We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Strand Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Strand Hotel
Ranked #26 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
liverpool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2010

My friend and I both stayed in single rooms. We had a lovely sea view and a double bed for an extremely reasonable price! The concierge was really friendly and helpful. Comfy rooms, very clean. Pleasant stay. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shakeysarah_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    134
    50
    19
    14
See reviews for
192
196
33
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2010

We love Blackpool and have stayed at many hotels but will be returning to The Strand Hotel again. The staff were excellent and really friendly nothing was too much trouble and they even suggested new places to visit around Blackpool we didn't know about giving us loads of ideas for our next stay. Were bringing our bikes next time as Blackpool has some great new cycle routes and you can store your bikes at the hotel, they even provide packed lunches and maps!! We had a room at the back as all the sea view ones were full but it was bright and spacious and just like the photo on the website. The breakfast was delicious, cooked to order the omelette was the best I have ever had. We booked in for dinner and had the lancashire hot pot and homemade cheesecake mmmmm........... Thanks for a great stay and you definitely deserve your hotel of the year award.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sssBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2010

Great hotel in good location,really clean and modern.Staff very friendly and helpfull, Stayed in many Blackpool hotels and thought this was up there with the best I`ve stayed in !

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HertsTgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds,England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2010

Stayed for 2 nights excellent hotel very clean good sized family room for 4 food was excellent stayed for B & B. Staff very friendly could'nt do enough for you which is always nice. Stopped here on the back of tripadvisor reviews and was not disappointed at all.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davestoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2010

Just returned from a weekend at the Strand. The hotel was tastefully decorated with plush carpets and the bedrooms were very comfortable and very modern. The food was mostly excellent however I noticed that all the small boxes of cereal on offer for breakfast were out of date. The cooked breakfast was excellent though.

There was a very long wait for our main course on our first night. Our starters arrived piping hot and I would certainly recommend the Mushroom and Cheese Pots which were delicious. After we received our starters we had to wait at least an hour before we received our main course. The hotel was not busy which may have explained the delay but this was not the case. Our main course was not hot and had been left sitting before being served. We were informed that the waiter had been called away. Although we wre let down by our main course the dessert which followed was excellent. I had the rhubarb crumble which was piping hot and very tasty.

We had no problems with any delays with our meal on our second evening, the only slight annoyance was we were asked at 4.30 pm if we were able to have our evening meal at 5.30 as there was a 21st birthday party on that evening. Whilst this was not a problem we felt that we could have been told this earlier on that day, perhaps at breakast.

All in all I would recommend the hotel and would return, I just feel that there was a lack of attention to detail in some parts, especially with regard to the out of date breakfast cereal and the evening meal we received on our first night.

The staff were all very friendly, and would return, we were disapointed there was no entertainment but can understand as the hotel was not busy this would not be possible

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LINBO1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2010

Had my engagement/40th Birthday party here.Excellent staff, excellent food and drink the rooms were very clean and very modern.We had a few guests from party who stayed here and no-one had a bad word to say and would all definitely stay there again!!Thank you to all of the staff for being above and beyond helpfulness they could not have been better !!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chingo70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2010

Stayed here for one week with partner. 27th March 2010 to 3rd April 2010.

lovely seafront view bedroom with kingsize bed, flatscreen tv with freeview channels. coffee/tea/hot chocolate with kettle etc. Hairdryer with bath/shower ensuite.

Dining was a treat. we were full board and the meals were delicious with good selection menu wines and drinks. The lit candles and fresh flowers on each table gave it a romantic classy feel. The Manager gave each room an easter treat of chocolates which also made this place special. The hotel was tastefully decorated with new flooring throughout.
This was our first stay here and we would definately come again.
We live in Cumbria.
On the negative side, the lift was very slow and it was quite a walk to town specially for someone with a bad back like myself.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathronCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
The Strand Lodge
The Strand Lodge
#57 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
#8 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Doric Hotel
Doric Hotel
#11 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#13 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Hotel

Property: The Strand Hotel
Address: 326-328 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winners of Blackpool Hotel of the Year 2009. Situated in a prime location on Blackpool’s exclusive North Promenade, a leisurely stroll from the Golden Mile, you will find one of Blackpool’s finest hotels - as featured on Coronation Street! You’re guaranteed impeccable service with a warm and friendly welcome from an award-winning family team. Offering a home-from-home experience for guests seeking the best in comfort and quality. We promise nothing less than a memorable stay. The Strand Hotel is the place to stay ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing