We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5-star all the way.”
Review of Chaps

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chaps
Ranked #58 of 864 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2013

What an up-market B&B this is.
Room was spotless, breakfast was excellent (Those breakfast sausages were not cheap and I have had a few big sausages in my time) plus the two who manage the hotel were very helpful.
You get the more concerning people staying here. The choice of drapes matched the bedding perfect and the bed was very comfortable.
Excellent prices from their evening restaurant menu.
I forgot to collect my hotel invoice and it was sent to me ASAP. Service even after you have checked out.
I will be staying here again. Thanks guys!

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank yank1961SELondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

This hotel is true gem in Blackpool i was here Sunday and Monday evening .. the hosts are lovely and are so helpful nothing is enough trouble . I stayed in one of there premier rooms the ABBA suite was modern bright huge king size bed with free standing modern expensive furniture . The bathroom is modern bright and spotless like everywhere in hotel . The bar is modern everywhere is well looked after. The dining room again is modern and bright they serve a fresh filling breakfast and they serve light home cooked food in the evening i had steak pie and chips all home made and home made chips lovely .. For me the place is fantastic you feel safe and everywhere is so clean and tidy a real home from home . Great guys great place be back real soon

Room Tip: the premier rooms are worth the little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thumper1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

A fantastic small hotel. Can't recommend this place highly enough if you are looking to stay in Blackpool.

Spotlessly clean throughout, very friendly genuine staff who go out of their way to help and make your stay pleasant.

I stayed in a regular room with shared bathroom, small and compact but tastefully decorated, comfortable warm bed.

Breakfast was good, simple choices but delivered to your table freshly cooked and piping hot. Did not try the evening meal but nice choice on the menu.

Loads of information about the local area and gay scene in reception, or just ask in the bar.

You are in the gay area so bars and clubs close by, 10 minute walk to Blackpool tower/town centre, 1 minute walk to beach.

Parking very close to hotel - just make sure you have plenty of small change for the pay & display machines. Lots of stairs so ask for a low floor if mobility is an issue. In a nutshell - clean, safe, friendly and fun place.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Uk_jamie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Very impressed indeed with Chaps. I was upgraded to a premier room, which was immaculately clean and decorated to a very good standard. It was like being in a bedroom in a lovely house rather than a small hotel!

I slept very soundly, even given it was near a main road. Lovely big bed (possibly king size).

The breakfast was enjoyable and the service always warm and friendly.

I only stayed a night, but I got the impression that the hotel's clientele is mainly the older gentleman. Most guests seemed at least 40 - something to bear in mind, depending on what you're looking for :-)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Distant_Cousin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Great hotel.chaps is the best i have stayed.great guys very welcoming will be staying there again thanks . also very clean lovely comfy beds also lovely brekkie to . Close to all what you need .................

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martymarty1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Location ideal for us - just outside the noise but within easy walking distance to bars, clubs, restaurants etc

Great hosts; friendly, welcoming and have a good knowledge of Blackpool.

Nice bar for pre meal/theatre/club drinks.

We didn't have food here so can't rate it. First timers to Blackpool so wanted to experience as much as possible - which meant we weren't up early enough for breakfast!

Had a great time, cannot fault anything and hope to return again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hubblebub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I was a bit weary of my first visit to Blackpool for quite a few years. I've had some bad experiences with some of the local guest houses. Chaps was a nice surprise. The room was very nice, and a great price. There is a really nice bar, with good prices, great atmosphere and really nice décor. Staff were friendly and very helpful. The whole place was spotlessly clean. Can't wait to go back again. I can now start visiting Blackpool again with confidence.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adam1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eleven
Hotel Eleven
#8 of 864 in Blackpool
326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mardi Gras Guest Accommodation
Mardi Gras Guest Accommodation
#420 of 864 in Blackpool
411 reviews
1.2 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#90 of 864 in Blackpool
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 73 in Blackpool
3,400 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,297 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#167 of 864 in Blackpool
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaps

Address: 9-11 Cocker Street, Blackpool FY1 1SF, England (Formerly Colins Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 864 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chaps Gay Hotel in Blackpool, is the largest and one of the best Hotel for Gay Men Only. Perfect for gay holidays and weekends away. Is truly the most popular Gay Hotel in Blackpool. Close to the sea front, and walking distance of all the gay bars, clubs, and sauna's that Blackpool is famous for, makes Chaps Gay Hotel one of the UK’s premier Gay Men Only Hotel for Holidays. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chaps Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing