We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best, tiny cramped room and bit dirty”
Review of The Strand Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Strand Hotel
Ranked #27 of 69 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Average at best, tiny cramped room and bit dirty”
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Twin with sea view. We booked this hotel because of the good/rave reviews and are disappointed to say the least. If this is the best Blackpool can offer goodness knows what bottom of the pile is.
Good parts are competent friendly receptionist and modern lounge/bar area, newish carpets and nice communal toilets. Excellent cooked breakfast with top quality ingredients for the cooked element sadly let know by diluted "juice" and cheap jams but lovely friendly staff.

Room - we expected small but this was so tiny it was really a single size at best. You had to sidle sideways between beds and furniture and also between twin beds. If both of you were standing at same time one had to go into the bathroom to let the other get to the wardrobe scenario. Very little carpet because so little floor but it was badly stained and months of accummulated dirt where it butted up to the wall or furniture. Beds very short - at 5.8 my foot hung over the edge and my husband at 6.5 was distinctly cramped. Despite being opposite the lift no noise from adjoining rooms or the lift which was good. Small duvet but clean and fortunately the ceiling very high otherwise it would be soo claustophobic. Good lighting and excellent hospitality tray.

Bathroom - Cheap suite and needs total refurb. Again small but lots of places to place bags, toiletries etc. Short but deep bath, no shower mat so quite slippery and bath difficult to get out of as a deep step out - certainly not suitable for anyone with any type of leg ailment. Only bath towels - no hand towels which I did not like. Again the cleaner must just go in a circle because all the corners and edges really dirty.

We paid £75 per night and think it was worth half this at best.

Room Tip: Ask for shower only if you have any infirmity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindcast7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStrandManager, Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2011
We are disappointed with your review on our hotel and assure you that Blackpool has many quality hotels of which we are one, as recognised in our latest award from Lancashire and Blackpool Tourism when we received Highly Commended for the best small hotel in Lancashire.
Our bedrooms all conform to the size required to be awarded 3 star hotel accreditation although due to the age of the building some are more spacious than others. The beds in the room you stayed are full sized beds and not short as you claim. The bathroom contains a bath with a rain shower, and a grohe bathroom suite, hardly cheep! This room does not need a total refurb. I also refute your suggestion that our rooms are dirty, after a very busy season of which we are nearing the end, all our carpets receive a through deep clean after the inevitable wear and tear.
Our towels are a mix of bath sheets, hand towels and bath mats with rubber bathmat supplied if required as advertised in the room guide.
I'm pleased you enjoyed you breakfast with top quality ingredients but we certainly would not supply these then water down the juices??
£75 for your room per night, during high season in a sea view room including breakfast is not poor value for money I would be interested to what your expectations would be for a room you paid £37.50 for 2 persons including breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    139
    50
    21
    14
See reviews for
194
198
34
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

This was my second time at hotel cant fault any off it, arrived with 53 guest they all enjoyed their stay ( some complained it was to far out for walking into town ) great food , brilliant entertainment, clean and very friendly thanks again to Aaron and Jane and their wonderful staff

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvonne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed here for the weekend on half board basis. Staff very friendly and food lovely. Hotel was perfectly situated for a nice walk into town.
Only downside was our room was a little small to take the cot.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donaghadee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

a spotless and well run hotel.all the staff went out of their way to make you welcome.great entertainment every night.we will always remember our stay here.

Room Tip: very clean a lot with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MervynS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

I’ve just returned from a four night stay at the Strand, with my husband, young brother and his friend.
The weather was, without doubt, the worst we’ve experienced in this, our third trip to Blackpool, but it was more than made for up by the warmth and hospitality we received in this little gem of a hotel.
The service, apart from a little hiccup with overbooking dinner on the first night was excellent. The food was great with a simple changeable menu in the evening, and the breakfast one of the best we’ve had in any hotel. Nothing was too much bother for staff and they helped out with what were the best things to see and do.
There is, unusually, free internet access, which we found particularly helpful with things to do in the poor weather.
If you don’t want to go out at night, then there’s always entertainment from a variety of singers/musicians.
The rooms are clean and well cared for, and any maintenance problems dealt with swiftly.
I would most definitely go back to The Strand and recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamtheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloucester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We found the staff at the hotel excellent, polite and obliging in every way - especially Carl who really goes out of his way to help. The food and rooms are very good. However, we feel there should be more than just one Disabled room for a hotel of this size, four would be more feasible. Again, due to the size and location of the hotel, parking is very restricted and there are only four spaces for the hotel. It is advisable, therefore, to book a parking space (especially if a wheelchair user) well in advance.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

very clean hotel lovely food excellent staff very good entertainment every evening only slight gripe we stayed in a room with a sea view,very clean but quite small,i would have no problem recommending this hotel to anyone ihave stayed in several sea front hotels in blackpool all bigger than this one but none of them are any better dave & phoebe room 203

Room Tip: very clean and modern but quite small
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 69 in Blackpool
3,097 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
#12 of 69 in Blackpool
760 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Royal Boston Hotel
The Royal Boston Hotel
#11 of 69 in Blackpool
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#13 of 69 in Blackpool
745 reviews
0.0 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#49 of 69 in Blackpool
1,040 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#35 of 69 in Blackpool
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Hotel

Property: The Strand Hotel
Address: 326-328 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 69 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winners of Blackpool Hotel of the Year 2009. Situated in a prime location on Blackpool’s exclusive North Promenade, a leisurely stroll from the Golden Mile, you will find one of Blackpool’s finest hotels - as featured on Coronation Street! You’re guaranteed impeccable service with a warm and friendly welcome from an award-winning family team. Offering a home-from-home experience for guests seeking the best in comfort and quality. We promise nothing less than a memorable stay. The Strand Hotel is the place to stay ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing