We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”
Review of The Baron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Baron
Ranked #305 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Warwickshire
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed 18 October 2009

After reading reviews we booked The Baron Hotel for 2 nights. We stayed in room number 25 the bathroom has been upgraded but there is no water pressure in the morning. The bedroom leaves a lot to be desired, the furniture is outdated, the bed linen and curtains are faded, there are stains on the carpet and the bed was so uncomfortable we had very little sleep. Couldn't wait to check out. I can only assume this is the only room that hasn't been upgraded.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dar_lan, Owner at The Baron, responded to this review, 21 November 2009
Hello Renlin,
thanks for taking the time to post a review.
I appreciate that you mentioned that the en-suite has been upgraded and is now modern, light and airy.Room 25 is at present configured as a family room and the vague marks that are just visible on the carpet are the result of some-one spilling blackcurrant cordial.Had we been notified of the spillage immediately and not found the stains the following morning after those particular guests had departured we could have removed the stains completely. Despite the best efforts of my wife and I on our hands and knees with scrubbing brushes and a well known brand of carpet cleaner if you look very, very carefully it is just possible to make out the marks.On second thoughts you would probably have to look more carefully than that.I have to say that a light coloured carpet in a family room is not one of the best decisions I have ever made.
During the Winter our plans are to change the room from a family room to a Four Poster room complete with remote control fire a larger flat sceen television new furniture etc.Perhaps you would like to visit us again next year and take a look at the improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    67
    29
    16
    10
See reviews for
30
139
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2009

Booked into the hotel on the strength of the last review. It has somewhere pleasant to sit have a drink and a smoke as well as taking in the night air. I will be staying again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drP_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dar_lan, Owner at The Baron, responded to this review, 18 November 2009
Hello drP_9,
thanks for your review.I am sorry it has taken me so long to respond we have been very busy here at the Baron.I agree with you relaxing on the balcony drink in hand watching the Sunset over the Irish Sea on a warm evening is one of lifes little pleasures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2009

My Stay would have been 'ok' if it wasn't for the lady owner who had no customer service skills at all. The smell of smoke every time you walk down the stairs from the staff stting on the verandor smoking was disgusting. A real shame because as far as Blackpool hotels go this wouldn't have been a bad one. Will not be re visiting!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welltravelled005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dar_lan, Owner at The Baron, responded to this review, 14 August 2009
Thank you for your review.I am at a loss to fathom your comments on smoking.People do sit outside on the balcony or verandor as it is refered to(bad spellers of the world untie) admiring the view over the Irish Sea whilst having coffee and a cigarette.For you to be able to smell smoke in the entrance as it is decribed, the sea breeze would have to be blowing North to South, downhill and through a closed door a distance of approximately 30 feet before it dissipated.I admit the entrance door may have been left open even so to be able to smell smoke in breezy conditions over such a distance is a remarkable feat.
Methinks this review is a stamp your foot, scweam and scweam temper tantrum because we were forced, by circumstances, to refuse the option of a days free parking.
On the day of departure guests are asked to vacate our car parks at the appointed time.This allows incoming clients to park their cars,four by fours,motorcycles etc.Far from being rude my wife was put in the invidious position of having to request several times for the vehicle in question to be moved.We particularly needed this space because it was on the rear car park which gives level access into the building and we were expecting one of our less able clients.
We are sometimes able to let our guests enjoy a days free parking when they wish to extend their last day in Blackpool but we are only able to offer this facility when we know that incoming guests are arriving by aeroplane,coach,train etc. and therefore do not need the car parks.
I see from the ratings section of the review that cleanliness,rooms,value and location were given reasonable though not excelent marks.Perhaps they were grudgingly given?
We would like to welcome you again to The Baron for next years Punk Festival or at any other time,maybe if you came by train.................................
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2009

My Husband and I stayed at The Baron Hotel in Blackpool with freinds to celebrate my Husbands 40th Birthday. What can I say, we were made most welcome. The breakfast was lovely and the staff were accomadating too. The rooms were very comfortable and it catered for all our needs. The view from the hotel over loooking the sea was perfect, and we were far enough outside the roudy part of Blackpool to enjoy the peace and quiet. But not to far to walk to a pub and have a boggie! and that we did. We parked the car up on the Friday and never touched it till Sunday, it was very safe. We will most certainly be going back when we next visit Blackpool. Thankyou for making our stay very welcome.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kassshropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2009

Went to blackpool to see the tower circus, Found the baron staff to be VERY welcoming and friendly. The rooms were cosy and clean and had everything you would need for a weekend stay eg flat screen tv with freeview.
Breakfast was very nice catered for all needs and a bar on a night time
overall very good stay would recommend.
also found the parrot very amusing

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sean901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dar_lan, Owner at The Baron, responded to this review, 21 July 2009
Hello Sean,
thanks for taking the time and trouble to leave a review,particularly such a nice one.The team here at The Baron always welcome each and every guest in a warm and friendly manner without being o.t.t.It is rewarding to get such positive feedback and to know we are moving in the right direction.Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#28 of 73 in Blackpool
3,198 reviews
0.4 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#4 of 73 in Blackpool
830 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#12 of 73 in Blackpool
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
478 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barrons Hotel
Barrons Hotel
#303 of 859 in Blackpool
39 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Howard Hotel
The Howard Hotel
#431 of 859 in Blackpool
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baron

Property: The Baron
Address: 296 North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #305 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Baron 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Baron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baron Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing