We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic christmas”
Review of The Corona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Corona
Ranked #23 of 861 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Got to say, been to the corona years ago,when chris and Steve had it it was brill then, we decided to have a break away from cooking Xmas lunch this year and went Xmas eve and returned Friday 28th dec, ....where do I start, Paul and Richard, the hotel is a credit to you,you work so hard,when we first Arrived we we quite late because of work commitments,mad dash to get ready for evening meal, Paul went out of his way to make sure we felt comfortable, some of the regulars introduced themselves, so we didn,t feel isolated, ......there was entertainment on every night, a quiz, a pool competition, got to say the best entertainment was Richard not only did he turn out some of the best tucker in Blackpool he totally had us in stitches with some of the outfits he wore, a chicken outfit, Xmas tree,Santa,a fairy outfit, not to mention his knights outfit which was hilarious,..those guys must love their jobs(or live off pro plus) they must have started at the crack of dawn, and were still at it till god knows what time. They were bringing supper out at 11.00 pm..nothing was too much trouble, all the staff were wonderful again nothing to much trouble,and it was all done with a smile on their faces, A BIG THANKYOU FROM EXLEY/PEARS FAMILY, I would recommend anyone going with to Blackpool to make this their first choice for accommodation..spot on!!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the front bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2013

A huge thank you for the outstanding review, you deserve a medal for your detail and fun writing. We loved reading all you have to share. You know, we always say "it's our Christmas to, so we do enjoy making it special for you, the guests, but we love to join in" I know you saw the big changes since you stayed with the previous owners, ( we still keep in touch with them) and we are proud to welcome guests back, year after year. Christmas is amazing here, we all love the decorations that Richard spends so long putting up, but they are amazing. Well, if you cant join us for Christmas, we also do Tinsel and Turkey weekends in November, something to think about?
Once again, from Richard, myself and all the team at the Corona, thank you.
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (694)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 694 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2012

We last stayed at The Corona in September having stayed in March this year too...we're also heading back tomorrow. I think the frequency of our stays say it all really.

Paul & Richard are welcoming hosts and the hotel is absolutely lovely, very homely & relaxing and great for our little boy who throughly enjoys staying and seeing little Reese :- )

We would never stay anywhere else in Blackpool, a stay at The Corona feels more like staying wo friends than being in a hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noodledoo2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Thank you so much for the review, we also appreciate the feed back, sorry it has taken a bit longer to reply than normal. We are very family friendly and appreciate that you mentioned your little boy, he is so polite and you are all welcome back any time. See you soon,
Paul & Richard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Excellent stay fantastic Christmas . You couldn't ask for more . Paul and Richard and all the staff were great. Meal times were a delight . And the entertainment. Was something to see. We have never seen people so relaxed together . The hotel was Dec out with good taste . And Paul and Richard with all there staff should be proud off what they achieve. Making our Christmas the best one .with many thanks from Trevor and Joan

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2012lovedoctors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2013

Thank you so much for the review. We know you have seen the hotel at various times through the year and that Christmas was your first one with us. I could see you were enjoying your time as you joined in with the others at every opportunity. As an ex hotelier, that you are, we feel proud that you choose to return to enjoy the Corona and all we have to offer, many thanks for sharing your thoughts.
Paul & Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

nice weekend break ,the hotel was quite nice (brilliant xmas decorations )the couple who ran it were great. nothing was too much trouble, our room was quite small but had everything we needed it was very quiet even though we were on the front ,nice long conservatory with snooker /pool table and a bar . good breakfast too

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaz9810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2013

Thanks for the review; we are glad you enjoyed your short stay with us. You mention the room being small, I can’t deny that, some are compact, keep in mind upgrades are sometimes available or even, book in advance for the same cost as a standard room.
Thank you
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

This is the first review I have ever placed on Tripadvisor, anyone thinking of a break in Blackpool should stay here.
My wife and I stayed at the Corona for a short break in November. Richard & Paul are excellent hosts along with all of their staff. Our room was spotless and very confortable.
Great entertainment, lovely food and a magic Pre Christmas atmosphere. The hosts were extremely helpful with advise on places to visit etc. Next time we aim for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winkie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2013

Hello and thank you so much for the great review, we really appreciate your opinions.
We do attend to guests requests and we are very hands on when dealing with our hotel guests.
The staff are friendly and I must say, we are proud of them all, they are a fantastic team and they are so important to the smooth running of the business. Our housekeeping staff are always in the background, but their continued hard work is noticed as you mentioned.
We look forward to your return in 2013 to join us once again,
Many thanks
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Hi we have just stayed at the Corona 4 girls, the hotel was very clean and the owners very friendly and helpful. The christmas decorations were all out so made it very christmasy for our shopping/nights out weekend. The breakfast was really good

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie186322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2012

Thank you ladies for the review, your welcome to stay with us any time, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your 2 days with us at the Corona.
We look forward to seeing you back in 2013.
Thank you so much,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Just been for a family weekend at the Corona. Had read some of the reviews before hand and most were glowing apart from one comparing the hotel to a 'boot camp'. I am unsure as to which hotel the 'boot camp' reviewer stayed but it was certainly not the same Corona that I went to!. From start to finish our stay was fantastic. The hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas. It was clean, welcoming and you are made to feel at home. The hosts, Paul and Richard, go out of their way to help ensure everyone has a good time. Food on both nights of our stay was incredible and of great value as was breakfast. Entertainment provided was very professional, with excellent singers. I cannot praise this hotel and its hosts enough. You cannot go wrong if you choose to stay at the Corona.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneL59_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

Thank you so much for the honest review and pointing out the review you mentioned. We are so happy that you decided to book the Corona on the strength of your friends praise of the Corona and that above all you enjoyed your time with us. We strive to ensure every guests stay is memorable and that it leaves guests with a desire to return.
Thank you once again,
Paul & Richard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
507 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#3 of 73 in Blackpool
527 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#17 of 73 in Blackpool
1,047 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#28 of 73 in Blackpool
3,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corona

Address: 18-20 Clifton Drive | South Beach area, Blackpool FY4 1NX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 861 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £55 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Corona 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 22 bedroom B&B offering all the services of a small hotel. Our standards are extremely high, we don't want to fail our guests. Situated very close to Pleasure beach for all the fun of the fair. If you enjoy that little bit extra in life, you have found your perfect place to stay. We look forward to welcoming you. Booking by phone, we can save you that few pounds that we all like to save or take advantage of our offers of free parking or bar credit during your stay. Only one small dog 17kg per booking, on request only. (charges may apply if not notified in advance ) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Corona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Corona Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing