We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Strand Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Strand Hotel
Ranked #27 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Motherwell
1 review
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2010

Just returned from a weekend at the Strand. The hotel was tastefully decorated with plush carpets and the bedrooms were very comfortable and very modern. The food was mostly excellent however I noticed that all the small boxes of cereal on offer for breakfast were out of date. The cooked breakfast was excellent though.

There was a very long wait for our main course on our first night. Our starters arrived piping hot and I would certainly recommend the Mushroom and Cheese Pots which were delicious. After we received our starters we had to wait at least an hour before we received our main course. The hotel was not busy which may have explained the delay but this was not the case. Our main course was not hot and had been left sitting before being served. We were informed that the waiter had been called away. Although we wre let down by our main course the dessert which followed was excellent. I had the rhubarb crumble which was piping hot and very tasty.

We had no problems with any delays with our meal on our second evening, the only slight annoyance was we were asked at 4.30 pm if we were able to have our evening meal at 5.30 as there was a 21st birthday party on that evening. Whilst this was not a problem we felt that we could have been told this earlier on that day, perhaps at breakast.

All in all I would recommend the hotel and would return, I just feel that there was a lack of attention to detail in some parts, especially with regard to the out of date breakfast cereal and the evening meal we received on our first night.

The staff were all very friendly, and would return, we were disapointed there was no entertainment but can understand as the hotel was not busy this would not be possible

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LINBO1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    132
    48
    19
    14
See reviews for
190
192
31
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2010

Had my engagement/40th Birthday party here.Excellent staff, excellent food and drink the rooms were very clean and very modern.We had a few guests from party who stayed here and no-one had a bad word to say and would all definitely stay there again!!Thank you to all of the staff for being above and beyond helpfulness they could not have been better !!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chingo70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2010

Stayed here for one week with partner. 27th March 2010 to 3rd April 2010.

lovely seafront view bedroom with kingsize bed, flatscreen tv with freeview channels. coffee/tea/hot chocolate with kettle etc. Hairdryer with bath/shower ensuite.

Dining was a treat. we were full board and the meals were delicious with good selection menu wines and drinks. The lit candles and fresh flowers on each table gave it a romantic classy feel. The Manager gave each room an easter treat of chocolates which also made this place special. The hotel was tastefully decorated with new flooring throughout.
This was our first stay here and we would definately come again.
We live in Cumbria.
On the negative side, the lift was very slow and it was quite a walk to town specially for someone with a bad back like myself.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cathronCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coatbridge
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2010

second time here , looking forward to my third , the food fantastic, the rooms lovely, service great, i had one problem with a fixture in my room reported it at front desk and when iwent upstairs there was a strange man in my room with my wife and child, it was handyman karl sorting the fixture i reported 3min before FASTER THAN MACDONALDS EH .jodie at reception done everything she could to help during our stay, So keep it up arron and jayne BEST OF LUCK ;;docherty family

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank popstarCoatbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2010

We have just been to the strand for 4 nights (mid-week). Although we were very dubious about booking any hotel in Blackpool our circumstances sort of dictated that we had to. We had a family room which wasn't very big but very clean
& modern and had all the essentials that you need. The staff are very nice especially Karl who made us feel extremely welcome. The food was all homemade including the icecream! (Believe me, I grew up in Blackpool and this is a rarity!!!) If you don't like roller coasters then give the lift a miss.... you think it's going to break down (even though it probably won't but the sweat will start pouring when it takes you 5 min just to get you to the 1st floor) but don't let this stop you, otherwise you will miss out on the best deal in Blackpool. It is definitely worthy of it's Tourism of the year award! 10/10 for a 3 star hotel

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sirtravellot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castleford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2010

We came down in december 2009 it was my sisters 50th birthday ? wow they made it so speacial i would recomend this hotel to anyone very clean and friendley they made us so welcolme we will definately be going again

from castleford

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank bowieCastleford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley UK
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2010

As a late booking we were very pleased with the attitude of the front desk and the help received.
Returing late, with one of our party not having eaten the night porter/barman prepared sandwiuches and fries at 1-00am.
Breakfast was served well and was of excelent quality.
Bedroom with a sea view.
Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bramblesBarnsleyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
The Strand Lodge
The Strand Lodge
#57 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
#8 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Doric Hotel
Doric Hotel
#12 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Hotel

Property: The Strand Hotel
Address: 326-328 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winners of Blackpool Hotel of the Year 2009. Situated in a prime location on Blackpool’s exclusive North Promenade, a leisurely stroll from the Golden Mile, you will find one of Blackpool’s finest hotels - as featured on Coronation Street! You’re guaranteed impeccable service with a warm and friendly welcome from an award-winning family team. Offering a home-from-home experience for guests seeking the best in comfort and quality. We promise nothing less than a memorable stay. The Strand Hotel is the place to stay ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing