We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Ruskin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ruskin Hotel
Ranked #16 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We had a very relaxed and stressfree time at the Ruskin. The staff were all very professional,friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable with all the necessary amenities. The food -breakfast and dinner---were very good with a good selection of choices.There was entertainment each night which we enjoyed. We recommend the Ruskin as a friendly and caring place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Defa7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
There are newer reviews for Ruskin Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

354 - 360 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2011

Had a fantastic stay at the Ruskin. Our highlight was Nico singing all our favourite sixties hits in the bar every tuesday night.. He was in Freddie & The Dreamers and was fantastic. . All the staff were friendly and the food was fantastic and we will be back. Cheers All xxx

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rahmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel as we were invited to a friends surprise 50th birthday party.Even though there was a wedding party on the same day the staff were very busy but still found time to be helpfull and friendly.The evening meal was very nice as was the breakfast it was buffet style and lots of choice. The rooms were clean and tidy and comfortable.

Duncan and June Lowery
Appleby Cumbria

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DUNCANLOWERY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We stayed here (room 306) for 1 night as my friends were getting married here. The room is quite small, very small actually, but spotless.
The meals were very good and the wedding buffet food was also good.
The bar area is good and there's lots of seating.
Overall it's been a pleasant stay and I would recommend anyone thinking of a hotel wedding to consider this place.
Oh, one last thing. Bar prices seem very good for a hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tom_And_Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

I have worked with the staff at the hotel organising my Husbands surprise 50th birthday which was on the 30th July over the last year,as a family we have known and used the hotel as a base when in Blackpool for the last 12 years and for me there was no one else that I would have trusted with such an important event.
We had 152 guests of which 117 stayed at the hotel.The staff, the fabulous food, the oganisation and the friendliness were second to none, every need our party had was catered for and a lot of our guests are looking forward to returning for more of the Ruskins fantastic hospitality at a future date. It was wonderful and Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gailawde357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Upon arrival a porter was supposed to help with my bags, he ended up abandoning me in the lift and said he would meet me on floor 2 as the lift had a couple of other guests in it. Upon reaching floor 2 I ended up struggling with 2 large cases and 2 large bags on my own! The corridors were very narrow even though i had been assured that i would easily get my mums motorised wheelchair along them.Our room had three single beds (one for my elderly disabled mum)one for myself 40yrd old and the other for my 15yr old daughter. Where to start the window was filthy, the net curtain didnt even fit the window! The window didn't close. Upon folding duvets back they were stained. The towels stunk of smoke and were too small. The cleaners took my own bath sheet i had taken by "mistake" and it took from 4pm one afternoon to the following morning at 7.30 to get it back, the head receptionist seemed to think it was funny and what was my problem as they would wash it. It came back like cardboard and stunk of smoke! The bedside lamps were welded to the tables and one of the plugs only had 2 prongs left on it! All the sockets were ( wonky)not level and loose when you removed your plugs. We had no spoons on the hospitality tray and the cleaners didn't always clean them when we did finally get them.
The Breakfasts were self service, the orange was usually tart, the toast frequently cold the sugar basins always had bits in them. The evening meals were unsuitable for my diabetic mum so we ended up living on the rather basic self service salad bar! The restaurant staff were surly ignorant and argumentative.On one evening we declined the starters (nothing suitable as usual) and served ourselves the salad then had to wait for 20 minutes for plates to be removed and to be offerred a dessert. The waitress sloped over removed plates and said "well do you want a dessert today? " I then asked what was available (starters and mains were always listed on the table and also on show on a board in the lift but desserts were told to you nightly) she sighed loudly shouted to someone then mumbled through a list of what was on. My mum asked for egg tart , the waitress, whom I think was called Hannah though none seemed to were badges or tie hair back adequately (we had hair in our fried eggs on our last morning) actually slammed my mums dessert in front of her so hard the whole restaurant looked around! We were not the only guests who were subjected to the back chat and nastiness either. On the Friday night I had had enough and decided to leave early but could not leave until my friend could pick us up at 3.30 so we didnt hand our keycard in until his arrival . On that morning out room had not even been serviced! I brought all my own cases down whilst watched by a staff member and a duty manager who were standing in the doorway to greet a wedding. i heard the manager ask the staff memeber if i had asked for any help , (I hadnt after previous experience)when staff member replied not that he knew of the manager commented "well its her own fault then isnt it" (what a lovely attitude, now I know where the restaurant and reception staff get it from) I handed my keycard in and explained I was leaving early and began explaining why and the reception bloke immediately cut in "well you have to put complaints in writing" (the afore mentioned manager was dealing with another complaint at the time and turned and looked at me then turned away and ignored me!) I have never been made to feel so uncomfortable in my life. I paid £780 for what should have been a 7 night stay, i would never recommend this hotel nor would I stay at this hotel ever again. I feel more stressed upon returning than when i went for the holiday. other reviewers have mentioned noise we had people arguing under our room frequently at 2 and 3 in the mornings due to Rolys bar that is attached and owned by the Ruskin. We only went in the bar on the Monday and we asked for any J2o drinks and was told they had been busy with a function sunday and had none left at the moment, i went in again wednesday and they still had none!!

Room Tip: Just dont go to this hotel
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank jeanz8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

As I enter competitions at the tower ballroom every year I stay in lots of hotels in Blackpool in 2011 I stayed in the Ruskin. As I arrived the staff were really friendly and the booking in was very quick (which is what you want after a long journey). As I waited for friends to arrive I sat and had a drink in the bar where the prices are very reasonable and again the staff are friendly. As my friend got lost on the way the hotel staff stayed on the phone to them giving directions untill they arrived. The rooms are very clean and quite big. There was a kettel, trouser press and everything else you need for a good stay. The food was excellent and there was lots of choice. The waiters were very friendly and professional. The only fault was the lift, as it didn't always take you to the correct floor. Apart from that the stay was excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms that are above the bar can get quite noisy at night as the bar is open to the public.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BoanasBall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.8 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#28 of 73 in Blackpool
3,257 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,101 reviews
1.9 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#18 of 73 in Blackpool
1,027 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#8 of 73 in Blackpool
1,286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#34 of 73 in Blackpool
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruskin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruskin Hotel

Address: Albert Rd, Blackpool FY1 4PW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#13 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#15 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#24 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £38 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ruskin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation. Superb restaurant facilities and the renowned roly’s bar bistro combine to ensure the highest standards of comfort and service for our guests. With a lift to all floors, a separate games room, an elegant lounge and night porter service, your comfort is ensured with outstanding attentive service from a team of friendly and helpful staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Ruskin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruskin Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing