We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No1 place to stay in Blackpool”
Review of The Corona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Corona
Ranked #21 of 857 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“No1 place to stay in Blackpool”
Reviewed 29 August 2012 via mobile

As always both Paul and Richard were excellent hosts. Nothing is too much trouble from carrying yr bags upon arrival to offering to put yr wet stuff in the dryer following a soggy day at the pleasure beach. Best hot chocolate in town is served here. The hotel is close too south pier which is a welcome short walk following the excellent breakfasts. Thanks guys had a fab time as always.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TykeBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    62
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
215
241
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2012

This hotel is one of the best I've stayed in the uk. As first timers to Blackpool myself and my daughter, were made to feel welcome, settled and at ease. We were shown our rooms which were big enough with two single beds and modern decoration to the room, we're we had complementary tea coffee and water. We had a spacious en suite shower room. I was given all information on booking trips online guys book everything massive discounts and you just show confirmAtion reference to get your tickets. The breakfasts here are out of this world and catered for everyone, I had my tea here which told was a snack of jacket potato with cheese and salad my daughter had a kids meal of chicken nuggets lets just say the biggest of men with the biggest of appetites wouldn't go hungry. And a must is the hot chocolate which my daughter had every night speciality here with the chocolate powder cream and marshmallows in a huge cup. All in all this is the place to stay, be it a first time visit or not. Close enough to all attractions walking distance even the train station but far enough for a good nights rest. We most definitely will be back guys and thank you so much for making our trip so pleasurable u put the pleasure in pleasure beach. Xxx

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDINBURGH
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed here for two nights having booked thru a KGB Deals offer. The hotel is a very easy three mins walk from the Pleasure Beach train station. (Tip - use that one rather than Blackpool North when staying in this area of the town). The actual Pleasure Beach Amusement Park is less than five mins walk away- but you dont get the noise that goes with it.
On arrival the owner greeted us at the door and by name. The attention to detail would be repeated during our stay and did not go un- noticed. Its a pity more in the hotel business dont make that same effort. After a swift check in -he showed us to our rooms and carried the luggage. We had a superior double room -it faced the front street and was very well decorated. The bed was very comfortable. Check out the photos on the hotel website as they do give you an accurate representation of the hotel. Our daughter and grand- daughter were in a twin room and it was also very comfortable.
There is a tv lounge beside the reception area. There is also a quiet seating area at the front of the hotel facing onto the street. There is a nicely decorated and relaxing bar on the ground floor. The prices were very fair and you could hide there after a busy day running after the grand daughter at the Pleasure Beach. (Tip- a PB pass costs £30 on the day but £20 by booking online & collect the pass on your arrival. Tesco clubpoints offer even better deals- see the blackpool forums for many tips.)

The bedrooms were kept very clean and the public areas were also spotless. We were on a b&b basis and the breakfasts were super- cereal then tea and toast -with refills and then a very tasty cooked breakfast. The breakfast staff were very polite and helpful and made a fuss of any children.
Its only a short walk to the South Pier and there is a tram stop on the esplanade before the Pleasure Beach for the less energetic to get to the Tower and all the other attractions.
The staff were a credit to the owners and have obviously been coached /trained to ensure the visitors enjoy their break. A fair number of visitors were repeat bookers - it was a relaxing and friendly place. It is understandable why its so popular.

The staff took a real pride in the running of the hotel. They followed the maxim of doing well the little things that make the difference between a reasonable stay and an enjoyable one for the visitors- including ensuring cleanliness, placing bottled water and chocolates in the room on arrival- replenishing tea/coffee etc.in the rooms - asking visitors if they were enjoying their stay- and giving friendly tips on where to eat and even better where not. On leaving we were asked if we enjoyed our stay and if everything was to our liking at the hotel. I cant imagine very many would say no.
We really enjoyed our stay here and for what its worth would recommend this hotel. It certainly merits the good reviews it has via T.A.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdinburghKitkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

my husband and I stayed for two days at the Corona on a groupon deal . It was excellant value. The hotel is very comfortable and friendly. spotless clean. very tasty and plenty of choice for breakfast. The owners Richard and Paul are very welcoming and friendly. The room was cleaned whilst we had breakfast which was great. Good parking for disability.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janaleHolmfirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

The hotel was spotlessly clean in all areas and all staff were friendly and very helpful. The proximity to the pleasure beach was great but despite being very close to everything, the hotel and surrounding area was very quiet. The food was nicely cooked and bar prices very reasonable. We will definitely return when we plan our next trip to the pleasure beach.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJPEAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I stayed at the Corona for two nights with my wife and two children. We arrived twenty minutes before check in and our room was ready so Paul welcomed us to the Corona. We stayed in a family room,which was very clean and decorated to a high standard. The kids loved the bunk beds and its was good to see the tea making facilities after the long drive from Hull. The breakfast set us up for day again set to a high standard. Paul asked us if we would like a cusion for our youngest son to sit on whilst having is breakfast,its comments like that the make the place very special. I will be returning to the Corona next year with the family. Thanks for everything Paul love the Davies family x

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
Thank you for that review, the little things seem to stick in people's mind and I gues that's just the kind of person i am, I like to pre empt guests needs and offer before I am asked. It would be lovely to see you revisit the Corona and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

The location is superb, only 10 minutes from the city centre by tram, right next to Pleasure Beach yet on a very quiet street in one of Blackpool’s nicer central areas.

This hotel is a small boutique hotel where the key word is ‘complementary’. You pay for a standard product which is your en-suite room (and breakfast if you’re on a B&B basis) and everything in your room is free to use to get your money’s worth. People say it’s the thought that counts; well the owners managed to come up with a large variety of complementary things including WIFI, bathroom products, hairdryer, tea/coffee station, a bottle of water and flat screen TVs.

We stayed in one of the superior rooms for 2 nights using a hotel voucher allowing us to pay only £69 for our visit. First impression of the hotel was that it was very well thought out and had a friendly atmosphere. Then we stepped into our room which was quite small, needless to say that the description ‘superior’ doesn’t apply to size. The décor was dark but very sophisticated, the room had plenty of storage spaces and small windows but only one could be opened. The double bed that we had in the room was more like a small double which could barely fit 2 people comfortably.

The bathroom was equally small barely leaving enough space to stand up from the toilet. The soap was missing which, next to all the free products such as cotton buds, seemed quite important at the time but we forgot to ask for it and I’m sure the staff would have given us one if we had.

These were minor inconveniences, especially considering how cheap it was for the two nights. Initially, we wanted to stay in Blackpool for another night so we booked another hotel, but due to electrical failure we quickly found ourselves back at the Corona checking into a twin room this time. This room also had lovely décor, a more spacious bathroom with soap this time and two single beds that were more suited to accommodate 2 people. We spent another £70 for the room for 1 night which after the ‘2 nights for £69’ voucher seemed like a lot of money but worth it if you suddenly find yourself without a hotel or just simply prefer those little luxuries.
Breakfast was nice, although each morning there was something missing from our plate that we asked for but it was free so didn’t complain.

I would say that the best feature of this hotel was the standard of cleanliness. I could not find one dirty spot, and trust me I did look because I couldn’t believe it. Both rooms and the common areas were spotless and I’m ashamed to admit that not even my own house is that clean.

The hotel staff was friendly and Paul, one of the owners was helpful and very knowledgeable about the area. The owners seem to know the concept of running a hotel successfully and it shows that their slogan ‘your satisfaction is our future’ has a meaning behind it. Overall, we had a nice time and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissLexie713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this review, 19 August 2012
Wow, what a review, thank you so much for the candid words about the hotel, staff, friendliness and cleanliness, you covered everything, have you thought about becoming a hotel inspector?. It makes us very proud to read such words from guests, and we do our best to ensure you have an enjoyable stay. Sorry about the soap missing, it was a genuine mistake by our housekeeping staff. I love your description of "Boutique hotel" we have never thought of ourselves in that category before, we think of our selves as a 4 star tourist B&B, as you will see from our advertising, we are classed as 4 star Guest accommodation, this category is between a B&B and Hotel.
Thank you for the remark on our "complimentary items" we offer tea/coffee free of charge through the day to all guests until 6pm in the evening, this is a self service station in the reception lounge & we have biscuits too at a small charge, hair dryers are in all bedrooms along with toiletries, actually, we are introducing Elemis bathroom products to our superior/deluxe & Luxury rooms this week. Elemis is a favored 5 & 6 star Spa range available in top class hotels around the world, as well as cruise lines and international airlines to their first class passengers, so we look forward to guests feed back on that one.
The bed in your room was actually a 4 6" regular double bed, it would be great to have larger beds but as you mentioned, the room was not huge.
The offer you purchased was a great price and the price we offered for your twin room was £15.00 cheaper than our advertised web booking site price, we have always been fair on our prices and the price reflects the quality our guests buy into when staying.
Overall, a huge thank you for the outstanding review, and we hope to see you return to the Corona if you happen to be in Blackpool. Many thanks
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
3,071 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
469 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#16 of 70 in Blackpool
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
492 reviews
3.1 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#3 of 70 in Blackpool
819 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corona

Property: The Corona
Address: 18-20 Clifton Drive | South Beach area, Blackpool FY4 1NX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 857 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Corona 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 22 bedroom B&B offering all the services of a small hotel. Our standards are extremely high, we don't want to fail our guests. Situated very close to Pleasure beach for all the fun of the fair. If you enjoy that little bit extra in life, you have found your perfect place to stay. We look forward to welcoming you. By booking by phone, we can often save you that few pounds that we all like to save. Only one small dog 10kg per booking, on request only. (charges may apply if not notified in advance ) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Corona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Corona Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing