We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Without a doubt the best place to stay in Blackpool”
Review of The Corona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Corona
Ranked #18 of 856 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
nottingham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Without a doubt the best place to stay in Blackpool”
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Just returned from our third stay at the Corona this year... And love the place so much we've extended next years planned visit.
Hotel is spotlessly clean, food is excellent and nothing is too much trouble for Paul and Richard.
If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Blackpool book the Corona , you wont be disappointed !!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nottmgal29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Well, you said it all, thank you for that.
Your words are spoken first hand and it is wonderful that you have taken the time to put your view across to others who may be considering the Corona for a short stay.
All I can say is we look forward to seeing you in 2013.
Paul & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    601
    62
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
213
240
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Just arrived back from a 3 night stay at the corona. What can I say again excellent service with helpful and friendly staff. We will be returning again for the fourth time next year. Keep up the work Paul & Richard. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julieswindlehurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Hello Julie,
Thank you once again for your review, we welcome all our repeat guests with the same warmth as your very first visit.
You didn't waste time booking for 2013 October half term, as I said on our Facebook page; most of the family rooms are booked out for that whole week,
We encourage all guests to book early to avoid disappointment and secure the room of your choice.
Many thanks for your continued support over the years and we will speak to you in early 2013.
Paul Richard and all the staff at the Corona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and took my eldery grandmother along with our 2 boys .Both Richard and Paul could not do enough for us.The rooms were spotless , food fantastic. Could not fault the hotel one bit......even the public toliets were amazing!!!
We will be back !!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naomi d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this review, 9 December 2012
Hello and thank you so much for the wonderful review, we invite many families through our doors every year with the age range from 1 to 99 and offer a selection of rooms to suit all guests. We have first floor single rooms for our elderly guests and these are always best booked early to secure your preferred room choice.
Hopefully we will be seeing you back at the Corona in 2013.
Thank you so much once again for choosing the Corona over the 1000 hotels in Blackpool.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

I really can't understand the reviews for this place - the management are abrupt, unhelpful and out and out ignorant.

I booked a KGB deal for this place and within a week of booking the deal all weekends had mysteriously been booked up a year in advance! When attempting to book an alternative date the manager was more interested in telling me when I couldn't come than when I could. Despite admiting there were vacancies available they were not available for 'you people with deals'. We were very much treated like second class guests and it seemed we were more of a hinderance for daring to take advantage of the offer.

There are more signs than wallpaper on the walls dictating what can and can't (more often can't) be done and when it must be done by. The hotel is situated right by the pleasure beach which is noisy and busy. Parking is very restricted and I was often sat outside waiting for a space for half hour. The main centre is far from walking distance so taxi's were very much order of the day. And don't you dare venture out of the limited time slot for breakfast or the bar!

To top it off the room was small and cold. Heating was set between certain times and if your comings and goings did not fit you were pretty much out of luck - not pleasant for a soggy September. Apparently this is a four star hotel - even for Blackpool that's a shove!

Room Tip: Ask for one in the Big Blue Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tommo1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Hello and thank you for taking time to review the Corona 4 star guest accommodation (not hotel) I am sure your stay was terrible for you by the sound of your review. I can only apologise on behalf of us, the owners.
I find it interesting that you rated the Corona very low in all our areas including value but despite the cost of £69.00 for a 2 night stay to include breakfast both mornings you still felt the need to rate the value as low, I find it incredible that a room in the Corona at a cost of £34.50 per night was still too expensive for you, and yet we have guests who pay £90.00 + per night and believe they receive great value. We do have competition from every other hotel in Blackpool but the days of cheap and cheerful were never at the Corona. As we agree with guests about the rooms being compact, that is out of our control sorry, we try to offer all we can in the rooms and most guests appreciate this. We pride ourselves on cleanliness quality and the mark you gave there was also low, if you purchased a KGB deal or not, all our guests are treated with respect and a welcome but sometimes the Corona may not be right for some guests….The comment about signs I will dismiss, I haven’t a clue what you are talking about, sorry.
Parking: We offer limited parking and this is made clear, there are plenty of parking areas in the surrounding streets that are free and yes you do have to drive round the corner sometimes, but we do not feel the need to charge and reserve parking as there is so much street parking as I have said.
The fact that there were no weekends available might be better described as, the particular weekend you wanted to book, we do have guests sometimes booking 12 months in advance.
The pleasure beach is in close proximity as you pointed out, thank you, although we have never had anyone staying here say that it was noisy unless the laughter and general noise of people enjoying themselves is regarded as noise to some people.
Heating: When it is required we do have the heating set on a timer that would fit in with a majority of guests being in the building, this is our policy until such times as the heating is on 24 hours per day. Leaving heating on is like having a shower running when your out of the bathroom all day, or perhaps my views on that are wrong. A simple request to flick a switch would solve that problem, but you chose not to ask so unfortunately there is nothing I can say to that.
I look forward to your response in the very near future. And I can apologise once again for your terrible stay with us.
To date, 30th October, I have sent you 2 e-mail messages via Tripadvisor but as of yet, you have not replied. It would help us to know what dates and room you stayed in during your recent stay so we can respond appropriately as we do not seem to have any other details that we can trace to your stay with us at the Corona, without this information we assume this is not a legitimate review or at least we have doubts about its authenticity.
Paul

Paul waiting for guest to reply
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Stayed four nights in October, the hotel is spotless, good food, comfortable bed, and proprietors who are prepared to go that bit extra to ensure that your stay is perfect. A few minutes walk to the nearest tram stop and pleasure beach makes this a well situated hotel in a fairly quiet area

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this review, 24 November 2012
Thank you so much for the review, your time is busy as it is, so to sit and take time is appreciated. We are happy that your stay was a great one and you felt our location was right too. When your in Blackpool next, we hope you choose the Corona for your stay.
Many thanks
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stalybridge, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Just returned from a two night stay at The Corona with my husband. We couldn't have asked for more for our stay. The hosts were friendly, most importantly the place was immaculately clean, the breakfasts were excellent. Our room was on the small side but more than adequate for our needs. Would not hesitate to recommend and would stay again should we return to Blackpool.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Well thank you so much for the wonderful review, I can honestly say that the rooms are mentioned often, but as you have pointed out, they are adequate for your needs. Larger rooms are available for a small supplement that offer a little more space, complimentary continental room service breakfast, and in 2013, we are considering offering guaranteed reserved parking to all 4 of our high grade rooms with bookings of 2 nights or more for mid-week stays as well as weekends.
We look forward to your return in the coming year,
Thank you
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkby in Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We stayed here on a KGB deal and found the hotel pleasant and delightful. We did not manage to eat at the hotel so cannot judge the evening meals; however breakfast on both days was very good.

Recommended and fairly close to the attractions of Blackpool

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KirkbyTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Thank you for the review during your stay, we are more than happy with your comments.
We do use reputable suppliers for all our products for both dinner and brekast and all guest orders are cooked fresh and served to you.
We do offer dinner in the evenings and many guests choose to dine in, but we also have a huge list of recommended restaurants if guests do choose to dine out.
We have a fantastic sale in 2013 that offers a 2 day stay to include breakfast for 2 people a comfortable clean room with mineral water on arrival along with complimentary chocolates for an unbeatable price of only £89.00 for stays between a Sunday to Thursday, supplements for weekend stays are payable. This offer can be booked by phone only and can be taken between the 17th February 2013 (subject to half term, Easter & bank holidays and operational restrictions)
So, we might see you return to the Corona sometime in the future.
Many thanks Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
488 reviews
0.6 mi away
Branston Lodge Guest House
Branston Lodge Guest House
#5 of 856 in Blackpool
757 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Mercury
The Mercury
#11 of 856 in Blackpool
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Kenley
The Kenley
#2 of 856 in Blackpool
1,021 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Hotel Blackpool
The Hotel Blackpool
#6 of 856 in Blackpool
178 reviews
1.3 mi away
Glen Guest House
Glen Guest House
#7 of 856 in Blackpool
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corona

Property: The Corona
Address: 18-20 Clifton Drive | South Beach area, Blackpool FY4 1NX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 856 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Corona 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 22 bedroom B&B offering all the services of a small hotel. Our standards are extremely high, we don't want to fail our guests. Situated very close to Pleasure beach for all the fun of the fair. If you enjoy that little bit extra in life, you have found your perfect place to stay. We look forward to welcoming you. By booking by phone, we can often save you that few pounds that we all like to save. Only one small dog 10kg per booking, on request only. (charges may apply if not notified in advance ) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Corona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Corona Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing