We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”
Review of The Corona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Corona
Ranked #22 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Just returned from a two night stay at The Corona with my husband. We couldn't have asked for more for our stay. The hosts were friendly, most importantly the place was immaculately clean, the breakfasts were excellent. Our room was on the small side but more than adequate for our needs. Would not hesitate to recommend and would stay again should we return to Blackpool.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2012

Well thank you so much for the wonderful review, I can honestly say that the rooms are mentioned often, but as you have pointed out, they are adequate for your needs. Larger rooms are available for a small supplement that offer a little more space, complimentary continental room service breakfast, and in 2013, we are considering offering guaranteed reserved parking to all 4 of our high grade rooms with bookings of 2 nights or more for mid-week stays as well as weekends.
We look forward to your return in the coming year,
Thank you
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (689)
There are newer reviews for The Corona
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

443 - 449 of 689 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2012

We stayed here on a KGB deal and found the hotel pleasant and delightful. We did not manage to eat at the hotel so cannot judge the evening meals; however breakfast on both days was very good.

Recommended and fairly close to the attractions of Blackpool

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KirkbyTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2012

Thank you for the review during your stay, we are more than happy with your comments.
We do use reputable suppliers for all our products for both dinner and brekast and all guest orders are cooked fresh and served to you.
We do offer dinner in the evenings and many guests choose to dine in, but we also have a huge list of recommended restaurants if guests do choose to dine out.
We have a fantastic sale in 2013 that offers a 2 day stay to include breakfast for 2 people a comfortable clean room with mineral water on arrival along with complimentary chocolates for an unbeatable price of only £89.00 for stays between a Sunday to Thursday, supplements for weekend stays are payable. This offer can be booked by phone only and can be taken between the 17th February 2013 (subject to half term, Easter & bank holidays and operational restrictions)
So, we might see you return to the Corona sometime in the future.
Many thanks Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

I've just spent a 2 night stay at the Corona with 3 friends. We were very impressed with everything about the hotel from the rooms which were very clean and nicely decorated, the food which was excellent and came to the table served on hot plates and the free parking which was a bonus. The hotel is situated on a quieter part of Blackpool and just around the corner there was a tram stop and bus stop. The owners Paul and Richard were always ready to answer any queries we had. We will definatly be back and have recommended it to our friends.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank newpensioners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Thank you so much for that excellent review, it was really nice that you took the time to share your experiene with other travellers.
You do mention the free parking, although it is limited to 8 spaces, there is ample street parking too, it might be opposite the hotel or 2 roads off, but the big bonus is, it's all free, so if anyone is worried, don't. Ask Paul or Richard to point you in the right direction.
We always serve our meals on hot plates, keeping it warmer for longer.
Thank you so much for the review,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a 2 night break - a KGB deal. Couldn't fault this deal. We did have Room 17 which was very small but quite acceptable for a short break, if we stayed again would ask for a bigger room but the price we paid with KGB I can understand being given this room. It was spotlessly clean and well organised for a small room, no good if you had a suitcase. Bathroom a good size. Chocolates and water a nice touch. Breakfast was very good with good quality produce, piping hot with hot plates. Would stay here again if going to Blackpool. A well run hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FredaWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Hello and thanks for the review, you did mention room 17 as being small, hands up, your right, but we didn't use that room because of the KGB deal, it might have been the only one available for your stay, although compact I think its a lovely room, bright, fresh and with a decent size again compact, bathroom. We would love all our room to be a lot bigger, but I have said to many people, would you be happy paying £100 plus a night for a bigger room? That is what we would have to charge to reduce the number of hotel rooms but as a business, we have that thought to consider, so without being drastic, we try to make guests stay as comfortable as possible with amenities such as free WiFi, complimenary water on arrival, a coffee station, also free to guests all day and of course our warm hospitality, again free.
So thank you so much for the rave review and we look forward to seeing you again at the Corona.
Paul & Richard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Stayed at the corona in Sept 2012 for 2 nights and hound it to be a lovely and clean hotel and well run by co -owners liked the bottles of water left in the room and a big plus is off road parking if you are going to the pleasure beach as this can save you up to £8 per day try to get booked in early as parking is at a premium owner couldnt do enough for us and i,m sure if they could would have changed the weather . We would stay at the Corona again no hesitation .

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catweston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2012

Thank you so much for the fantastic review, we appreciate that the little things we do in the Corona are noted. Water is in all guest rooms on arrival and we also replenish water daily in our higher grade rooms.
Parking is on site, although limited but there is plenty of road parking for guests to.
We look forward to seeing you return to the Corona at some stage. Look out for our £89.00 for 2 nights from February through to July 2013, a Sale not to be missed, it will be on our facebook page.
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Lovely hotel, rooms very nicely decorated and spotlessly clean, breakfast a wee bit early for us but still managed it as the food was lovely and plenty of it. Would def recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geenabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Thank you for the honest words, we do insits on all our rooms and public areas are cleaned to a very high standard, we work with the housekeepers and are fully aware of the daily routines. Sorry you felt breakfast was a bit early but we start service from 8.30am and that continues for an hour, we also offer early breakfast for those who are departing for work, meetings etc. By the time the dining room is fully set up after guests leave the dining room it is about 11.30am, then we continue with our other chores.We hope to see you back at the Corona in the future and perhaps a continental breakfast served in your room would suit you better, this is available until 10.00am at a small suppliment. Many thanks Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We have stayed at many places in Blackpool over the years this is easily the best. All rooms in traditional hotels in the town are small so no grumbles. The food is excellent. The real value are the owners who go out of their way to provide good old fashioned customer service( if lucky you may even experience the occasional conga) . Faultless

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drumking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Thank you for that, yes, I must agree the rooms are compact, although we offer our guests as much as possible. A majority of rooms in hotels in Blackpool are similar and without reducing our room numbers by making 2 rooms into 1 and increasing the daily rate and asking guests to pay higher rates we try to make rooms as comfortable as possible. But it was great of you to review the Corona. We look forward to seeing you again,
Paul & Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
497 reviews
0.6 mi away
Branston Lodge Guest House
Branston Lodge Guest House
#4 of 859 in Blackpool
788 reviews
0.2 mi away
Number One South Beach
Number One South Beach
#34 of 859 in Blackpool
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Mercury
The Mercury
#13 of 859 in Blackpool
427 reviews
1.9 mi away
Westbourne House
Westbourne House
#25 of 859 in Blackpool
288 reviews
2.6 mi away
Gabrielle's Hotel
Gabrielle's Hotel
#15 of 859 in Blackpool
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corona

Address: 18-20 Clifton Drive | South Beach area, Blackpool FY4 1NX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £53 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Corona 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 22 bedroom B&B offering all the services of a small hotel. Our standards are extremely high, we don't want to fail our guests. Situated very close to Pleasure beach for all the fun of the fair. If you enjoy that little bit extra in life, you have found your perfect place to stay. We look forward to welcoming you. Booking by phone, we can save you that few pounds that we all like to save or take advantage of our offers of free parking or bar credit during your stay. Only one small dog 17kg per booking, on request only. (charges may apply if not notified in advance ) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Corona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Corona Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing