We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best All In One Hotel BlackPool Experience !”
Review of Chaps

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chaps
Ranked #61 of 856 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Best All In One Hotel BlackPool Experience !”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

During the latter part of 2013 I had 3 trips in total to Blackpool , all of which were my first times taking extended stays overnight there .

The first trip in July was not so enjoyable as I chose a b&b that proved to be quite regimental and prudish and did not offer much in the way of facilities or even meals .

I noticed Chaps nearby during this stay and decided to give it a go in September time .

From the initial call to book....right through the stay....and to holding my luggage for me until it was time to leave....Kevin and Mark's welcoming attitude and hospitality never falters !

I was always referred to on first name terms , made to feel extremely welcome and valued rather than ' just another guest ' , always chatted to and entertained at their own bar on an evening and nothing was ever too much trouble throughout mealtimes and the stay in general !

The rooms , facilities , bar , eating area and lounge are all more than comfortable , spacious and pleasant to be in . The meals ( which include BOTH breakfast and evening tea ) are varied , generous in portions , home made , affordable and above all else....always delicious and prepared promptly .

If you prefer a quiet stay and simply use the hotel for sleep early evening and breakfast early morning...you will find Chaps offers a quiet , comfortable nights sleep and more than adequate facilities for your needs . And equally if you are a more social guest or party animal , then the friendly atmosphere and fun of Chaps' own bar aswell as specific areas and rooms set aside for night owls who wish to continue the fun into the early hours....will provide you with the means to get the enjoyment and satisfaction out of your stay without disturbing those who do not .

Put simply , I already returned here in Nov and am visiting here again this second week of April as it is THE best , most friendly and most all in one hotel experience I've found to date . Thoroughly recommended to any single or coupled males staying in Blackpool and full credit to Kev and Mark for providing guests with such a complete and positive holiday trip !

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestMidAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin b, Owner at Chaps, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hi Adam really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you have got home safely after your latest visit, thanks for your kind comments and we hope to see you again later in the year. Thanks Kevin & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    29
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
77
64
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
south wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed ate this hotel for three nights this this weekend and found it to be a brilliant experience. The hosts Kev & Mark are superb at making you feel welcome and cared for while staying with them. The hotel itself is immaculate, we had a triple room which was more like a 5 star experience for us. We have stayed at many other hotels in Blackpool but honestly please try this one IT IS THE BEST.
Paul South Wales

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welshpx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin b, Owner at Chaps, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hi Steve, Steve & Paul we are really pleased you enjoyed your long weekend with us in The Mama Mia suite and really appreciate your comments thanks alot and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a great 1 night stay in the Elton John Suite. We booked in whilst driving down the M6 and arrived an hour later. The hotel was faultless. How these guys run a business at these rates and provide such a great standard I don't know. Cleanliness 5 stars, service 5 stars, room standard 5 stars and food 5 stars.

Both hosts helped advise us of where to go for drinks and also a great recommendation for dinner. They also gave us a discount card for money off at local restaurants and also in some cases free entry to clubs.

Car parking across the street was fine, reasonably priced and the hotel was close to seafront and all good bars and clubs.

We'll be back. We normally prefer to stick to traditional branded hotels, so glad in this case we didn't. A must stay for guys when staying in Blackpool.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank scotlad09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin b, Owner at Chaps, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Hi, thanks for taking time to write this review we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your comments especially with regards to the 5 stars. Whilst we are not the cheapest in Blackpool we do try and offer value for money. Hope you got all your shopping done and look forward to seeing you in the future. Best wishes Kevin & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

What can you say about Chaps Hotel except a amazing place to stay.
we have stay here a few times now, and each time your made to feel welcome.
both Mark & Kevin are there to make you feel welcome and feel like your at home.
each room is a delight. breakfast is brilliant and they cant do enough for you.
if you are a gay male and want a good place to stay, then i would 100% recommend this hotel.

A place i would always stay when in Blackpool. see you both soon.
Dayon & Kirk

Room Tip: Each room are a delight to stay in, but! if you like to raise early see the sun come up or just like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dayon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin b, Owner at Chaps, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Hi Dayon and Kirk ,thanks for taking time to write this review we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay, and hope you are still enjoying City living. Hope to see you again soon, best wishes Kevin & Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We have stayed at chaps before and always had a great experience. Rooms are well decorated and very clean. En suite was excellent. The Breakfast was lovely and the ingredients top notch. Hosts Kevin and Mark have always been very friendly and helpful. Close to the sea front and Blackpool gay scene too. This is our hotel of choice whenever we visit Blackpool. See you again soon, Mark&Mark

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin b, Owner at Chaps, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Hi it was nice to see you all again we are really pleased that you had an enjoyable visit , a special thanks for the "Thankyou" card and we look forward to seeing you again hopefully when the weather is a bit better. Take care Kevin & Mark .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
121 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Had a great two night stay, owners very nice and very friendly; great value home made food availble and good sized portions, nice bar area - very central minutes from everything - don't forget to ask for your BAGS discount card, saved me £5 off entrance fees on the Sat night, so worth supporting LGBT venues/BAGS!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrenandJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

As a young gay couple we were delighted with Chaps B&B it was friendly, clean and was in a great location. They offered a great breakfast with friendly morning hosts and also had a great selection of necessities that may have been forgotten in the wash kit. Loved the stay, love the town we will be back.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Benji1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Parisienne Hotel
Parisienne Hotel
#64 of 70 in Blackpool
657 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mardi Gras Guest Accommodation
Mardi Gras Guest Accommodation
#365 of 856 in Blackpool
392 reviews
0.2 mi away
McHalls Hotel
McHalls Hotel
#17 of 856 in Blackpool
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#68 of 856 in Blackpool
301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eleven
Hotel Eleven
#8 of 856 in Blackpool
287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nevada
Hotel Nevada
#450 of 856 in Blackpool
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaps

Property: Chaps
Address: 9-11 Cocker Street, Blackpool FY1 1SF, England (Formerly Colins Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 856 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chaps Gay Hotel in Blackpool, is the largest and one of the best Hotel for Gay Men Only. Perfect for gay holidays and weekends away. Is truly the most popular Gay Hotel in Blackpool. Close to the sea front, and walking distance of all the gay bars, clubs, and sauna's that Blackpool is famous for, makes Chaps Gay Hotel one of the UK’s premier Gay Men Only Hotel for Holidays. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chaps Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing