We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little place”
Review of The Marston Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Marston Villa
Ranked #354 of 853 Blackpool B&B and Inns
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
“Great little place”
Reviewed 2 February 2009

Margie and Brian were very warm and friendly to us, which I really appreciated after traveling such a long distance. The room was small and a bit cramped, but the bed was cozy, the shower was warm, and the breakfast was tasty. This is a good, affordable place to stay in Blackpool.

  • Liked — Great hosts
  • Disliked — Small rooms
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiptoe72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loonyhost, Owner at The Marston Villa, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Thanks for your review. we're glad you enyoyed your stay. Ours are not the largest or indeed the smallest in Blackpool but we have since refurbished all of our rooms and dipensed with 6 beds reducing our capacity from 22 to 16 guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
15
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2008

Not a bad place. In some need of TLC, but the owners are on course to get that sorted. Nice couple and near to the main attractions.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank DRF27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loonyhost, Owner at The Marston Villa, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Late response to an appreciative guest. Reminds us of where we started. Still simple but with five yeard graft and a lot of money we think Marston House is now simply cozy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2007

having never stayed in b&b in blackpool before we were not sure what we had let ourselves in for but we had a lovely week in blackpool
The b&b has recently been taken over by Brian and Margie who have owned it for the last three months but you woul have thought that they had owned it a lot longer - they are in the process of doing up the property since taking ot over but our room was very nice - it was at the top of the house and if you were tall enough like my husband you could see the tower from the attic window - me and my son had to look at the mirror in the bathroom so that we could see it.

The room consisted of a double bed and a single bed a wardrobe, a bed side table and a 5 chest of drawers - it also had a tv and tea and coffee making facilites and Margie was happy to give extra milk and coffee if needed.

We ate out most nights but the night before we left we stayed and paid £5.00 each for a three course meal and we had to walk off the meal as it was that filling - soup or juice for starters, homemade cottage pie and veg and home made rice pudding - we could not have ate there all week as we sould have put on so much weight!!! cooked breakfasts but if this is not for you then there are cereals on offer and tea/coffee and toast.

The meal was quite cheap for what we got as we were paying between £13-20 when we were eating out and only getting one course.

The house is situated at the north end of blackpool just a couple of streets behind the Tower so we had a least a hours walk to get to the pleasure beach but there are also plenty of trams and buses on the front to get we also took a horse carriage ride on the last day

I have already said that we will probabaly go back for a weekend next year as we have already booked our main holiday but I would also go back for another week if I could manage it

  • Liked — the friendly service received from the owners
  • Disliked — nothing not to like - going home
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenwren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loonyhost, Owner at The Marston Villa, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed Marston House in 2007. You will love it in 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.1 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,004 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Craimar
The Craimar
#11 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
1.4 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#223 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Minotel Lucena
Minotel Lucena
#91 of 125 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,851 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#325 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marston Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marston Villa

Property: The Marston Villa
Address: 22 Park Road | Near Winter Gardens, Blackpool FY1 4HT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #354 of 853 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Marston Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'The Marston Guest House' mid Victorian (1878) semi-detached property sympathetically restored for your comfort. Enjoy England 3 Star Rated* - EVERY ROOM 3 STAR*. Comfy beds & good grub. A place to wind up for Blackpool or wind down after. Whether you’re: touring, celebrating, holidaying, on business, hospital visiting, meeting with family or just looking to enjoy a well-earned break, Margie and Brian offer a 'Genuine Warm Welcome' to all our guests. Our aim: your comfort and peace of mind. We have a comfortable lounge / dining room with wide screen TV. We want you to enjoy Blackpool. We appreciate everyone’s needs differ and we will strive to accommodate yours. Just tell us your preference and make this your Home away from Home. All our rooms have: double glazing, central heating, quality carpets, flat screen TVs with Freeview channels and mostly DVD players, WiFi, beds intended for sweet dreams with quality mattresses and bed linen, cosy pillows and feather quilts (alternative bedding is available on request). Quality towels, tea and coffee making facilities are provided as standard. Blackpool Centre boasts: exciting venues to suit all tastes to make your visit as exciting and memorable as you want it to be. We hope we will see you soon. You will receive a warm welcome at the 'Marston Guest House.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your The Marston Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing