We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Owner is a legend”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Alexandra Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alexandra Hotel
Ranked #750 of 911 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Dronfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Owner is a legend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

Cosy room but basic accommodation, full English breakfast was nice, was very welcomed by the owner. However rooms were small and walls paper thin and the t.v didn't work, as there was 3 lads this was slightly uncomfortable when one wanted to let the turtle out of the shell!! But overall would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip M, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Thanks guys hands up to thin walls, also small room, these are blackpool problems however the tv is a problem that i will resolve I am only in my forth week in blackpool and their will be many improements. however since most legends are dead I really must take exception to that!!!!! great review and next time you will see the difference
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    10
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
6
5
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

I can only totally agree with the above reviews. The Hotel I originally tried to book was full but they recommended I try the Alexandra. I was not disappointed. On arrival I was immediately made welcome and my bags were taken to my room for me. I received wonderful hospitality from Philip and Ricky and nothing was too much trouble for them. The Hotel itself is about 50 yards from the sea front between the south and central piers. There was a full choice of top quality food for breakfast eaten in a jolly atmosphere (thanks to the good humour of Philip). I would highly recommend having the evening meal, 3 delicious courses of gourmet cooking. I enjoyed myself so much that I extended my stay and will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip M, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Dear Alan,
thanks, great review, next time the Alexandra will up its game and be even better, I do hope you will return for a photo shoot, i enjoyed your company as did ricky and look forward to a repeat
Kindest Regards
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

Stayed at Alexander hotel for a short break to see the illuminations for our daughters 1st birthday, it was understood that the hotel had just been taken over by Phillip and things a little hectic. HOWEVER, we were reasurred of a comfortable stay despite this and we were not dissapointed but pleasantly surprised.

A brand new high chair, cot, cotsheets, soft toy was provided for our baby girl's arrival, the room had freeview, really comfy beds, tea coffee, sea view and large ensuite and microwave and mini fridge for our baby's food. Breakfast cooked to order at 9am- a decent time for a change so we could take our time getting ready with mini breakfast for our daughter.

Assistant Ricky was also on hand to help carry bags to our room and nothing was too much trouble.

The hotel is great for a cheap and cheerful break, with personalised service which is so hard to find in any esablishment nowdays.

Thanks guys! we'll be back : )

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip M, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
High guys,
your review is very much appreciated, hope to see you soon and by new year we will have decorated your room and havea baby monitor for your table in the bar, thanks, and;
Kind Regards
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

This review is for the Alexandra Hotel 1 Alexandra Road. This hotel has been taken over last week, by Philip Miller. It was the most enjoyable short break my husband and I have ever had. The host was fantastic, providing home cooked evening meals, fantastic breakfasts, and splendid service.
We laughed the whole time, our host was delightfully funny, and kept us entertained with fantastic tales!
His assistant Ricky was wonderful, taking our suitcase up to the room, nothing was too much trouble. This hotel will be the place we will stay when we want a lovely break without the children.
Thanks Philip and Ricky for a most entertaining and welcoming holiday. we will be back very soon!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soxriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philipmillar, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2011
Thankyou for such a great review, you were both such good company that I think you just inspired my sence of humour. I look forward to your return and ricky sends his best regards. Please dont send michael in an apron he should relax like you did thanks again and best regards
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

just returned from the alexandra hotel on albert rd staff really brilliant couldnt do enough for you really happy go lucky chaps i will definately be returning breakfast lovely and hot too worth every penny

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodieteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2009

me and my husband stayed at this hotel for the illuminations short break and we found it to be very friendly and value for money i was also impressed that it was pet friendley hotel the meals were always very good cereal and full english and juice plus plenty of toast and a choice of meal in the evening we will definately be going back again next year

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pioneer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2009

the staff was great.very nice ,quiet area ,close to the sea,the ammusement parks and the local amenities...awesome.if you want a nice ,friendly enviroment...that's the place

Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Valasia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.0 mi away
The Royal Alexandra Hotel
The Royal Alexandra Hotel
#53 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Colwyn Hotel
The Colwyn Hotel
#5 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Seabank Hotel
Royal Seabank Hotel
#28 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#335 of 911 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Morgans on the Prom
Morgans on the Prom
#63 of 911 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#236 of 911 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel

Property: Alexandra Hotel
Address: 1 Alexandra Road, Blackpool FY1 6BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #750 of 911 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run hotel situated in Blackpool's premier area. Situated between the pleasure Beach and Tower and just minutes from all the major attractions. All our 12 bedrooms are en-suite with TV and hospitality tray. Rooms are freshened daily. We offer a High Quality Breakfast and Evening Meal and our customers pleasure is our mission. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing