We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel”
Review of The Strand Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Strand Hotel
Ranked #24 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We stayed 2 nights on th 4th & 5th nov at the strand for my husband,s 50th birthday treat,from the min we arrived there was a smell to the hotel,the staff was helpful on the desk,lift very slow,double room small not very clean stains on carpet,first night we had entertainment then nothing on the second night when booking they did say there would be entertainment on both nights,breakfast on the first morning was fantastic staff on the ball couldnt do enough second morning 1 member of staff was rude not a smile on her face food was slow coming and only just warm,another member of staff smelled of BO but he was so helpful and couldnt do enough for you not sure if i would go back again for the price i paid have sent hotel an e.mail and had nothing back as yet....

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStrandManager, Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2011

I am sorry to hear that you found your stay with us unsatisfactory. Our staff are usually praised for their efficiency and friendliness and it is unusual for them not to smile. I have had a word with the team working on Sunday morning regarding your complaint to bring this to their attention. One member of staff is upset by your reference to him and feels this is not the place to air these views, which we strongly refute.
Again I have spoken to housekeeping regarding your room, all our carpets and the whole of the hotel undergoes a thorough deep clean at the end of what has been a very busy season to address the inevitable wear and tear.
There was no entertainment on the Saturday because of bonfire night and the lack of guests choosing to stay in the hotel for the evening, prefering to watch the various firework displys in Blackpool.
I immediately respoded to your email which you should have recieved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (703)
There are newer reviews for The Strand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

483 - 489 of 703 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2011

An excellent hotel, the staff were brilliant in helping to organise a very special surprise birthday party. They were happy to help me decorate and blow up balloons. The food that was served was brilliant, there was certainly plenty of it. All the staff were very courteous towards the guests and always willing to help wherever possible. The owner of the hotel also introduced herself to us and helped with the evening, she was very friendly and ensured the evening went smoothly. I was very pleased with the hotel and staff in general, it was very clean and well run.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Stayed at the strand on grand national day. From the moment we arrived we had a good feeling about the hotel. All the staff were brilliant and more than happy to help. Amazing seafront location especially when we were sat on the front in the glorious sunshine. Entertainment on a night time was funny and had a great atmosphere. Breakfast was best I have ever had in a hotel anywhere as all ingredients were fresh and of a high standard. Decor of hotel is modern clean and to a high standard. The view from the restaurant is not to be missed. Can't wait till my next visit

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillyHutchinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stayed for 2 nights at the beginning of half term week. Hotel is in a great location, less than 10 minute walk down prom to the north pier. Far enough out of the way to be nice and quiet...perfect!

When we settings we had asked for a parking space to be reserved, got speedy email explaining where to park. When we arrived there was not a space free but as we were checking in one became free, reception staff were fab and kept it free while we moved the car.

The room was great, double with a sea view. Modern decoration, nice bathroom, plenty of storage space. Room was not huge but was perfect as a base for exploring

Great breakfast both days, serve yourself cereal or full English. There was also fruit and pastries etc. Lovely to have breakfast overlooking the sea in modern breakfast room.

Can't praise the hotel enough, if I return to Blackpool i would defo stay here again! Highly recommend

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E-olly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed here for two nights in October and were very happy with the hotel.

All the staff are very helpful & friendly. The bed was comfortable & the buffet breakfast means you can eat as much as you like.
The bar prices are excellent for a hotel, (a pint for less than £3 or a double for £2.50), and kept open until a reasonable hour. Good barman too.
Was disappointed to find that no food was served after 8pm though.

All in all a great value for money hotel. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timtwist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Lovely sea views, very attentive bar staff and owners, great location near the piers, Blackpool Tower and shopping centres. I had a relaxing break and found the hotel modern and comfortable, breakfast was good too. I would definately recommend this for single travellers aswell as families as I was made to feel very welcome. I will be returning to The Strand again when I am next in Blackpool!!

Room Tip: Single room with lovely sea views on the third floor, less noise away from lift
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 635Dawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Twin with sea view. We booked this hotel because of the good/rave reviews and are disappointed to say the least. If this is the best Blackpool can offer goodness knows what bottom of the pile is.
Good parts are competent friendly receptionist and modern lounge/bar area, newish carpets and nice communal toilets. Excellent cooked breakfast with top quality ingredients for the cooked element sadly let know by diluted "juice" and cheap jams but lovely friendly staff.

Room - we expected small but this was so tiny it was really a single size at best. You had to sidle sideways between beds and furniture and also between twin beds. If both of you were standing at same time one had to go into the bathroom to let the other get to the wardrobe scenario. Very little carpet because so little floor but it was badly stained and months of accummulated dirt where it butted up to the wall or furniture. Beds very short - at 5.8 my foot hung over the edge and my husband at 6.5 was distinctly cramped. Despite being opposite the lift no noise from adjoining rooms or the lift which was good. Small duvet but clean and fortunately the ceiling very high otherwise it would be soo claustophobic. Good lighting and excellent hospitality tray.

Bathroom - Cheap suite and needs total refurb. Again small but lots of places to place bags, toiletries etc. Short but deep bath, no shower mat so quite slippery and bath difficult to get out of as a deep step out - certainly not suitable for anyone with any type of leg ailment. Only bath towels - no hand towels which I did not like. Again the cleaner must just go in a circle because all the corners and edges really dirty.

We paid £75 per night and think it was worth half this at best.

Room Tip: Ask for shower only if you have any infirmity.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindcast7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStrandManager, Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2011

We are disappointed with your review on our hotel and assure you that Blackpool has many quality hotels of which we are one, as recognised in our latest award from Lancashire and Blackpool Tourism when we received Highly Commended for the best small hotel in Lancashire.
Our bedrooms all conform to the size required to be awarded 3 star hotel accreditation although due to the age of the building some are more spacious than others. The beds in the room you stayed are full sized beds and not short as you claim. The bathroom contains a bath with a rain shower, and a grohe bathroom suite, hardly cheep! This room does not need a total refurb. I also refute your suggestion that our rooms are dirty, after a very busy season of which we are nearing the end, all our carpets receive a through deep clean after the inevitable wear and tear.
Our towels are a mix of bath sheets, hand towels and bath mats with rubber bathmat supplied if required as advertised in the room guide.
I'm pleased you enjoyed you breakfast with top quality ingredients but we certainly would not supply these then water down the juices??
£75 for your room per night, during high season in a sea view room including breakfast is not poor value for money I would be interested to what your expectations would be for a room you paid £37.50 for 2 persons including breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.4 mi away
Maples Hotel
Maples Hotel
#15 of 73 in Blackpool
257 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
#11 of 73 in Blackpool
781 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#28 of 73 in Blackpool
3,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#59 of 73 in Blackpool
1,074 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
516 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Hotel

Address: 326-328 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: £57 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winners of Blackpool Hotel of the Year 2009. Situated in a prime location on Blackpool’s exclusive North Promenade, a leisurely stroll from the Golden Mile, you will find one of Blackpool’s finest hotels - as featured on Coronation Street! You’re guaranteed impeccable service with a warm and friendly welcome from an award-winning family team. Offering a home-from-home experience for guests seeking the best in comfort and quality. We promise nothing less than a memorable stay. The Strand Hotel is the place to stay ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing