We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, food and Location.”
Review of The Strand Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Strand Hotel
Ranked #32 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Just returned from a 5 day break at the Strand. Excellent staff, nothing is too much trouble and the food is of a high standard. Rooms are various sizes, from compact singles to executive with sea view.The location is a short distance from the madness 15-20 mins walk, this is a good thing and ensures a good night sleep, there is also plenty of transport should you require it. Very comfortable beds and pillows, rooms tidied daily and plenty of towels provided. Any minor problems were dealt with very quickly. Having chatted with Arron the manager I understand that some maintenance and decorating will be done in the closed season further enhancing this already great little hotel. Thanks for an enjoyable stay :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Roisin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrandManager, Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Hi Roisin,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor, we are very much grateful for the positive feedback. The ongoing redecoration should be completed towards the end of the year when we hope to also benefit from a speedier lift and I personally look forward to welcoming you back next time to see it. Thanks again and take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (725)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 725 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Best hotel I've stayed at in Blackpool.got there on Monday for four nights fantastic service from first minute to last.food was really nice and I liked the idea of buffet breakfast the evening meals where good too the service was really quick.they would do anything for you even mix and match if your fussy like me good kids menu also.can't wait to go back soon

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cheltalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrandManager, Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Hi Ian,

This is such a great review we are really pleased for the positive feedback. It was absolute pleasure accommodating you and your lovely family and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again next year or maybe sooner!? Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We booked for an Mama Mia themed weekend. The rooms were very clean, beds comfortable. Tea and coffee facilities were included.The staff were very attentive. The bar was very reasonably priced. Breakfast was buffet style, continental or full English. We went to see Mama Mia at he Opera House on Friday evening. Saturday evening we went to the Strands sister hotel for a Mama Mia themed murder mystery evening. The Greek meal was very pleasant and the murder mystery was hilarious and a great way to get guests to interact. We will definitely be booking again.

Room Tip: The Strand Hotel has a lift, the Strand Lodge does not
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Reklawoej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrandManager, Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you so much for the Excellent review and what a wonderful Abba-esque weekend you had! Our murder mystery weekends are becoming more and more popular with different themes available all the time - be sure to look out for future dates and we look forward to seeing you at one of them soon. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Traveled with Blackpool promotions on the "Summer Saver" deal, we were very fortunate that we got the Strand hotel, could not have asked for a better hotel, the receptionists were very friendly and didn't take long to check us in, the bedrooms were very clean and tidy, with tea and coffee making facilities and a nice size TV on the wall. The dining room was clean the food was I think about the best I have had in Blackpool, the waitresses were first class very polite couldn't do enough for you. The entertainment in the hotel was quite good for a small hotel the bar staff were good. The only drawback was the bus service especially on our return trip, we were to be picked up at about 3 pm the bus turned up at 5.45 pm, we arrive home at 11.45 pm. I think this had been there second week doing this run, so plenty room for improvement.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jimboBonnyrigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrandManager, Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Hi Jimbo,

Thank you so much for the review, it was almost all positive until the end bit about the coach travel - and yet this is the one area we have no control over. Regardless, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you once more in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Just returned from a Friday to Monday break at the Strand. We stayed as a party of 4 adults and 2 kids sharing 2 rooms. The room we were allocated was quite small but my Father in laws room was roomier. We asked reception if a larger room was possible but the hotel was at full capacity so this was not possible. We decided to get on with it as we were only there for 3 nights, Room aside the rest of the hotel was excellent. The food was very good although a couple of items were not to our personal taste. I would say though the breakfast is probably one of the best i have tried anywhere . The jewel in the crown with this hotel is the staff, Nothing is too much trouble for them and every single staff member was polite and smiling at all times. When we book a return trip here i will make a point of asking for a sea view room as they are far superior rooms. We had asked reception on Sunday if a larger room was possible and the girl behind the counter done everything in her power to help us. Upon Arriving home i was contacted by Arron the General Manager and he was most apologetic about our small room, This was due to hotel being at full stretch and that was all that was available . I found the full stay very pleasant and it is plain to see these guys take a real pride in their work , Arron you have the best staff money can buy so i would look after them as they make everyone stay a real joy.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrandManager, Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Hi Mark,

Thank you so much for the positive feedback and taking into account everything we talked about, I'm just sorry I didn't get to meet you but will look forward to that next time. We're always here to deal with any issues you may have and I'm glad you contacted me to discuss them so we can continue to improve. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Just had great two weeks stay .food excellent ,staff excellent good bar prices,were made to feel welcome all the time .i had my three month old pup with me and had no problems at all. Would go back in a minute .if your going to Blackpool this hotel is the one!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank iain m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrandManager, Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Hi Iain,

Thank you so much for the great feedback, we suspected you were enjoying when you kept adding more days to your stay. In fact I notice you're booked in again for next so we look forward to seeing you then - hopefully the sun will be shining again as much as your last stay! See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I read the reviews on here with apprehension as we had booked through Grand UK Holidays but didn’t intend spending much time in hotel. We arrived on Monday 14th July 2014.
Most comments are applicable to our own experience, including the need to bang the bedroom door to close it, the lift door banged, the lift was very slow and not cleaned all week. The bedroom was very small, as was the en suite. The floor was not vacuumed each day and the bathroom mat not changed and nowhere to hang it.
Room 106 has window overlooking pipes and ladders and could only be opened by standing on a stool. No seat for dressing table and light inadequate so had to use bathroom for makeup and sit on bed to dry hair.
The staff were very friendly and helpful but very busy and not many of them.
The roast on first night was gammon and too salty to eat but subsequent meals were very enjoyable. Excellent breakfast.
The entertainment was about right for this size Hotel but not really suited to a coach party of senior citizens. We found ourselves staying up to support the Act.
I find the responses by Hotel Manager very patronising and complacent. This Hotel is in need of a lot of maintenance and in the interim should be used only for room size applicable.
We didn’t complain whilst there as this should not be necessary and I would not have expected better rooms to have been available. It is what it is.
I have limited mobility and was horrified to find the disabled toilet had no grab rails.
Despite having told them about disability, was given room 106 which had step up to en suite which had no room for a seat.

Room Tip: Insist on seaview and good size room. Preferably without need to use lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank PatsyC0lchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.4 mi away
Maples Hotel
Maples Hotel
#24 of 73 in Blackpool
271 reviews
0 mi away
The Strand Lodge
The Strand Lodge
#56 of 73 in Blackpool
131 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
#8 of 73 in Blackpool
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,332 reviews
0 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#60 of 73 in Blackpool
1,120 reviews
0.2 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#4 of 73 in Blackpool
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Hotel

Address: 326-328 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: £55 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winners of Blackpool Hotel of the Year 2009. Situated in a prime location on Blackpool’s exclusive North Promenade, a leisurely stroll from the Golden Mile, you will find one of Blackpool’s finest hotels - as featured on Coronation Street! You’re guaranteed impeccable service with a warm and friendly welcome from an award-winning family team. Offering a home-from-home experience for guests seeking the best in comfort and quality. We promise nothing less than a memorable stay. The Strand Hotel is the place to stay ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing