We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel when you fancy a change from a B&B”
Review of Ruskin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ruskin Hotel
Ranked #21 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I've just returned from a weekend at The Ruskin with the parents. We've past this hotel many a time but finally decided to stay. It makes such a difference staying in a hotel rather than the typical Blackpool B&B.

Overall our experience was brilliant, the staff were great, very polite and always happy to help. We stayed during a cabaret weekend so there was an offer for Dinner, Bed and Breakfast and we were not disappointed, the food was fantastic. The evening meal was 4 courses and there was plenty of choice, very filling and tasty, you could even help yourself to 2 puddings :) The breakfast was fantastic, huge selection of cereals, fruit and a full English with as much toast, tea and coffee that you could manage!

The rooms we had were not fantastic but don't let this put you off as they have better rooms for an additional supplement but the most important thing is they were clean, our only issue was they were very small for a double but we only slept in there as we were out all day.

The bar was nice, quite cheap drinks and it was separated into public and resident areas. It was lovely to get back in the evening and have a few drinks before bed.

One thing which I was surprised about is it appears to allow pets, although I never read this anywhere online or in the brochure but a family had a dog and whenever they left it in the room it whimpered! Thankfully it was quiet through the night but I know this could put some people off, this was the only negative really and don't get me wrong I love dogs, I have one of my own but I don't think hotels are a place for your pets.

On the whole a great hotel and I will definitely return next time I visit Blackpool!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sianypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2013

Just returned from a Blackpool Breaks trip to the Ruskin Hotel and have to say we had a delightful stay.

The hotel itself is very comfortable with a very nice lounge area, also a sitting room out at reception. There was a television area with very comfortable seating. The dining room is very well laid out and the food was plentiful and delicious served by very friendly staff. There was always a good selection on menu and for fish lovers it was great as they had fish on menu every night.

Very centrally located with the Houndshill shopping centre right on the doorstep.

Bar prices were reasonable and served by a lovely lady named Mary who always had a smile and a story to cheer you at the end of your day out. Paul on reception was also very friendly as indeed they all were.

Only slight downside for me was the size of the bedroom as it was very small. Having said that it was immaculately clean and very modern having being renovated recently.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to my family and friends as it gave wonderful value for money and there are a lot of return guests which is always a good sign.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AussiefanScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed for two nights during a golf weekend at Blackpool. The entrance is very traditional and has a warm feel to it, the staff were polite and the food (which was four courses on an evening and an all you can eat breakfast) is absolutely FANTASTIC. It also came very quickly as well. The downfalls of the hotel were although we had two single beds they were actually touching each other they were that close, and the en-suite facilities were dated. It didn't particularly bother me but I can see it putting some other people off. For the price though you can't really complain. It looks like they have started updating some of the rooms. The location is also brilliant, you can be at any of the big pubs and clubs within no more than a 5 minute walk, however the street is quite quiet and I heard no noise. The cleaners did a good job and all the rooms and communal areas were clean and tidy.

Will be back next year no doubt!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Michael21UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

Where shall I start. Well, 20 years ago we first started coming to this hotel. That's when it was excellent value for money and your evening meals consisted of 5 course meals.

Move on 20 years down the line and you now have rooms that all look like it was 20 years back, a menu with one less course and food that can only be described as average or good at best.

Such a shame for a hotel who's owners havent moved with the times. No online booking facilities, maybe this is why the cabaret weekend we have just attended was quite to say the least.

Cabaret room had no more than 24 guests in watching two acts, what a crying shame.

If the hotel management are reading this, please take note. Had we not paid upfront we would have refused to pay some of the hotel bill.

Graham the hotel manager has been there over 20 years and deserves s medal, such a shame the owners don't back him and give the hotel the face lift it needs and bring it upto the 21st century and allow guests to book online, you may have been full had you moved with the present day times rather than being stuck in a time warp

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank golazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

we went to the ruskin hotel for 3 nights, we enjoy our selfs, the food you have plenty of choices to choose from. , all the staff was excellent.very helpfull, friendly , helpfull. the hotel was spotless clean. the cleaners was excellent keeping the rooms nice and clean. you can also get food in the roly bar where public can come in for food.good entertainment. like to say the beds are good to sleep on, also nice and warm hotel.

Room Tip: if you like you can up dates your rooms for a extra charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CHARLIEBOY62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

just back from a fri-mon stay with a friend ,and all i can say it was a lovely well kept hotel,pleasant staff great food ,and being close to all that i wanted was a delight and in time i will be back again ,i highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Just spent a few nights at the Ruskin we are regulars to this hotel,had a nice few days the food as always very good nothing to complain about although hotel does seem a little tired,up graded to a bigger room and was worth it for the extra space room was cleaned daily to a very good standard thank you to our lovely friendly cleaner lady,thought the shower could do with up dating but apart from that a very nice break.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patriciaobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#35 of 73 in Blackpool
1,122 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Seabank Hotel
Royal Seabank Hotel
#22 of 73 in Blackpool
1,027 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#13 of 73 in Blackpool
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
576 reviews
0 mi away
The Royal Alexandra Hotel
The Royal Alexandra Hotel
#54 of 73 in Blackpool
356 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 73 in Blackpool
3,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruskin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruskin Hotel

Address: 55-61 Albert Road, Blackpool FY1 4PW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#15 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#17 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £26 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ruskin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation. Superb restaurant facilities and the renowned roly’s bar bistro combine to ensure the highest standards of comfort and service for our guests. With a lift to all floors, a separate games room, an elegant lounge and night porter service, your comfort is ensured with outstanding attentive service from a team of friendly and helpful staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Ruskin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruskin Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing