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Baron
Ranked #276 of 913 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

I have just come back from this hotel we booked for 2 nights their was 4 of us stopping in 2 rooms when we arrived we met the owner who was very nice and comical the beds where very comfy the room was clean with a nice en suite the breakfast was very nice not fantastic the staff in the breakfast room was very helpful the hotel was in a nice postion just a short walk 2 the north pier will be back next year

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marcus b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    67
    29
    16
    10
See reviews for
30
139
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swadlincote, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed here as two couples for a weekend break and found the staff to be most helpful and attentive, the rooms were comfortable, en-suite immaculate and breakfasts freshly cooked to order. The staff knowledgeable about local attractions and recommended places for evening meals. All round we had a pleasant visit and would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the town, its location is only about 10 mins walk from the tower so close enough for local amenities but far enough away from rowdy crowds.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed at The Baron Hotel as a last minute trip to Blackpool. We normally stay in a much larger hotel as that is our personal preference. We found the Baron to be very nice, homely and welcoming. Graham the owner, Bob the" knowledge" and the lady from the kitchen were all lovely, warm and friendly people, who could not do enough for you.

The Room was very clean, with everything you would need. Due to our own personal taste, we found it a little old fashioned and on the small side. Myself and my husband are on the larger side ( not enormous ) the shower was very awkward with a smallish cubicle and fixed overhead shower head (not good for us ladies not always wanting to wash our hair) which made showering a challenge.

The Breakfast was excellent with a good choice a very pleasant atmosphere.

The location of the hotel is very good with the tram and bus stop right outside, you are far enough away from the hustle and bustle. The lounge has a lovely sea view and balcony and is again very cosy. It has a small bar area.

Overall this is a lovely hotel who do not accept single sex parties and young children, which for us personally is heaven !! We would defiantly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulandaveontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Great little b&b just spent a week at the baron really comfy cozy clean and cheerful hotel as a single person I frequently find myself in a squashed room in the worst part of a hotel then room at the baron was pretty big lovely ensuite shower and loo great breakfast eggs Benedict recommended nice lounge and little bar overlooking the north promenade plenty of free parking opposite tram stop and bus Graham his wife and rob the cook really nice and really want everyone to enjoy their stay and oh yes really warm which was great as weather was wet and windy highly recommend

Room Tip: My single room was at the back on second floor so nice and quiet only disadvantage could not pick up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chattycathy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

We booked this b&b based on ratings from both tripadvisor and another reputable hotel booking site and really wished we hadn't. The rooms are small and dated. The b&b website boasted tea and coffee making facilities, bottled water in the rooms, all rooms temperature controlled etc. We had an open bottle of water, a pack of 3 biscuits which were open with one missing out of it. The only way to try and control the heat in the rooms was to open the window as the radiator was turned off in the room but every other radiator in the place was blasting out heat. We had dirty mugs, dust on top of the mirror and headboard. The bed was very uncomfortable. The shelf in the bathroom was about to fall off the wall when my tooth brush was put on it.

Breakfast the next morning was just as bad. We were not told we would have a table reserved with our room number on. When we found our table we were sitting on a table of 4 next to a couple we didn't know. The fresh coffee was like dishwater. The glasses for our juice were dirty. We were asked what we wanted in those words. I've had better breakfasts in back street dingy greasy spoon and our toast came out cold and 10 minutes after our breakfast. This was the last straw so we decided to check out a day early. We questioned the owner about having a refund for the night were not staying and was told NO!! Even after we explained everything. He just said we need 7 days cancellation notice. Seeing as we had booked the day before we found this very unfair and when we explained our findings, he basically said prove it you've stayed in the room now you should have told us yesterday!! Even thought we found the majority if problems in the morning. We were told no to a refund once again and then to add insult to injury the owner then told us to write a review on here if we had a problem!! So all I can say is this has to be the most disgusting service I have ever received and there is no way all of the reviews are genuine!! I don't normally write reviews as people will make up their ownminds either way. So this
is a gentle warning not to believe everything you read!!

The only positive is the gentleman who checked us in was very polite and helpful. Maybe management should take a leaf out if his book.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nettie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dar_lan, Owner at The Baron, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Because this reviewer was required to honour his commitments it appears to me that he suffered post traumatic embitterment disorder.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

We've stayed there before and always enjoyed it. The rooms, whilst simple, are clean and tidy. The bathrooms all that you would need. The bed comfy. The breakfast, probably the best ever. The staff, brilliant. The location perfect.

If I had a complaint it would be the weather, but as we always get told that we brought it with us, that's probably our fault anyway.

This was our last stay at Blackpool. We specifically went there to experience the tat and gaudiest of it all, (the town, not the hotel), and we've done that now, but if we ever come back, it'd be the Baron for us, as I don't think you'll beat it for the money. You might equal it, but what's the point. If you know it's good, stick with it.

Cheers Ian, keep up the good work...

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank KeithAndSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Last minute get-away-from-it-all booking for my wife and I.
We didn't want a typical Blackpool B&B and were pleased with the Baron.
All staff were extremely pleasant, friendly and helpful.
The whole of the hotel was clean, tidy & well looked after.
Our room, although not large, was sufficient for our one-night & would have been fine for a long weekend.
The bathroom was particularly clean & the towels folded into a white swan sculpture on the bed was a nice touch.
The breakfast room was very pleasantly furnished and the food was of a very good standard.
Certainly one to consider for a short break.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,973 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blencarn Hotel
Blencarn Hotel
#180 of 913 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Bromley
The Bromley
#103 of 913 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#134 of 913 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rutland Hotel
Rutland Hotel
#88 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baron

Property: The Baron
Address: 296 North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #276 of 913 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Baron 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Baron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baron Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing