We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (251)
Filter reviews
251 results
Traveller rating
213
30
4
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
213
30
4
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews elton john gay hotel premier room judy garland great hotel toast night life thanks guys my partner wonderful weekend within easy walking distance warm welcome friendly hosts room was spotless only stayed one night a great stay sea front
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 251 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2017

I've stayed here four times now, and always had a fantastic time. This time around I stayed in one of the premium rooms, which was very spacious, and beautifully decorated. Other times I've stayed in the standard rooms which are still clean and modern (but unsurprisingly, smaller and a little more basic). TV's, and tea/coffee facilities are provided, and a cooked breakfast is included - which is excellent. The bar is a great place to relax, or meet up before a night out on the town. I'd like to thank Kevin and Mark for the fantastic service they give us every time we stay!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KevinF1650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin b, Owner at Chaps, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Hi Kevin
Thanks very much for your review and pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, the Premier rooms are bigger than the standard room that's why we do charge a little more although we do try and price them at a reasonable price and try to take into account that we do get quite a few single guys staying with us who prefer to have a double room. Hope to see you again soon. Best wishes Kevin & Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

I stayed in the hotel for a long weekend and what great stay I had , the room was so comfortable and clean and as for the bar and food on offer it was truly amazing, owners Keven and mark where on hand to help you if you needed it and you always got a warm welcome from them, can’t wait to stay there again xx

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin b, Owner at Chaps, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Hi John
Thanks very much for your review and your kind comments pleased you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the bar and food we have to offer, we hope to see you again soon. Best wishes Kevin & Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Lovely stay in this clean comfortable hotel. We checked in and were able to park up right outside the door which was great although parking available across the road. Good location with very friendly hosts so will definitely be back!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank murzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin b, Owner at Chaps, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Hi
Thanks for your review we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you managed to park outside the Hotel, we never guarantee this as we have limited parking as you know but we have two car parks between the hotel and sea front which are reasonably priced and spaces are normally available. Hope to see you again soon
Best wishes Kevin & Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

After been given a warm welcome and was shown up to my room which was room 14 and he carried my case, I asked for bars and places to visit and he gave some good tourist attractions and tips. On suite room was clean, tidy and welcoming. Breakfast was of high standard, cooked and presented professionally, everyone commented on how
beautiful the breakfast was. You wern't bothered by the owners at all, if anything you needed you can simply ring the bell at reception and ask. I have had a lovely time at Chaps Hotel and Blackpool and made some friends at my stay too. If I was to be critical with Chaps Hotel I would honestly say it needs a tv room where people can sit, chat and be sociable be given a chance to make friendships. Other than that, lovely stay and I will be returning again with a lad I met while staying at Chaps Hotel. Hope you enjoyed the chocolates lads ;) Dean

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank Compass730885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin b, Owner at Chaps, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Hi Dean
Pleased you had a nice time at the hotel and thanks for the chocolates (Mark ate the lot) we don't have a television lounge as we use the bar for this which is open for people to sit in through out the day, pleased you made some friends at the hotel during your stay and we hope to see you again soon. Best wishes Kevin & Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

I was on a weekend trip with eight people six of us stayed in chaps, I was on the top floor in what I think was a room dedicated to ABBA. The first thing that entered my head was the convenience and location. Near enough to the golden mile and bars to enjoy them but not intrusive a quiet location. We arrived early evening and Like all seaside resorts parking is an issue pay and display can be a premium up to £21 for the weekend.
The hotel has an inviting look a few shallow steps up to the door, inside a nice clean entrance hall with contemporary sofas. This hotel entrance is clean doesn't have the knockout smell of air freshener that meets you in some, reception is through the right-hand door. Small and does it's job, the owners are two very helpful people booked in very quickly and up to the room. Admittedly the place is a bit of a Warren two stair cases very confusing at 2.00a.m but that's me. Once in the room you notice how clean everything is the bedding is of high quality the furniture all good quality honey coloured pine,plenty of drawers and hangers in a large wardrobe a laminated floor finish the modern look. The room was a twin slept three with a double and single bed , a television on the wall with "Freeview" . Off the room a nice ensuite shower,sink and toilet
not huge but your not going to live in there, lots of hot water all day and two fluffy towels, and a guess soap. There are no shower gels or shampoos and in all fairness to the owners I wouldn't expect them at these prices. The room was very comfortable ,the bar down stairs in a nice airy lounge is very good and not expensive ,a huge flat screen TV on the wall but not so loud you can't hear anything. The bar prices are cheaper than most bars outside other gay hotels might learn something here. Breakfast is part self service for cereal, coffee, tea and orange juice, while you are eating this you can order your breakfast,the dining room clean plenty of room for all and very sociable. The breakfast consist of bacon sausage and eggs ,two of each baked beans served in small cups ,hash Brown's and three slices of toast with butter and a choice of jams. A vegetarian option is available and the hosts will do their absolute best to cater for your needs within reason. The food is of good quality the sausage had a slight hint of pepper if you had full breakfast it should last a good part of you day. Checking out easy in conclusion a really great hotel not overpriced some other gay hotels could look here and not over charge for inferior rooms. The addition of a key to get in at night made getting in after a night out easy and the hotel secure. Would recommend to everyone I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Luxury for budget prices
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1strib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin b, Owner at Chaps, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Hi Andy
Thanks very much for your detailed review and the positive feed back you have given us, we are still waiting for our plaque to put on the front door, hope to see you again soon. Best wishes Kevin & Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews