We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Oban House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oban House Hotel
Ranked #365 of 856 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Stayed for four nights whilst Open golf championship was held at Lytham. Brian and Sylvia could not have been more helpful, from tasty snacks, recommended restaurants and lifts to the restaurants. Excellent hotel proprietors with a very nice clean hotel. Very good breakfast included within a very fair price for the accomodation provided. Would not hesitate to recommend. In a quieter part of Blackpool but within easy access of amenities if required.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcManderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obanhouse, Owner at Oban House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Hi
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. Brian and myself enjoyed having you stay with us and like to be helpful with our guests, We feel we offer a good service and if there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable we wil go out of our way to help. We hope to see you again in the future and once again we would like to thank you for the lovely thought of the flowers that you sent to thank us Brian & Sylvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
17
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
stockport
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

Me and the wife stayed at the oben house hotel from the 4 th -7th may and I would like to thank Brian and Sylvia for a fantastic stay food excellent/rooms very clean/we have booked to go back in June would recommend this hotel to anybody.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
Thank kevin597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Oban House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Hi Kevin, Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and Brian & I look forward to seeing you both in June.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

Stayed a Saturday night with family including a baby- fabulous rooms/service/food- would recommend and would stay there again- lovely couple :-)

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank musk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Oban House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review on our Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you and your lovely family again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
city
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2012

My Wife and I Spent 1 night here mid April.
Very nice indeed, Exceptionally clean and tidy, Well managed,
Breakfast was included and hit the spot, JUice, Cereal, Toast Jam, and a full english all on offer
Rooms were well set out and clean towels, Tea and Coffee in the room,
Overall a very good night was had by all.
Easy to park outside.
All makes for a pleasant stay.
Thank you.
Pooley.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pooopsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obanhouse, Owner at Oban House Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel . We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay at our Hotel and we hopefully look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Best b&b ever.

Brian and Sylvia are gems. Clean room, well equipped with basics like kettle, tea/coffee materials etc. Fresh towels.

Brian picked and dropped us from the station. Smiling always, he never seems to rest. Sylvia manages the house - the breakfast is hot, cooked by her personally after asking you and served with a flourish.

Wife and daughter loved it so much didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iscool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obanhouse, Owner at Oban House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed you stay with us and hopefully look foward to seeing you and your lovely family again in the future.

Sylvia & Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2009

The hotel was little further away from the centre than we would have liked but we knew this when we booked. We were greeted at the door and taken to our room which was small (2 adults and 1 child) but clean. The ensuite was tiny even our 5 yr old commented on this !!!!. The service at breakfast was good and the food served hot with extra toast if wanted. However, you had to order your breakfast the evening before if you wanted anything other than a full english. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obanhouse, Sylvia Jackson Owner at Oban House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2009
Many thanks for your review and yes we believe that our location has many advantages to those B & B's
that are situated right in the centre of Town and all the loud noise. The quiet night sleep and safer parking means so much to many travellers these days.

We are 1.6 miles from Blackpool Centre and about a 15 minute tram ride from Blackpool Pleasure Beach.

I hope if people read these reviews and realise that we are not a large hotel but one with cosy rooms that are spotless with fresh bedding and towels changed every day and a breakfast that seems to satisfy most people.

We do hope to see you again in the future and thanks again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2009

This the 3rd time my family and i hav stay here. When arrving we were greeted at the door and the owner and ask if we wanted our bags taken up to are rooms . on entering the rooms they were clean and fresh and a goood size for what we wanted. My child are fusy eater and one night didn't want was on the menu, theen we were ask what the children would like and they went out of there way to get it which i am greatful for. they could not do enough for us. we would recommend this hotel to any one . we will we back again and again even when the kids are grown up . We can't fault the owner of the hotel as the were very friendly and hlepful. Thank you Sylvia and Brian for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabshoes1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obanhouse, SylviaJackson, Owner at Oban House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2009
Thank you very much for your Wonderful review.

We always ask if you would like help with your luggage and like to offer other alternative's from what is on the Evening Meal Menu and then everybody enjoy's the meals we serve to them especially Children and we also ask the night before about breakfast in case of any special dietry requirements.

We are glad you enjoyed your few days with us and look forward to seeing you with the family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackpool
0.9 mi away
The Manhattan Hotel
The Manhattan Hotel
#41 of 70 in Blackpool
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chequers Plaza Hotel Blackpool
6.2 mi away
Clifton Park Hotel
Clifton Park Hotel
#5 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Silversands Hotel
Silversands Hotel
#42 of 70 in Blackpool
207 reviews
0.2 mi away
New Hacketts Hotel
New Hacketts Hotel
#55 of 70 in Blackpool
545 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#37 of 70 in Blackpool
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oban House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oban House Hotel

Property: Oban House Hotel
Address: 63 Holmfield Road | North Shore, Blackpool FY2 9RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #365 of 856 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Oban House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run hotel under the personal supervision of Brian & Sylvia Jackson. We are close to Gynn Gardens and the Sea Front, we have en-suite rooms with freeview flat screen TV, Tea/Coffee making facilities and hairdryers in the rooms. We have a chair lift to our first floor if required. We serve Home Cooked Food in our dining room. Our Motto is "Come As Strangers, Leave as Friends." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Oban House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing