We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value.”
Review of The Strand Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Strand Hotel
Ranked #29 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed here for two nights in October and were very happy with the hotel.

All the staff are very helpful & friendly. The bed was comfortable & the buffet breakfast means you can eat as much as you like.
The bar prices are excellent for a hotel, (a pint for less than £3 or a double for £2.50), and kept open until a reasonable hour. Good barman too.
Was disappointed to find that no food was served after 8pm though.

All in all a great value for money hotel. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timtwist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

490 - 496 of 706 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2011

Lovely sea views, very attentive bar staff and owners, great location near the piers, Blackpool Tower and shopping centres. I had a relaxing break and found the hotel modern and comfortable, breakfast was good too. I would definately recommend this for single travellers aswell as families as I was made to feel very welcome. I will be returning to The Strand again when I am next in Blackpool!!

Room Tip: Single room with lovely sea views on the third floor, less noise away from lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 635Dawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Twin with sea view. We booked this hotel because of the good/rave reviews and are disappointed to say the least. If this is the best Blackpool can offer goodness knows what bottom of the pile is.
Good parts are competent friendly receptionist and modern lounge/bar area, newish carpets and nice communal toilets. Excellent cooked breakfast with top quality ingredients for the cooked element sadly let know by diluted "juice" and cheap jams but lovely friendly staff.

Room - we expected small but this was so tiny it was really a single size at best. You had to sidle sideways between beds and furniture and also between twin beds. If both of you were standing at same time one had to go into the bathroom to let the other get to the wardrobe scenario. Very little carpet because so little floor but it was badly stained and months of accummulated dirt where it butted up to the wall or furniture. Beds very short - at 5.8 my foot hung over the edge and my husband at 6.5 was distinctly cramped. Despite being opposite the lift no noise from adjoining rooms or the lift which was good. Small duvet but clean and fortunately the ceiling very high otherwise it would be soo claustophobic. Good lighting and excellent hospitality tray.

Bathroom - Cheap suite and needs total refurb. Again small but lots of places to place bags, toiletries etc. Short but deep bath, no shower mat so quite slippery and bath difficult to get out of as a deep step out - certainly not suitable for anyone with any type of leg ailment. Only bath towels - no hand towels which I did not like. Again the cleaner must just go in a circle because all the corners and edges really dirty.

We paid £75 per night and think it was worth half this at best.

Room Tip: Ask for shower only if you have any infirmity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindcast7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStrandManager, Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2011

We are disappointed with your review on our hotel and assure you that Blackpool has many quality hotels of which we are one, as recognised in our latest award from Lancashire and Blackpool Tourism when we received Highly Commended for the best small hotel in Lancashire.
Our bedrooms all conform to the size required to be awarded 3 star hotel accreditation although due to the age of the building some are more spacious than others. The beds in the room you stayed are full sized beds and not short as you claim. The bathroom contains a bath with a rain shower, and a grohe bathroom suite, hardly cheep! This room does not need a total refurb. I also refute your suggestion that our rooms are dirty, after a very busy season of which we are nearing the end, all our carpets receive a through deep clean after the inevitable wear and tear.
Our towels are a mix of bath sheets, hand towels and bath mats with rubber bathmat supplied if required as advertised in the room guide.
I'm pleased you enjoyed you breakfast with top quality ingredients but we certainly would not supply these then water down the juices??
£75 for your room per night, during high season in a sea view room including breakfast is not poor value for money I would be interested to what your expectations would be for a room you paid £37.50 for 2 persons including breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

This was my second time at hotel cant fault any off it, arrived with 53 guest they all enjoyed their stay ( some complained it was to far out for walking into town ) great food , brilliant entertainment, clean and very friendly thanks again to Aaron and Jane and their wonderful staff

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yvonne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed here for the weekend on half board basis. Staff very friendly and food lovely. Hotel was perfectly situated for a nice walk into town.
Only downside was our room was a little small to take the cot.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

a spotless and well run hotel.all the staff went out of their way to make you welcome.great entertainment every night.we will always remember our stay here.

Room Tip: very clean a lot with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MervynS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

I’ve just returned from a four night stay at the Strand, with my husband, young brother and his friend.
The weather was, without doubt, the worst we’ve experienced in this, our third trip to Blackpool, but it was more than made for up by the warmth and hospitality we received in this little gem of a hotel.
The service, apart from a little hiccup with overbooking dinner on the first night was excellent. The food was great with a simple changeable menu in the evening, and the breakfast one of the best we’ve had in any hotel. Nothing was too much bother for staff and they helped out with what were the best things to see and do.
There is, unusually, free internet access, which we found particularly helpful with things to do in the poor weather.
If you don’t want to go out at night, then there’s always entertainment from a variety of singers/musicians.
The rooms are clean and well cared for, and any maintenance problems dealt with swiftly.
I would most definitely go back to The Strand and recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tamtheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
The Strand Lodge
The Strand Lodge
#57 of 73 in Blackpool
129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maples Hotel
Maples Hotel
#22 of 73 in Blackpool
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#28 of 73 in Blackpool
3,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#61 of 73 in Blackpool
1,094 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
#10 of 73 in Blackpool
793 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
4,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Hotel

Address: 326-328 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: £71 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winners of Blackpool Hotel of the Year 2009. Situated in a prime location on Blackpool’s exclusive North Promenade, a leisurely stroll from the Golden Mile, you will find one of Blackpool’s finest hotels - as featured on Coronation Street! You’re guaranteed impeccable service with a warm and friendly welcome from an award-winning family team. Offering a home-from-home experience for guests seeking the best in comfort and quality. We promise nothing less than a memorable stay. The Strand Hotel is the place to stay ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing