We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definatley would stay again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Strand Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Strand Hotel
Ranked #27 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Definatley would stay again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Hotel is nice, decorated to a good standard, fond staff friendly and mostly helpful.

Food was OK, hot, well cooked but sometime dinner was a little balnd, however for the price no one could really complain.

Buffet style breakfast was fine, good choice and plenty of basics, tea coffee and fruit juice, and ample choice

My bedroom was adapted for wheelchair users, clean but the carpet had stains and the Mirror was still broken on wardrobe after second visit.

The staff are friendly and super efficient, sometimes I felt it got a bit clinical, ut everyone smiled a lot which really helps when away from home.

Only one suggestion, it would have been nice to buy snack/sandwiches at night, or maybe get a drink after the bar closed. Dinner at 5.30 meant due to own requirements needed a snack later on.

Biggest problem for me is getting a room, they are a busy hotel and hotel seem to have one room with disabled facilities.

Will definitely stay again, this is the standard other Hotels should be aiming for at least. Value for money, good service and even free bottled water in room on arrival. Little things often mean the most.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, prices just within acceptable and well worth it.

Room Tip: As fzar as I know there wasn't a fitness centre or swimming pool. Night room service would be h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    132
    48
    19
    14
See reviews for
190
192
31
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Just had an excellant 3 night stay at the Strand Hotel with a party of 27 from the Warren Farm caravan site . It must be the best hotel in Blackpool from the time you set foot in the hotel the staff make you feel welcome its like home from home with fantastic food cooked by Maggie,then you got Karl the best barman in Blackpool who knows what you want before you go to the bar,Anetta who waited on us all hand and foot for the 3 days we were there.The hotel is super clean with fresh towels everyday and great rooms and last of all a special thankyou to Marisa for making arrangements for our next years stay HIGHLY RECOMENDED

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank derekalanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights at the Strand ( October 21/22nd 2023 ) and really enjoyed our stay even though our weather was very mixed . All the staff were so friendly and helpful - the food was very good and excellent value for money . At night there was entertainment - and the bar drinks were reasonably priced . We would certainly visit again .

Barrie & Janie Windsor

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barriew65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed two nights at Stand Lodge, sister hotel to the Strand in November. Jane couldn't have been more friendly and helpful, especially having just taken over. Evening meal and breakfast was excellent. Lovely food. Good value for money. Comfy bed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsH6689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

This is the best hotel I have stayed in at Blackpool, The staff are fantastic. We stayed here as my Husband has stayed a number of times and on his last stay he found we could bring our dog, the hotel however is super clean and there is no smell of dogs. The breakfast what can I say amazing. Karl and Marta are fantastic. We will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruthmac26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Booked this on the strength of other reviews - we could only get 1 night during half term hols whilst the illuminations were on.

The location is super; sea front with a tram and bus stop outside. We had dinner which to be honest wasn't great but the menu for the next night was much more to our taste but we were leaving sadly so couldn't check it out. The breakfast was really good - help yourself with lots of choice and the hot items being regularly topped up in small batches so it all remained hot.

Our room was a family room, no view sadly but we weren't in the room much. The beds were comfy and the room was very clean. The bathroom was of a good standard with complimentary's and a large shower as well as a bath. There was tea and coffee making facilities, TV, and free WIFI - all nice touches.

The thing that has made us book to return for four nights in February was not only down to the things I've already mentioned, but also down to the friendly professional customer service received from all whom we met. Getting the balance correct between informality, friendliness and efficiency and professionalism and Its a skill that is hard to achieve - many of whom fail - but not at the Strand. This has been continued during our most recent booking process when the receptionists went out of their way to find us the best room options. The dining room staff were also very good.

I'm sorry I can't remember their names but very much look forward to seeing them again in February.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsM68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Wyrley, Walsall
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

My husband and myself stayed at The Strand for 1 night, as our daughter had recommended it. She had stayed for 4 nights with her dog. It's amazing that a place that welcomes pets is so clean, and has no hint of pet smell. (We have 2 dogs at home).

We were lucky to have stayed in an executive room, overlooking the promenade. The room and bathroom had a contemporary theme, both immaculate and spacious. We wish we had booked another night. It was so nice going back to a warm, clean and comfortable room after a day shopping in the fresh air! The food is lovely and plentiful and the staff are polite, friendly and professional.

We will definately return!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for an executive room, as they overlook the promenade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerrygw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
The Strand Lodge
The Strand Lodge
#57 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
#8 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Doric Hotel
Doric Hotel
#12 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Hotel

Property: The Strand Hotel
Address: 326-328 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winners of Blackpool Hotel of the Year 2009. Situated in a prime location on Blackpool’s exclusive North Promenade, a leisurely stroll from the Golden Mile, you will find one of Blackpool’s finest hotels - as featured on Coronation Street! You’re guaranteed impeccable service with a warm and friendly welcome from an award-winning family team. Offering a home-from-home experience for guests seeking the best in comfort and quality. We promise nothing less than a memorable stay. The Strand Hotel is the place to stay ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing