We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday”
Review of Ruskin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ruskin Hotel
Ranked #32 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Mexborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We went to The Ruskin for our honeymoon on the 23rd - 27th September. What a fantastic place to stay, we would and have recommended it to others as nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff. The food is amazing with a self serve breakfast and evening meals to rival even the top restaurants. The first day we had to wait in a long queue to be seated for dinner which I found difficult as I am disabled. We were advised by another guest to reserve a table which we did and this was kept for us throughout our stay. The bedroom we had (a blue riband room) was very spacious. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom had a bath as well as a shower. With the added bonus of a lift to all floors and entertainment every night I can certainly say we will be coming back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dawnlaban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    87
    20
    11
    10
See reviews for
81
109
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The Ruskin is an old fashioned seaside hotel that has modernised where it can (difficult to create en-suite areas in smallish rooms) and is smarter than most of those around it. Albert Road is full of hotels on both sides. I got a parking ticket within 5 minutes of being there while in a boxed area outside which had a meter that I didn't see - the other side of the road has a boxed area that looks identical but allows 30 minutes for unloading, so park on the FAR side. I was there for 9 minutes unloading cases - opportunistic wardens are hovering. That aside, the hotel is ok. The staff are pleasant, the breakfast is a serve yourself buffet and is very good, and the place always seems busy. Off the street trade is needed and attracted to make the place pay, so the bar is large and open to passing trade, which was abundantly present, especially on the roadside terrace at the front. If you go there by car, you can pre-book and pay for a parking space somewhere round the back, but there were none available. Public car parks are £20 a day so we parked in a residential street a mile away, which was free. You don't need a car once you're there. The Ruskin is in a good position walking distance from all the attractions.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rh1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2013

stayed here last minute on a night out with my boyfriend,the staff were nice and the breakfast was the best ive ever tried just a shame we couldnt finish it due to our hangovers lol - would love to stay here again but I tend to use booking sites and always find cheaper ones,if I had the money I would stay here often just for the breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amy12x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Staying in many hotels in Blackpool, I must say this is one of the best. We booked in with no problems or hassle on arrival and was directed to our room on the first floor towards the back of the hotel. Only downpoint was that hallways and room did make you feel quite clostraphoebic although I think I am right in saying you could upgrade to bigger rooms although small rooms are the norm in Blackpool and you only sleep in them anyway. Room could do with a bit of updating and walls are quite thin but it was very clean with daily housekeeping, with a small en-suite bathroom.
The food and sevice was always fantastic and more restaurant style than your usual hotel pub grub with great choice of fresh cooked in house meat, fish and vegitarian dishes, all three courses cooked to perfection. Buffet breakfast was amazing with lots of choice of cereals, fresh fruit and juices. Although buffet style no matter what time you attended the food was always fresh and piping hot with waiters and waitresses always at hand with tea, coffee and toast. Restaurant and another function room downstairs but lift available to all floors.
Revamped, Rorys Bar open to the public (pub hours) and reasonable prices was an option, with quieter residents lounge adjoining and small games room with caberet lounge at the back with the usual entertainers playing 50's to todays music (normally in Rorys bar but it was a busy week).
The Ruskin is central to the town, close to all shopping and handy for Blackpools attractions.
All staff were very polite and attentive and always available to help.
I will recommend this hotel to anyone and will hopefully return soon.

Room Tip: As mentioned we were on the first floor and rooms at the back were quieter although fealt overlooked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndieAmnotlying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

stayed here many times and always have a great stay hotel nice and clean food is great rooms are very clean will be returning soon the location is very handy for the town center and all of the attractions

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Came to the Ruskin 11th-16th Aug 13 had a brillant time here, food was excellent, ur own fault if you come away hungry! Staff very friendly would help you in any way. Hotel is central to the town, will b back again. Your not far frm the tower & houndshill shopping centre is just across the road.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wkend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renfrew, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

All Staff are excellent and a credit to themselves and management

Good Central hotel and worth a visit

A definite for a return visit

Extremely handy for the Blackpool attractions

Our stay was for two nights dinner, bed and breakfast which was excellent

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eddie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#33 of 70 in Blackpool
982 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#8 of 70 in Blackpool
1,261 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 70 in Blackpool
3,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royal Seabank Hotel
Royal Seabank Hotel
#30 of 70 in Blackpool
846 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Royal Boston Hotel
The Royal Boston Hotel
#11 of 70 in Blackpool
839 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Royal Alexandra Hotel
The Royal Alexandra Hotel
#51 of 70 in Blackpool
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruskin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruskin Hotel

Property: Ruskin Hotel
Address: Albert Rd, Blackpool FY1 4PW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#15 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#24 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ruskin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation. Superb restaurant facilities and the renowned roly’s bar bistro combine to ensure the highest standards of comfort and service for our guests. With a lift to all floors, a separate games room, an elegant lounge and night porter service, your comfort is ensured with outstanding attentive service from a team of friendly and helpful staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ruskin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruskin Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing