We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mini version of big brand hotels”
Review of The Strand Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Strand Hotel
Ranked #32 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2010

Friendly and very warm reception from all staff. Good quality food in a very relaxed atmosphere overlooking the seafront. Stayed in a family room, which consisted of double with bunk beds. Room small, but adequate. Flat screen TV, tea/coffee, toiletries, and informative welcome guide. Hotel holds entertainment in the evening - we were located on the top floor and heard no music etc. Great to find a modern hotel in Blackpool. Located very near to Hilton.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cocoedmund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (718)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

594 - 600 of 718 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2010

Stayed at this lovely hotel at the weekend.The owners Arron and Jane met us at the door when we arrived (there were 19 of us) and made us feel at home from the word go,offering tea coffe and biscuits.Our luggage was taken to our rooms for us and we had time to stroll along the promanade before having an excellent three course meal followed by tea or coffee.All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and special thanks to Frank for supplying the liquid refreshments! Evening entertainment was provided by Tony West a first class singer and entertainer. A great time was had by all at the Strand Hotel,only regret is that we only booked for a weekend wish we had made it a week.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brobertson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

We were a group of 11 girls staying for two nights (Fri 11th June 2010 + Sat 12th June 2010) on a hen weekend (aged from 24-50+), all very excitable, but despite that we received a warm welcome. We each paid a £10 'bond' on arrival and were told we'd get it back on our departure - so long as there were no complaints made about us concerning noise - which there weren't so there was no problem there. I thought the 'bond' was a fantastic idea, especially as there were families staying in the hotel too. I shared a twin room with a sea view with my Mother and found it very clean and comfortable, there were even clean towels and toiletries (something I wasn't expecting from Blackpool)! Other girls in our group didn't have such luck, however that was their own choice. Four of the girls decided to share a room and with only one bathroom between them it was a bit of a squash and a squeeze - despite still only paying £35 each - they really should have got their own room each - or atleast been advised to have not more than 2 in a room. Breakfast was really good and there was a good choice to be had, cereals, fruit juices, pastries. Even the fussy orders of English Breakfast combinations were met with a smile and a "can-do" attitude. Some of our party arrived back to the hotel after a night out at 3am and were made cheese toasties by the very kind gentleman behind the hotel bar - a real treat (or bribery to keep them quiet ;-))! Taxis only cost about £4 to the bar area - but we could have easily walked it, if it hadn't been for the towering high heels! Alll in all a very deserving 1st place hotel in Blackpool - especially as Blackpool would never be my 1st, 2nd or 3rd choice as a holiday destination!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

Just returmed from a one-night stopover in Blackpool at the Strand Hotel. Overall, very satisfied at the price (via Booking.com: a spacious "Exec" room with sea-view and very comfortable King-size bed. From the outside, looks like any other mid-sized Blackpool seafront hotel, but inside, new and modern decor/furnishings, simple but tasteful & functional. Didn't really use the facilities but there was a games room (pool & darts), a business-centre (use of PC), a bar & restaurant. Free WiFi throughout hotel. Breakfast was very good indeed: small but adequate selection of fruits, cereals, pastries and an exceptionally well cooked full english breakfast, served fresh & hot. Staff were all friendly and professional: good service everywhere.
Parking: there's only a few places in front of the hotel, but parking (free) was fairly easy to find in the streets around. Room was fine (would have liked a fridge though), inc. tea/coffee kit. Ensuite bathroom clean & functional.
Location: a short walk north of Blackpool's North-pier (surprisingly nice to take a stroll along and have a drink in the bar at the end). Its a bit of a walk into town centre and a major hike down to the Pleasure Beach, but its all flat so good exercise to be had.
Would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bazfrombromsgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2010

the food choice and quality is excellant,staff are helpful, the rooms were nice and clean

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisajane78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2010

my husband and i and my son and his girlfriend stayed for one night only wish it had been more, we all had sea view rooms that were beautifully clean, especially the gorgeous white crisp cotton sheets, breakfast was very good and plenty of it, didnt have much to do with management except when we needed a taxi a lady stood in the middle of the road attempting to flag a one for us i presume she had something to do with the hotel , but not sure anyway she was really friendly, if you dont want lamps in the front windows with nets and artificial flowers then this hotel is spot on.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cockerCountyDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

My husband, 5 year old son & I have just arrived back from a 3 night stay at this hotel. The hotel is fabulous & has everything in it that you could need or want. It's very modern & the rooms are spacious & comfortable. The restaurant is lovely & the food is marvellous (we stayed on a BB&EM basis). Really can't fault this hotel at all. It was our first stay there & we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IslaMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0 mi away
The Strand Lodge
The Strand Lodge
#56 of 73 in Blackpool
130 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maples Hotel
Maples Hotel
#24 of 73 in Blackpool
268 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
#8 of 73 in Blackpool
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#61 of 73 in Blackpool
1,109 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Hotel

Address: 326-328 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: £55 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winners of Blackpool Hotel of the Year 2009. Situated in a prime location on Blackpool’s exclusive North Promenade, a leisurely stroll from the Golden Mile, you will find one of Blackpool’s finest hotels - as featured on Coronation Street! You’re guaranteed impeccable service with a warm and friendly welcome from an award-winning family team. Offering a home-from-home experience for guests seeking the best in comfort and quality. We promise nothing less than a memorable stay. The Strand Hotel is the place to stay ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing