We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay fantastic hosts”
Review of The Marston Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Marston Villa
Ranked #370 of 858 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay fantastic hosts”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Just stayed at The Marston House for a 2 night mid week break and i wish i could stay longer.
Clean, homely, comfortable and the hosts Marg and Brian are the best.
Nothing is too much trouble for them. The breakfasts are well cooked and well.presented and plentiful.
The rooms are spotless and the bed are so comfortable.
We have already booked a return stay in July. Cant wait !!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janbell1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loonyhost, Owner at The Marston Villa, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thanks for your review.
It's the Quality of our Guest's that help us to sustain our high standards.
Glad you enjoyed your stay

Brian and Margie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
15
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Got a really warm welcome :)
It's a lovely clean, well maintained guest house and the owners are very friendly. Its central location made it an quick and easy walk to every where I wanted to go. The bed was really comfy with feather duvet and lots of pillows, needless to say I had a great few nights sleep. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Thank you Margie and Brian for being such great hosts.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clare a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loonyhost, Owner at The Marston Villa, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thanks for taking the time to place a review on your stay ar Marston House'.
We're happy that you enjoyed your visit. That's we we are here to ensure.
Brian and Margie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013 via mobile

I travel a lots with my work and often find myself looking for a B & B at the end of the day, sometimes not knowing what I'm letting myself in for. This was the case the first time I stayed at the Marston, about 4 or 5 years ago and I've been a regular visitor ever since - it's always the first call I make. I even use Blackpool as a stop-off on my way further north north, so confident am I of a warm welcome and a comfortable night. Margie and Brian are friendly, easy-going and run a really great guest house :-)

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank OMPughy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loonyhost, Owner at The Marston Villa, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Thanks for taking the time to place your review. It's good to see our regular Guest's returning and confirming we are maintaining our standards. Sometimes, particularly in quiet periods when we are busy with maintenance work and improvements, our Guest's appreciation gives us the stimulation to work even harder.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2012

I just got back from an amazing weekend in Blackpool, and quite frankly I am lost for words at how good Marston House turned out to be. I have stayed in other places in Blackpool before, and it was my first (but most certainly not last) stay at Marston House. Recommended by my friends, this lovely place is conveniently located within walking distance of Blackpool North rail, as well as all city centre's shops and attractions. From the first moment of my stay Margie and Brian have been the most helpful and friendly hosts one could dream of. The rooms were clean and in excellent condition, bed so comfy I could trade it for my own :) A TV with a dvd player is a nice bonus. Breakfast area spacious and food quality great. The only bad thing about this stay is that it was so short :) Definitely worth recommending and I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrzemyslawUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loonyhost, Owner at The Marston Villa, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. References from our return Guests give us the momentum to search for new ways to improve our facilties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We were looking at a nice guest house close to the centre with an ensuite room. The Marston House had excellent reviews and was a good price. My family stayed a couple of weeks ago and wanted to make sure I write a review to boost the ratings further. You will not be disappointed in this guest house as you get total value for money and great hospitality from Brian and Margie. Margie even put up with my son joking about her northern accent as we come from down south. We would definitely recommend this Guest House to anyone going to Blackpool.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loonyhost, Owner at The Marston Villa, responded to this review, 18 November 2012
Thanks for your review., All feedback is appreciated and helps us as we strive to satisfy our customer's requirements.
We know how important it is to find the right place to stay when you invest your time and money to take a break from the rigours of life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

This is the second time i have stopped at the Marston House and i will not stop anywhere else in Blackpool!! The beds are so comfy and the breakfast is really nice. Margie and Brian and lovely hosts making the whole experience very enjoyable!! TV and DVD player in my room and en-suite both an added bonus!! It was a really nice weekend away for myself and my girlfriend.

Also not to forget It is seconds away from the town and all shops!!!

Will be visiting again very soon!

Room Tip: Both rooms i have stopped in have en-suites and both decorated to a very high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrendenF1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loonyhost, Owner at The Marston Villa, responded to this review, 18 November 2012
Thanks for you review. Returning Guests mean we are getting things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We were told about this place by a friend and they were spot on!! Warm and friendly welcome, the food on offer was very good, the rooms were clean, comfortable and homely and it just had an all round brilliant atmosphere. Also only a 10 minute walk from the Sea front. Will definitley be staying again when I'm next in the area and would most definitley recommend to anyone visiting. Thanks again for eveyrthing.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loonyhost, Owner at The Marston Villa, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Thanks for your review Kris. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.0 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3,977 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Fairway
The Fairway
#66 of 858 in Blackpool
392 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#97 of 128 in Blackpool
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Belmont Hotel
Belmont Hotel
#229 of 858 in Blackpool
131 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#309 of 858 in Blackpool
119 reviews
1.4 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#247 of 858 in Blackpool
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marston Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marston Villa

Property: The Marston Villa
Address: 22 Park Road | Near Winter Gardens, Blackpool FY1 4HT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #370 of 858 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Marston Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'The Marston Guest House' mid Victorian (1878) semi-detached property sympathetically restored for your comfort. Enjoy England 3 Star Rated* - EVERY ROOM 3 STAR*. Comfy beds & good grub. A place to wind up for Blackpool or wind down after. Whether you’re: touring, celebrating, holidaying, on business, hospital visiting, meeting with family or just looking to enjoy a well-earned break, Margie and Brian offer a 'Genuine Warm Welcome' to all our guests. Our aim: your comfort and peace of mind. We have a comfortable lounge / dining room with wide screen TV. We want you to enjoy Blackpool. We appreciate everyone’s needs differ and we will strive to accommodate yours. Just tell us your preference and make this your Home away from Home. All our rooms have: double glazing, central heating, quality carpets, flat screen TVs with Freeview channels and mostly DVD players, WiFi, beds intended for sweet dreams with quality mattresses and bed linen, cosy pillows and feather quilts (alternative bedding is available on request). Quality towels, tea and coffee making facilities are provided as standard. Blackpool Centre boasts: exciting venues to suit all tastes to make your visit as exciting and memorable as you want it to be. We hope we will see you soon. You will receive a warm welcome at the 'Marston Guest House.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your The Marston Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing