We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!!”
Review of Chaps

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chaps
Ranked #60 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!!!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the elton john room for 2 nights,very clean,free wifi ,great breakfast,mini bar in room,though we paid a little more for a better room think it was well worth it,good location for the gay scene,would defiantly
Stay again

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin b, Owner at Chaps, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Hi really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in The Elton John suite and that you found us fairly central for your visit to Blackpool, hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    29
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
81
65
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Partner & I stayed here 13 June in the room on ground floor. Great hosts, and breakfast was as good as the hosts. Room would be a little better when TV is put on a swivel bracket.

All in all, enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor5845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin b, Owner at Chaps, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you enjoyed our hosting qualities as well as your breakfast.We are investigating the possibility of putting the D V D Television on a swivel bracket, but are a little apprehensive with it being a large 32 inches. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Not been to Blackpool for a few years but decided to stay over on the bank holiday in may for my birthday, last stayed at Chaps about 2 years ago and must say that Kevin & Mark have worked wonders with the place, it's fresh, funky and spotless!!
Beds are really comfortable, rooms are spacious and have everything you need for a weekend stay.
The bar is quite reasonable for a pre evening drink and the banter is good when travelling alone.
Breakfast is a really welcoming experience where everyone has a little gossip about last nights events, Mark makes delicious poached eggs.
Keep up the good work guys and I look forward to staying with you again soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caletaboyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin b, Owner at Chaps, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
We are really pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and appreciate your comments about the re- furbishment we have been working on over the past few years, glad you enjoyed the poached eggs and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Booked last minute, owner very friendly, room spotless clean, breakfast only served 9-10 but was a decent breakfast, in a good location, single yellow parking across the road and a car park, would I return, YES

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Londonstevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin b, Owner at Chaps, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Spur of the moment holiday and we only decided to go away rang up and was allocated a room straight away. When we got there we were greeted warmly and shown to our rooms, nothing was too much trouble and the breakfast was lovely. Cannot fault and had a great stay will definitely be returning

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 336Tom90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin b, Owner at Chaps, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thanks for your comments and your review, glad you all had a good time and the weather was not too bad. We really appreciate your comments especially as you really wanted en suite rooms and we only had standard rooms left. Hope to see you again soon. Best wishes Kevin & Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

‘Setting the standard’

Having stayed in various Blackpool establishments I can therefore comment and state the following from personal experience being a guest at this hotel many times.

If you require value for money with exemplary service then this hotel is for you. Both Kevin and Mark have set the standard for others to follow. Is has a mixed age clientele but all travelling to Blackpool and this hotel seem to have ‘leave your attitude in Brighton’ approach.

This is a truly excellent hotel, has all the basic amenities required,is absolutely spotlessly clean, and finally the owners should be very proud what they have created.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Westley Lee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin b, Owner at Chaps, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Hi Westley & Lee thanks very much for your review and your kind comments, we are still selling the vegetarian lager and it really is selling fast. We hope to see you again soon, by then Im sure we will have a new batch of vegetarian vodka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed in the Chaps in Blackpool for a couple of days. Very nice atmosphere, Mark and Kev were very friendly and helpful.
Well cooked breakfast and choice of cerials.
We watched the Eurosong contest in the cosy bar. Defo staying there again.
Thanks guys for the lovely stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are called after actors or singers, we stayed in the Marilyn Monroe which was a nice d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gelert1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin b, Owner at Chaps, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Glad you had an enjoyable stay with us, sorry about the Eurovision result but we liked the Bearded lady hope to see you again soon and thanks for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
McHalls Hotel
McHalls Hotel
#19 of 859 in Blackpool
836 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#49 of 859 in Blackpool
314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mardi Gras Guest Accommodation
Mardi Gras Guest Accommodation
#343 of 859 in Blackpool
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nevada
Hotel Nevada
#478 of 859 in Blackpool
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelham Lodge
Pelham Lodge
#2 of 129 in Blackpool
505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Windsor House
Windsor House
#58 of 859 in Blackpool
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaps

Property: Chaps
Address: 9-11 Cocker Street, Blackpool FY1 1SF, England (Formerly Colins Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chaps Gay Hotel in Blackpool, is the largest and one of the best Hotel for Gay Men Only. Perfect for gay holidays and weekends away. Is truly the most popular Gay Hotel in Blackpool. Close to the sea front, and walking distance of all the gay bars, clubs, and sauna's that Blackpool is famous for, makes Chaps Gay Hotel one of the UK’s premier Gay Men Only Hotel for Holidays. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chaps Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing