We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect base for a weekend break!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Strand Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Strand Hotel
Ranked #27 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect base for a weekend break!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2014

This was the second time we've stayed with the guys at The Strand. And they're still great! The hotel is clean and pleasant. The staff are always really chatty and helpful...nothing is too much. They even remembered us from the weekend break from last year! And the food? Amazing. I've never chosen something to eat from the menu options thinking I don't like certain foods and finish the meal pleasantly surprised. Both myself and my husband highly recommend it. We don't know of a better hotel on the Blackpool promenade!

Room Tip: They're all good rooms but if you prefer the view, just ask. They're very accomodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K_Tandy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    132
    48
    19
    14
See reviews for
190
192
31
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

Stayed here for one night over the August bank holiday. Hotel staff are very helpful and friendly which is good and they allow dogs which is good too. We was given a sea facing room at no extra cost which I was pleased about as the rooms facing the back don't have the best view!
Hotel from what I saw was clean and the room was clean. Reason I've only given 3 rating is the room was very very small. Only 2 of us but we felt quite closed in. Hardly no room at each side of the bed and it was all just too cramped. The shower was also a bit rubbish spurting water out quite slowly.
Had breakfast which was nice and a good choice. However, the only thing was it wasn't very hot which is a shame. Staff were very helpful and all in all a ok stay.
Blackpool however, is another story. What a dump! But this has to be expected.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fastdaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

Had a lovely time at this hotel,food to me as a veggie is often bland but here I enjoyed every meal and breakfast was nice even though there wasn't a veggie sausage in sight! I stayed in room 106 which someone also has commented on! We (my friend and I) had comfy beds,the bedding was lovely and cool and clean,the room is quite dark as its at the back(I think) the bathroom has a shower which was lovely and hot the only prob was the pull up plug thingy didn't work so we couldn't fill the sink but we worked round that one! Thought telling them would've been a long job to sort while we were there so waited till the end.The bar staff were nice and friendly and brought the drinks to you! So didn't have to move out you seat! All in all we throughly enjoyed our stay ,thankyou to all the staff and see ya again..........one day!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank froggyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

I have stayed here twice now and nothing is too much. Lovely clean hotel with everything you could need. Good selection off bar food and drinks. Within easy walking distance of north pier and tram station just outside. Good sea views with most rooms offering a view along with the breakfast room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

The service of the hotel was remarkable! However our room was not to our expectations as we had booked a room with a sea view but instead we got a room with view of a Bin ... Sleeping was uneasy since there was a lot of noise coming outside of the room...

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharongill99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Do not let my 4 stars put you off, the staff and service along with the quality of the food makes up for the old and poorly maintained decor. The housekeepers keep on top of the cleaning and the rooms are always cleaned.

The hotel is well placed to visit the town centre, with a bus and tram stop outside.

As stated the food is of great quality and the service is fantastic, Marta in the dinning room is the best, but all staff are nice.

We found some damaged walls, the handrail on the stairs was coming off the wall, our window did not close correctly and as a result the wind came through. The bath had some black marks as did the windows, but the beds and floor were clean and fresh.

Free good quality Wifi,

We booked a disabled room so were shocked when we got out the lift on the 1st floor only to find 4 stairs down and 2 up to get into the room?

Great entertainment at night and the bar service is very good and very well priced. The bar staff Francis & Karl are great and very helpful.

If you are travelling by car and any of your family are disabled, you can pre book a free parking space.

Room Tip: I would ask for a Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnny106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Spent Mon to Fri in this hotel via a Dodds tour. Food was quite good and the staff were excellent. The room quality lets the whole experience down. The carpet in the room and throughout the hotel is either not very clean or just plain dull. The beds were good and the rooms were cleaned daily. The en-suite was a problem because of the over large wash hand basin. The toilet roll holder digs into your left shoulder when you use the WC. Otherwise the room was nice and quiet and a great sleep was had by all. The view from the dining room is over Blackpool bay and compliments a good hardy breakfast. I have rated the stay V. Good but that is because there is not an option for "Good".

Room Tip: room 208 was great for sleep quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dylan1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrandManager, Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Many thanks for your review which I regard as positive with enough fair constructive criticism with which to continue improving. The hotel public areas are undergoing a major redecoration and the lift speed will be improved dramatically towards the end of the year to improve the experience even more for guests. Thanks again for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.6 mi away
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
#8 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,974 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Doric Hotel
Doric Hotel
#12 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,729 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Hotel

Property: The Strand Hotel
Address: 326-328 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winners of Blackpool Hotel of the Year 2009. Situated in a prime location on Blackpool’s exclusive North Promenade, a leisurely stroll from the Golden Mile, you will find one of Blackpool’s finest hotels - as featured on Coronation Street! You’re guaranteed impeccable service with a warm and friendly welcome from an award-winning family team. Offering a home-from-home experience for guests seeking the best in comfort and quality. We promise nothing less than a memorable stay. The Strand Hotel is the place to stay ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing