We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Class hotel and staff.”
Review of The Corona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Corona
Ranked #18 of 856 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
lancashire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Top Class hotel and staff.”
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We stayed at The Corona on a Saturday night, booking just 2 hours before we arrived. We found the hotel via late rooms.com and phoned to book direct. We booked a family room for me, my partner, 2 teenage girls and our springer spaniel. On the advice of Paul, he suggested the interconnecting family room which would suit us to a tee.
On arrival, about 9.30pm, we were greeted by Paul and within 5 minutes, we were shown the room and we were off to the beach with the dog.

Having stayed in Blackpool many times over the years, I have to say that this hotel has got to be the nicest and cleanest I have ever come across. The room we stayed in was furnished and decorated to a very high standard. As it was a family room, we had a double in one room area and bunks for the girls in the other with a shared toilet and shower between us. We had privacy from the children without the doors being closed.

The decor was very contemporary and the rooms benefited from having flat screen tv's, a hair dryer, kettle with tea and coffee, posh biscuits and complimentary bottle of water. I was a little worried about the white Egyptian cotton bedding and our hairy dog, which is not a great combination but we were assured by Paul, the owner, that as a dog lover himself, it is never an issue as all bedding is professionally cleaned so not to worry.

Breakfast was wonderful, fast service, happy staff (makes all the difference in a morning) and a little background music. Nothing was too much trouble.

All in all, we had a wonderful stay and would definately return given the chance. Great for families and couples alike, especially if you like to take your 4 legged friend with you.

Room Tip: room 1 was great as a family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saramil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    601
    62
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
213
240
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Our expectations were exceeded when we stayed at The Corona. Very inviting, comfortable and friendly. very helpful owners and staff with any requests catered for where possible. We were so impressed we re-booked before we left. Looking forward to our next visit to Blackpool and The Corona/ Thank you to you all

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bermuda-Poppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

The rooms were very clean and modern with everything you would expect. The staff were very friendly and helpful to answer questions on local amenities. Food was exceptional and nothing was ever a problem. I can't think of anything that i was unhappy with....only i had to go back home. This is the first time i have stayed at the Carona and will definately be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pwallace2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Paul & Richard made us feel very welcome at the Corona on our 2 night stay,room was to a very high standard ,very clean and tidy ,breakfast was excellant and served with a smile , even though we were 2 mins from the last orders at 09.20 . A much needed break and we came back home refreshed , believe me NOT all Hotels can do that , absolutely recommend the Corona to anyone in doubt about other hotels in Blackpool , thanks guys , first class regards
Vince & Josie from Aylesbury

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vandykepro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights with my husband and toddler. The hotel is absolutely spotless in all areas. Rooms are lovely and really well looked after. They are a little small but we stayed in a family one so that gave us a bit more room for the travelcot etc. I was shown one of the normal doubles and it would have been a little tight for space for the 3 of us but still manageable.

The owners and staff are all friendly and helpful. It's on the South Promenade just a couple of minutes walk from the Pleasure Beach so the location is really handy. Despite it being close to the action, it's still a quiet and peaceful hotel. There is free parking onsite. Breakfast is really good quality. They made sure our table had a highchair, plastic cutlery and bib all at it ready for us coming down in the morning and that was really appreciated. There is even free wireless internet in the hotel. They do warn that not every room has a good signal for it but we were lucky as it worked well in our room. The public areas all have a signal so you could easily use your laptop there if it didn't work in your room.

I think the hotel offers good value for money. There may be some cheaper ones available but I'd be suprised if you found anything cheaper that matches the quality of this one and I'm sure you could easily pay more for one that isn't as good! We would certainly stay at the Corona again and will recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCLMC82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this review, 4 July 2011
Wow, thanks for the review, I don't think you missed anything out at all. We do aim to ensure we offer every guest facilities that will enhance their stay such as high chairs etc, we know the kids love the bright coloured cutlery and with the bibs, it makes sense to supply them for meal times. We did upgrade our free WiFi signal boosters this season so all rooms will receive a good signal in their rooms, and it’s still free to all guests to use.
You used the word quality, and I think you hit the nail on the head, I could send guests to a dozen other hotels that are a bit cheaper or if they wanted, a lot cheaper, but we know we are very fair on our tariff and it's my belief, that guests who stay here at the Corona don't mind paying a bit more to get a whole lot more.
Thanks for your wonderful review, it was a pleasure meeting you both and of course the little one. And always remember, if you call direct, you can save every time, or look at our web link above the reviews tab and see what deals we have every month.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

You couldnt want more from a hotel on a tight budget the hotel is spotless and the staff are brilliant, the breakfast is a wonderful start to the day and always plenty to eat i wouldnt stay anywhere else in blackpool.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billnlauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this review, 4 July 2011
Thanks for that Bill, its always great to have good feedback from guests. As you well know, you can have as much or as little as you like from our comprehensive breakfast menu as so many guests say, it really sets them up for the day. I take it you will be booking again in the near future? Look forward to seeing you all again reall soon. Thanks again,
Paul & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2011

nice and quiet had a country feel to it bar was good and cheap room little small and cooked breakfast but on a whole good weekend away.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dazandkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this review, 4 July 2011
Well thank you for the review, its great that you took time to let others know how you enjoyed your stay. We hope you enjoyed your complimentary wine & chocolates served in your luxury room. All guests booking superior or Luxury grade rooms are also welcome to have breakfast served in their room at no extra charge. We offer a wonderful selection from our continental range to enjoy at your leasure between 8am & 10am, why not indulge and enjoy a chilled bottle of champagne to really start your day off.
We look forward to seeing you back again soon.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
488 reviews
0.6 mi away
Branston Lodge Guest House
Branston Lodge Guest House
#5 of 856 in Blackpool
757 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Mercury
The Mercury
#11 of 856 in Blackpool
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Kenley
The Kenley
#2 of 856 in Blackpool
1,021 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Hotel Blackpool
The Hotel Blackpool
#6 of 856 in Blackpool
178 reviews
1.3 mi away
Glen Guest House
Glen Guest House
#7 of 856 in Blackpool
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corona

Property: The Corona
Address: 18-20 Clifton Drive | South Beach area, Blackpool FY4 1NX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 856 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Corona 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 22 bedroom B&B offering all the services of a small hotel. Our standards are extremely high, we don't want to fail our guests. Situated very close to Pleasure beach for all the fun of the fair. If you enjoy that little bit extra in life, you have found your perfect place to stay. We look forward to welcoming you. By booking by phone, we can often save you that few pounds that we all like to save. Only one small dog 10kg per booking, on request only. (charges may apply if not notified in advance ) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Corona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Corona Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing