We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel”
Review of The Corona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Corona
Ranked #18 of 856 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kinross, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb hotel”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

This hotel was a pleasure to stay in. Very clean and tastefully decorated. The owners, Paul and Richard were extremelyy friendly. Didn't see much of Richard as he was away on social visiting for a few days. Paul even carried the cases to the room, a great help. Breakfast was delicious and there was plenty of it. Before I left Paul even phoned for a taxi for me. If I return to Blackpool I will definitely be staying there and I will recommend it to all my friends. A great experience all round. Well done Paul and Richard.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AWood1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    601
    62
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
213
240
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2012

What a fantastic hotel! If you are looking for a hotel which is clean, tidy, beautifully decorated, with friendly staff, a great atmosphere and excellent value for money, i would highly recommend The Corona. The owners Paul and Richard made us feel so welcome and made our stay in Blackpool an absolute pleasure. The hotel is in a great location and just a short walk from Pleasure Beach. The breakfast was lovely with a good choice and I would definately stay in this hotel when i visit Blackpool again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night only as a stopover on the way back home and I must say it was an amazing experience. A very warm welcome, superb room, very clean and comfortable. I wish we could have stayed longer!! Breakfast was pretty good, I'm not full breakfast person but my husband enjoyed it a lot. We've enjoyed Blackpool for this short visit and want to come back and will be definately booking here again, no other place to stay for us :)

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kamila R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We have never really had the desire to stay in Blackpool, but the KGB offer at the Corona seemed too good to miss. We arrived late afternoon on Friday and although parking was a bit of an issue,. from the moment we stepped through the door, we couldn't have been more pleased. Paul greeted us with a very polite and friendly manner, gave us a tour of the hotel and carried our case to the room. The room, though small, was very tastefully decorated, immaculately clean and contained everything that we needed. The tasteful decor continues throughout the hotel. The dining room is light and furnished in a modern style and the bar is extremely welcoming and very comfortable. We do enjoy a drink before retiring at night, but do find that in most of the larger hotels the drink prices are extortionate. Not so at the Corona. The prices here are very acceptable and the friendly bar staff are "The Owners" - Paul and Richard. The hotel is a credit to them. They deserve loads of success as you can observe the effort that they put into the business. They work extremely hard and are present late at night and early in the morning and always have a cheerful smile.
Breakfast was excellent. Plenty of choice and good quality.The service in the dining room was first class.. James, the young waiter, helping Paul, was smart, charming and very efficient and had obviously been well trained to do the job.
Overall a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasperStoke_on_Trent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Incheon, South Korea
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

I booked this hotel as part of a KGB voucher for my friend's birthday, where we got 2 nights for £70 or £75 (can't remember which!). It was excellent value for that price.

When we arrived at the Corona we were greeted by owner Paul, who was very polite and friendly.
The hotel was in an excellent location for the Pleasure Beach and Sandcastle Waterpark. It's also really near the tram stop if you wanted to go into Blackpool North.

The room was very clean and well presented, but compact (we were in a standard double). This was fine for us as we were out most of the time, but if you were going for a longer stay or like to spend more time in the room it might get a bit claustrophobic. We read a previous review where they mentioned the noise of the flags on the outside of the building keeping them awake. We found this a bit of a problem on the first night. These factors are what stopped us giving the hotel 5 stars.

There was plenty of choice for breakfast. On both mornings the food was tasty and quick to arrive, and the people who served us were very friendly. Paul recommended a local Italian restaurant, Constantine's, to us, which was good value and we enjoyed. On the day of departure Paul let us leave our cases in reception after checking out.

Overall, a very enjoyable stay and a lovely owner. If we were visiting Blackpool again we would stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarjoramWildCumin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We recently stayed at the Corona for 8 nights while attending the British Open Golf Championship at nearby Lytham. We chose the hotel based on its excellent TripAdvisor reviews and it turned out to be a good choice. The hotel is situated in a quiet residential area, well away from the “cheap and cheerful” heart of Blackpool. There are about 8 parking spaces directly in front of the hotel and ample additional parking on the nearby roadside (free of charge 24 hrs/day). There is a choice of good restaurants 15 minutes walk from the hotel.

Although compact, our room had been recently and tastefully redecorated and included extras like bathrobes, slippers, a small box of chocolates as a welcome gift and mineral water which was replenished daily. There was also a good-sized flat screen TV with Freeview. We would ideally have liked a bit more space in the en-suite but it had everything in it we needed, including generous shelf space for toiletries, etc. We did find our room hot overnight, but like another recent reviewer couldn’t sleep with the window open because we found the flags outside quite noisy (maybe we had the same room!). The hotel would actually look more upmarket without the flags so maybe that's something for the owners to consider.

The Corona offers a selection of cereals, fruit, yogurt, etc at breakfast-time but it is the “full English” where they really excel. Their generous cooked breakfast is nicely presented (loved the way the beans were served in a ramekin) and completely non-greasy. It’s also really nice that they provide guests with an individual pot of coffee at breakfast instead of just a cup like most places. Breakfast is normally served from 8.30am but as several guests were attending the British Open (and wanted to leave the hotel early in the morning), a continental breakfast option was made available from 7am or guests could opt for a take-away breakfast instead. We were also offered the use of the hotel’s tumble dryer if we had wet clothing to dry when returning from the golf course which was a thoughtful offer.

The owners, Paul and Richard, have run the Corona for 11 years and deserve the good reputation they have built-up in that time. Paul is the “face” of the Corona and is ideally-suited to that role, easily combining professionalism with friendliness. It must be challenging to get sufficient guests outside the main holiday periods which is why many Blackpool hotels have gone down the “hen and stag” route. Thankfully the Corona does not accept hen and stag party bookings which is one of the reasons we chose it.

The Corona is much nicer than your average seaside hotel and we’re pleased we chose to stay there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShetlandGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thank you so much for the outstanding review, we take all our guests reviews/opinions seriously but it was lovely to read your thoughts. The flags!!! as I mentioned in another review, they are a temporary decorative display and will be coming down at the end of the Olympics, so I can only apologies for the noise with the window open at night. The room size, this comes up often, as a building, the Corona is 2 hotels joined into one, in the good old days when en-suites were not heard of, each hotel had 21 rooms, now with the joined buildings we have 22 rooms all en-suite, so you can imagine the size of rooms then, but as you pointed out, we offer all the little extras to enhance the guests stay.
Its good to hear you enjoyed our breakfast selection, and as you mentioned, with the golf taking place I was up and opened the dining room for 6.45am to ensure our guests managed to eat something before heading off for the day.
Well, hopefully if you are in the Blackpool area at any time in the future you will keep us in mind, it was really nice that you took time to write your review in depth, I love reading what our guests think of the Corona and of course us... thank you for the comments, I do enjoy chatting as you could probably tell.
Once again, thank you.
Paul & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north west uk
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We had our wedding reception here in April 2012. Paul & Richard could not do enough for us & our guests, they catered to our budget and our needs, they were friendly & professional at all times & really do know their trade & their staff were excellent at all times. The rooms are fantastic, beautuifully decorated & extremely clean & very very comfortable, the bedding is of top quality, (egyptian cotton in our room). Quiet a few of our friends stayed at the hotel & they all expressed much the same as us.

The bar & function room is well equipped for an intimate setting and/or a full on party! Paul & Richard will do their utmost to accomodate your needs of what you require, without 'taking over', yet, remaining professional at all times. We just left it all up to them to sort it out, once we had instructed them on a few things for our reception, they did us very proud & made our day very special with NO stress at all.

The food & presentation was exquisite & very fresh.

The breakfast was made with fresh ingredients & all top quality, the sausages were so tasty, the portions are not small, toast & tea & coffee provided throughout, stunning food, absolutely enough to set you up for the day.

What we loved most about this hotel was the atmosphere as soon as you enter, so warming & the hotel has such a lovely feel about it, I knew our reception would be perfect here & I was not wrong.

I wish you all the success Paul & Richard, you deserve it & your staff,

Thank you very much & also for the lovely photos Paul.

Katie & Russ

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
488 reviews
0.6 mi away
Branston Lodge Guest House
Branston Lodge Guest House
#5 of 856 in Blackpool
758 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Mercury
The Mercury
#11 of 856 in Blackpool
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Kenley
The Kenley
#2 of 856 in Blackpool
1,021 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Hotel Blackpool
The Hotel Blackpool
#6 of 856 in Blackpool
178 reviews
1.3 mi away
Glen Guest House
Glen Guest House
#7 of 856 in Blackpool
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corona

Property: The Corona
Address: 18-20 Clifton Drive | South Beach area, Blackpool FY4 1NX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 856 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Corona 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 22 bedroom B&B offering all the services of a small hotel. Our standards are extremely high, we don't want to fail our guests. Situated very close to Pleasure beach for all the fun of the fair. If you enjoy that little bit extra in life, you have found your perfect place to stay. We look forward to welcoming you. By booking by phone, we can often save you that few pounds that we all like to save. Only one small dog 10kg per booking, on request only. (charges may apply if not notified in advance ) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Corona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Corona Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing