We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stood in dog poo in the dining room.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sefton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sefton Hotel
Ranked #454 of 913 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stood in dog poo in the dining room.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

Smelt foisty, bedding smelt of stale smoke. Someone was having a cigarette. What topped it off apart from the distance from the centre and also being told there was a carpark (roadside parking) was as I went down for breakfast I stood in dog poo which was in the dining room!!! Dennis picked it up with kitchen roll, placed it in the kitchen bin!! and then went on to serve us toast and orange juice without washing his hands. (But it's ok folks as it was explained to us that Bob the dog had a virus, which obviously makes up for it! NOT!)
Luckily for us, his wife cooked and
served breakfast which was very basic!!!
The bathroom was clean and nicely presented but the shower was just a tad more than a dribble. Will definately not be going again. Sorry Bob the dog!!
P.s forgot to add, the carpet wasn't cleaned afterward :(

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruthyv123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    32
    12
    7
    3
See reviews for
36
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

Owners were really friendly & helpful, the room was spacious and clean. It was cheap and the breakfast was ok. Was a little out of the way of some things we wanted to do but really worth it and i would definitely stay there again. We stayed in the family room and it was great, little tv with freeview and dvd player.Bed was very comfortable too!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrspb86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

My husband, my two sons and myself stayed here for the weekend on June 4th. The rooms are clean and the breakfasts nice, the owners are very nice, giving advise on where to go to eat etc. There is also a 'sun room' with children's toys to keep them entertained. The owners also let us stay until 1pm when our train was leaving. Very nice people. The location is also excellent, far enough away from all the noise but only a short walk to the end of the street to catch either a tram or bus to the centre or south end.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mistressofmayhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

The Sefton, like a lot of Blackpool itself, needs some TLC. There are plenty of signs of wear and tear and a lack of investment. The promenade is currently undergoing a face lift, the Sefton could do with one too. Having said that the location, in the North, is very nice and the couple who run it are lovely. Breakfast was great too and for £20 a night you can put up with the odd worn carpet and small rooms. A bit of room maintenance (not my room as it happened) would encourage people to return and be worth the effort. A good nights sleep in clean rooms and a decent breakfast is all you really need, some of our party didn't sleep too well due to maintenance issues, hence the lower marks, which is a shame considering the welcome we received and the consideration shown by the hosts.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeicsPotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

For the money, you can't complain! Easy reach of the centre and a 'rent a bike' stand only 5 mins walk and well out of reach of the rowdy bars and clubs.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Speedy2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

they were very friendly couldnt do enough for you rooms are basic but clean didnt expect top 4star hotel for what we paid would go back again just because of the welcome and ease you feel had 2 nights there with kids they enjoyed it not sure of bar as didnt go in there

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank char2123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

After several phone calls with updates of our situation, we had a puncture en route, the owner actually met us outside the hotel, which was really sweet of him. He showed us to our room, and asked us what we wanted to eat for breakfast and even asked if we could come down for breakfast after 9 am!!! He gave us suggestions of where to get something to eat and his recomendation was brilliant, we went to The Gynn. After Funny Girls we arrived back and had biscuits and hot chocolate. After a very comfortable night, we had showers, water hot and plentiful with loads of towels. Breakfast was fabulous, cereal, juice, then the full english, how they got so much food on the plate is beyond me, lots of tea/coffee and toast and jam/marmalade, No rushing you out, very leisurely check out. Very friendly, hospitable owners where nothing was too much trouble. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will go back again. An absolute gem of a find. Go to The Sefton, you won't be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kazimag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
#8 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
0.0 mi away
New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool
3.4 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Castleton
The Castleton
#357 of 913 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
2.9 mi away
Branston Lodge Guest House
Branston Lodge Guest House
#4 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
2.2 mi away
Minotel Lucena
Minotel Lucena
#763 of 913 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sefton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sefton Hotel

Property: Sefton Hotel
Address: 16 Northumberland Avenue, Blackpool FY2 9SB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #454 of 913 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sefton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you upon your arrival at the Sefton Hotel, where we will quickly get you checked in and settled so that you have more time to enjoy your Blackpool experience. We are just steps away from the nearest tram stop, connecting you to all the attractions Blackpool has to offer in minutes as well as nearby Cleveleys and Fleetwood. A full English Breakfast is available between 8:30am and 10:00am along with a choice of various cereals, jams, toast, tea, coffee and fruit juice. Feel free to let us know if you have any special dietary requirements, we are always very happy to accommodate your needs. All our comfortable rooms are ensuite and feature tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, television and some have views of the Irish Sea. Our hotel is situated over 2 floors with no lift. Assistance with luggage if required is available. An ironing room is available for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Sefton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing