We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely awful, please please do not stay in this disgraceful hotel, no lifts either!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crewes Original Hotel
Ranked #489 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely awful, please please do not stay in this disgraceful hotel, no lifts either!”
Reviewed 26 October 2010

We recently had a family break in this hotel, after seeing their web-site thought it looked ok to stay, looked again today and no where does it say about no lifts, 55 stairs carrying cases to the top floor! Our first room number 32 on first impresseion looked ok but small, twin beds. Problems we had were a disgrace:-
1) The radiator did not work, no heating and it was cold.
2) On the friday evening, we noticed it was very windy in our room with the curtain blowing, looked at the window and the catch was broken, not holding the window closed, hence the coldness in the room. Called reception who came and said the catch was broken! and put small sugar packets together to hold the handle in place! tapped the radiator a few times and said they would get some out to look at it in the next couple of days!
3) The toilet woud not flush, took at least 6 attempts to get tissue down let alone anything else!
4) Saturday morning woken up at 6 am with rain coming through the ceiling and hitting the window cill, it wasn't a small drip either, it had collected quite a puddle all along the window cill and now splashing on the unit, when we pulled back the curtain we noticed mould all up the curtain which had certainly been there a while, so assume this had happened before! called reception and said we wanted to change rooms, we which did.
5) Was told we could move into the room at 10, went to get key and said the other people has not moved out yet so go back in half an hour and it will be ready, this meant they had less than half hour as a family still in the room room, they still had to clean the room and change bed linen in the short space of time.
6) Moved into room later that day, very small, noticed black hairs on the pillow, the bed linen did not smell fresh and when pulled the quilt back there were lots of black hairs on the sheets.
7) Only two choices of cereal, cornflakes and chocolate weetabix, very poor, cooked breakfast was just about edible but the eggs were anaemic.
8) Didn't feel we got any satisfaction, once they had your money they didn't care, oh they gave us a bottle of wine for all our trouble, but when we spoke to other people in the hotel, they too had that offer so that speaks volumes!
It was witnessed by a family member of the bed linen not being changed properly in a room which was being cleaned, sheet was changed but quilt was just shaken and put back on! Very very disappionted and feel their web-site is very misleading, if you have any common sence you will not stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeniceGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    43
    29
    16
    60
See reviews for
85
97
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

we stayed here about 3 years ago and apart from the people in the next room smoking 300 fags a day and smoking us out it was not that bad. i booked the year after and things had got a little dirtier and a little older. the room we stayed in choked us when we walked in, the smell of cigarettes were so bad i could not get the smell out of my clothes and hair. i have not been back and i have not reccomended this hotel to anyone else cause as the reviews seem quite mixed its a gamble which room you get to the quality of your stay. the staff were ok, but for me it was the cleanliness of the hotel that mattered. It seems the web site needs updating as well cause the price on there for monday to friday is not the price we paid. average cheap and cheerful hotel that really could be a little gold mine with a good clean and recedoration .

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank finleysgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

There are a lot of very poor reviews of this hotel which I think are unfair. We had three rooms, A twin, a family on the top floor and a small double on the ground floor. I am not going to pretend that this place is the Ritz. It isn't. There isn't a lift and its 50 stairs to the top floor. However it isn't Fawlty Towers either. The rooms are small, the bar serves from cans rather than draft and it is rather dated. Also on the minus side there is no car park and for 48 hours it cost £12 in the car park 3 minutes walk away.

But the breaksfast was fine, plenty of hot water in the shower, the TV worked fine. Let's be honest a weekend in blackpool all you want is a place to get ready to go out, sleep and have breakfast and this place will do that perfectly adequately. All staff (especially the barman were very helpful and pleasant)

This hotel is just south of central pier between the Foxhall and The Manchester so easy to get to both the town or pleasure beach which ever takes your fancy.

Recommend the Waxworks.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkRobinson70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Staff:
Myself, my husband and my two teenage sons stayed at the hotel from the 5th-10th of September during our time there we found our stay to be very enjoyable. The manager of the hotel, greeted us in a warm and friendly manner offering to help us carry our bags upstairs. We knew we had to pay the remainder of the money upon arrival but were unaware that it is prefered in cash, as we had no money to hand at the time, Deborah allowed us to pay the money when we returned later that day giving us plently of time to find a cash point. Jason the receptionist was lovely and very chatty we enjoyed spending one or two nights in the bar chatting to him. The breakfast staff were very attentive despite the fact that the breakfast room was full and they had alot of other guests to attend to.

Rooms:
We had attempted to book a seaview room for the duration of our stay at the hotel but were told when we had phoned to book that there were none available as they are booked months in advance. However, we were offered the chance to move to a seaview for the last two nights of our stay which we agreed to. We found both rooms to be very well kept and the beds were a decent size to accomadate the four of us. The Housekeeping staff even moved our bags between the first and seconds rooms.

Overall, we found our stay to be very enjoyable and we will definatley be considering booking a stay at The Crewes Original hotel. The only thing wrong with our stay was the fact that the room next door were up late and were very loud. However we went down to reception to complain and Deborah asked them if they could keep the noise down, a request to which they obliged.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lealea69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2010

Only stayed there 1 night, meet by Debbie the owner got a warm freindly greeting upon arrival.
Stayed in room 24, not the biggest room, but clean and comfortable, a little noisy from the back.
Had a couple of drinks from the bar and sat out the front, and watched the world go by......
Breakfast ummmm, not great but okay. Service was good did not wait long at all seated staight away, with tea and hot toast. Full English......not the best i have had but not the worst either!!!
All in all a pleasant stay....YES i would go back :-))

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelseaboy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2010

just back from the crews and what a holiday.IT WAS THE WORST PLACE WE HAVE STAYED IN BLACPOOL IN 20 YEARS.When we arrivedall the person on the desk said whats your name your in room 17 and then asked for the balance no question of how our journey was or how we were. and the room was meant to be a double and it was'nt it was really cramped with a divan bed pushed up against the wall the room had'nt been hooverd all week or prior to us arriving. there was a hoover but on speaking to other guests nobody had heard it getting used .the food ie(breakfast ?)was terrible the plate was full of cooking oil and was unatractive looking it was cramped on the plate the same as the guests in the dinning room if you could get a seat the table cloths were just dusted down on to the floor and the staff dont know how to smile.the heating was never on unless you asked yhen it wasonly on for a couple of hours. On leaving there was no one there to take the room key or to say cherrio.so all i can say is a wont be back and Iwill tell all my friends not to stay there

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ketch02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2010

after reading the reviews on here i found myself giggling to myself from the bad reviews as i have must of stayed somewhere else to these idiots i have never stayed anywhere better or nicer in blackpool and i have stayed in a few hotels,on arrival on sunday we was greeted by debbie the manager who was friendly and polite who gave us a great deal so we stayed till wed instead of the tuesday as planned. myself my partner and my 15mth old daughter went to our room grant it wasnt the biggest but it was a large bed with a t.v and shower what else can you ask for we thought it was clean and tidy so happy days we decided to go out sunday night which when we got downstairs we was greeted to a nice guy called jason he was so friendly and went out of his way for us he booked us a taxi strightaway on our arrival back to the hotel jason was still there he was brillent to my daughter and to us he would always talk to us everytime we saw him and made us relax what a nice guy couldnt thank him enough for what he did for us. after a comfortable sleep we went for breakfast again was greeted by 3 lovely ladies who was polite and friendly everyday we had breakfast we only had to wait once for 5mins which is not alot really,we stared to get to know amanda who again was great with my daughter,amanda would take time out from cleaning just to talk to her and us she was brill and warm to us. the staff are the most friendly people i have meet thats why we stayed another 3 nights to sat,the only 2 bad points we had was one we never had clean towels in the room and two one morning i had egg shell in my egg everything else was 1st class we even had a change of room from number 31 to 25 which was a sea room which was fab had two double rooms and loads of space. we have already looked into booking for nexy year and we will be back i wouldnt listern to the bad reviews on here it is nothing i had expericed so once again thanks for everything we will be back and a big thanks to amanda,jason and debbie you all made us welcome

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluebirds10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#54 of 73 in Blackpool
176 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#8 of 73 in Blackpool
1,278 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#34 of 73 in Blackpool
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
FouRooms Blackpool
FouRooms Blackpool
#1 of 859 in Blackpool
213 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blenheim Mount Hotel
Blenheim Mount Hotel
#218 of 859 in Blackpool
286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belmont Hotel
Belmont Hotel
#159 of 859 in Blackpool
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crewes Original Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crewes Original Hotel

Property: Crewes Original Hotel
Address: 203 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 5DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #489 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central seafront Blackpool. We are the most central location on the seafront, the closest to The Tower. We have three stars from Visit Britain. All rooms are en-suite with Tv, complimentary tea making facilities and free wi-fi. we have a lovely outside patio area and a licensed bar. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing