We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Blackpool”
Review of The Strand Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Strand Hotel
Ranked #29 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Star rating needs looking at, all ok on Initial arrival, although new front doors are needed, on getting in the room the carpet was stained and walls very warn and marked, in need of decoration ,although you can tell at one point it was worthy of its star rating but as most hotels in Blackpool they struggle to keep it up and soon look tiered and old, with the likes of the premiers and travel lodges who maintain on a regular basis and are of similar costs it is no wonder Blackpool hotels are struggling to keep up with the ‘new look’ promenade.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SammytheNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 706 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2012

Second and certainly not my last visit to this jewel of a hotel. A lovely modern but homely hotel with pleasant and friendly staff. Jayne the owner and staff (Karl, Francis, Sarah and Michael in particular) cannot do enough for you and make you feel cared about especially as a solo traveller.
The rooms are lovely with all mod cons., very clean and comfortable. Food is excellent and I thoroughly enjoyed my meals. Entertainment every evening was enjoyable and catered for all tastes. This time we had the added bonus of a travel pass for local transport and I certainly took full advantage of this, visiting parts of the area I had not got to before. This hotel is a real 'home from home' and it is no wonder they have gained so many prestigious awards! Well deserved for the hard work which goes into making the hotel such a lovely place to stay. Thank you for a lovely time, wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Maggie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Just back from spending the Grand National weekend at the Strand Hotel in Blackpool. On arrival we were offered a free upgrade to a suite which gave one of the best views of the beach i have ever came across. The hotel was spotless and was definetley one of the best if not the best i have stayed at in Blackpool. The staff were very friendly and accomodating, the food was good and the bar (especially the prices) was all you could ask for on a lads weekend at the races. Will definetley be trying to get booked here again for next years Grand National and would recommend this Hotel to everyone. Cheers guys.

Andy, James and Alan, Glasgow.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GlasgowAndyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Just wanted to recommend this fantastic hotel, my family and I, 2 adults and 2 children stayed for a 3 day break, everything was just perfect from the hospitality and the friendliness of all the staff to the delicious meals and the best full Engligh breakfast we have ever had. This is served buffet style with pastries, cereals and fruit and a massive selection of cooked food.
We had an adjoining family room, very nicely decorated, spotlessly clean and the kids loved having their own room and bathroom. The entertainment was very good and enjoyed by us all, we were glad to stay in because it was very chilly outside, typical bank holiday weather! The hotel is a short walk from the tower but the new trams stop right outside the hotel so we hopped on them, everyone must have had the same idea though because they were very busy. Thank you for the homemade Easter gifts in our room a lovely touvh. We hope to be back very soon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank StarGirlLou99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We had stayed in this hotel May 2011 and were happy with it so rebooked for this year. However, what a difference a year can make! The evening meal was dreadful, the veg was clearly left overs from the previous evening and every course was served cold. After one meal we advised that we would eat out and change or booking to b&b only. The hotel did not have enough staff to deal with this busy period, we waited over an hour for a starter and main course. Bedrooms were freezing cold, as well as having stained carpets, filthy kettle, and cold showers! when checking out we were not given the full £12 per person refund for cancelling our evening meal but only £10 per person. Back to the drawing board to find a decent hotel in Blackpool for our annual Easter trip.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank chftr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStrandManager, General Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

We are deeply sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel this time. In response to your complaints at dinner you returned one dish that was unsatisfactory and consumed all the others; however when asked if you could change your stay to bed and breakfast only, we obliged and refunded you in full including the meals you had eaten and enjoyed. You did not wait over an hour for your meals. The price of the evening meals differs to that on the menu as your meals were included within the special offer tariff. We normally receive rave reviews about the quality of our food however over Easter we had an agency chef working as our chefs wife went into labour on Good Friday, I have passed your comments regarding the food to the agency. The weather was cold over Easter however the heating was on in the hotel and it is impossible for the showers to be cold as the boilers provide hot water on demand. I can only assume you did not turn it on correctly but we would happily have shown you if you had mention the problem to us and at the same time checked the room temperature. I personally have looked at the kettle and it is not filthy and the carpets are not excessively stained. As you have said you were perfectly happy with your stay in 2011 which is why you returned. It is a shame that you choose not to write a review when you went away happy just one this time despite not mentioning much of the above to us during your stay or on departure. As you can see from the reviews left recently we had guests that thoroughly enjoyed their stay, the accommodation, service and the food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

This place reall is a gem.A really quality establishment it offers everything. Lovely room great staff and a smashing breakfast at an unbelivable price. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Dont look any further.

Room Tip: all seemed to be as good as each other and there is a lift if you need one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lesthaloan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Very nice hotel with seaview. It is slightly far from the tower but you can enjoy the promenade. Great staff great service. Recommended!

2  Thank haselwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
The Strand Lodge
The Strand Lodge
#57 of 73 in Blackpool
129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maples Hotel
Maples Hotel
#22 of 73 in Blackpool
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#28 of 73 in Blackpool
3,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#61 of 73 in Blackpool
1,094 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
#10 of 73 in Blackpool
793 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Hotel

Address: 326-328 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: £71 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winners of Blackpool Hotel of the Year 2009. Situated in a prime location on Blackpool’s exclusive North Promenade, a leisurely stroll from the Golden Mile, you will find one of Blackpool’s finest hotels - as featured on Coronation Street! You’re guaranteed impeccable service with a warm and friendly welcome from an award-winning family team. Offering a home-from-home experience for guests seeking the best in comfort and quality. We promise nothing less than a memorable stay. The Strand Hotel is the place to stay ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing