We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our saving grace!!”
Review of The Baron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Baron
Ranked #284 of 858 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our saving grace!!”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

After having a bad start to our weekend this hotel was our saviour.
It has a lovely friendly atmosphere as soon as you walk through the door, the owners can't do enough for you and the rooms are lovely.
The rooms are clean and warm just what you want. We arrived to find two swans made out of towels on the bed, these little things always put a smile on my face. The hotel is in a brilliant location, far enough away from the hustle and bustle of Blackpool but close enough if you want all that!
The en-suite was great the shower was wonderful. The only problem was the shelf over the sink was on a slant so our toothbrushes etc kept falling off but this we just laughed at.

Would definitely stay here again and would definitely recommend it to anyone!
Thanks for our lovely stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NbH85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    67
    29
    16
    10
See reviews for
30
139
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Radstock
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This is the third year that we have spent a weekend at The Baron and we cannot fault it. The rooms are spotlessly clean, warm and comfortable. The bathroom in particular was the best I have ever seen for cleanliness and the large bath sheets, the sort of luxury you often don't get from a far more expensive and flashier hotel. The staff were as usual, very kind, attentive and nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast good, wholesome food that sets you up for the day. Thank you we will be back again next year without a doubt. Would recommend to anyone

Room Tip: Would recommend to book a "superior room" to get a huge bed and the loveliest bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JILLROGERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Normally stay at one the three main hotel when attending the Soul weekender. but was on a buget.The family run B&B were more than helpful and i would recommend this B&B as a change from staying in the hotels The room were clean and warm and the breakfast was on point with the food being fresh and tasty .The staff were friendly and cheerful.For two nights stay at one of the three I manage to stay 3 nights at the Baron and still save money. I would like to say a big thank you to Marian,Graham,Bob,and Anita for changing my view on B&B's and I will see you next year.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I doubt that any city in England has a more plentiful offering of hotels, B&B's, and rooms available for travellers than Blackpool. They run the gamut from cheap-and-cheeful (sometimes not so cheerful!) to over-priced and pretentious. The Baron hotel is right on the seafront, with easy access to the main attractions of town, and I think they try very hard to offer good accommodation at a fair price.

We surprised the manager by asking to see the room before signing in. He showed us a couple, and we chose one on the second floor with a four-poster bed. The room was large and recently refurbished. The bathroom with small, but clean- what we had expected in a small hotel of this era.

We arrived during a major convention in town, and the parking lot was over full. The manager sorted out a place for our car at the rear of the hotel, and did it with a smile.

The breakfast room is below ground, and full of tables, but not crowded. They make a good cooked breakfast to order. The ingredients are fresh and tasty, and the service is very good.

In my opinion, this is a fine hotel, nicely located, at a very good price.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rascal_EM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here early September and was really disappointed. Room was not clean I went to make a cup of tea an found cups were filthy. Room was very small and dated. Dining room was very cramped never seen so many tables and chairs squashed together. Won't be coming back here!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kath85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Wales
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Spotlessly clean, comfortable & 10 mins easy walk to Tower, theatres etc. A little old-fashioned but the owners are working hard to modernise & our en-suite was bang up-to-date, with huge bath-sheets (much appreciated by this larger lady!!). Breakfast cooked freshly to order & served with a smile! Have stayed in many large 4 & 5-star hotels which have not met the standard of the Baron & I would not hesitate to stay there again. This small & welcoming hotel provides everything you could possibly need for an amazingly low price.

Room Tip: I rang after booking to see if we could change to a sea-view. Graham, the owner, told me that the on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N_WalesPussycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed in a room on the ground floor at the back, every floor board made a noise, we could hear the people above going the toilet ( and I mean going the toilet), the room above also had noisy floorboards, we could hear every foot step they took, the tea mugs in our room had lipstick all around the rim and other bits too, also they must turn the heating on around 7:30 in the morning as we were woken up by pipes banging across the ceiling, pillows were like bricks and the room had a real old musty smell in it ( it badly needed airing out) I couldn't wait to get out the room it was small and depressing , this place is never a 4 star , I wouldn't give it 2.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dollydolly5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 69 in Blackpool
3,135 reviews
0.4 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#3 of 69 in Blackpool
818 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#38 of 69 in Blackpool
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 69 in Blackpool
468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#36 of 69 in Blackpool
1,517 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barrons Hotel
Barrons Hotel
#457 of 858 in Blackpool
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baron

Property: The Baron
Address: 296 North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #284 of 858 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Baron 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Baron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baron Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing