We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Place to Stay!”
Review of The Corona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Corona
Ranked #23 of 853 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place to Stay!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

On arrival we were greeted with a warm welcome, the owners Paul and Richard are very friendly.

Me and my friend stayed one night as a birthday suprise, our room was lovely, bright, nicely decorated but most importantly so so clean, there was absolutely nothing to fault.

Before we left for the evening we enjoyed a drink in the bar, we found the drinks were very reasonable. Everywhere in this hotel is very inviting, and outside is a fantastic place to sit and relax! We were lucky enough to do this in the sun. Outside is bright with lovely pots, flowers, little tables and chairs and is very private. Like all the areas in the hotel even outside was immaculate.

We had a brilliant nights sleep, our beds were so comfortable!
In the morning we were shown to the table for breakfast. I was very impressed by the waitress who served us, she was very polite and nothing was to much trouble! The breakfast was so yummy, we both had a full English breakfast. There is a fantastic selection of cooked food along with cereals, fruit, yogurts, toast and unlimited tea, coffee and juices.

I was very sad to check out and would have loved another night there! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, and will definitely be back again. It was the perfect way to spend my 30th birthday! Thankyou Paul and Richard.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicks19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let other guests know about your short stay, as you said, one night is not enough but I understand your time was limited.
You have mentioned so many points that are continually noted by all our guests, those being cleanliness and breakfast, we are very passionate about our business and after 13 years we put 100% in to our daily routine. Our staff in housekeeping work relentlessly and thoroughly to ensure our standards are maintained, we do not have a quick get in and get out attitude to cleaning, we take as long as it takes to make it right for you.
Our breakfast staff are a credit to us and work under a very pressured timescale and work load to overlook breakfast service. Thank you so much and I really do hope you can stay longer next time.
Paul and Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    62
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
213
236
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We have stayed at the Corona hotel Blackpool three times now and we are going back in October because we know it's the best hotel in Blackpool, Paul & Richard they can't do enough for you it's so clean the food well that's just great that's why we keep going back so if you want a great Hotel in Blackpool go to the Corona

Room Tip: All the rooms are great we upgrade our room so we can have a little more room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Hello and thank you for your very positive review, we really appreciate the time you have taken to share your opinion. We love to see guests return and as you know, we do get to know you on every visit that little bit better, it wont be long until your here again, see you soon.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Best hotel in Blackpool. Clean and comfortable rooms. Amazing breakfasts. Paul and Richard couldn't do enough for us. Felt like we were at the home of friends rather than a hotel. I have stayed in about 11 Blackpool hotels and The Corona is by far the best.

Room Tip: All rooms decorated to a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojones2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you so much for the review, we take all points seriously and we take care when preparing guests rooms. I appreciate your time that you have taken and we truly hope to see you return to the Corona again, many thank's
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I have stayed at the Corona several times and never ever have I been conned by the lovely host. Paul and Richard are 2 of the most fabulous people who you will ever meet. We have never been disappointed with the rooms, service, breakfast or how clean and tidy the hotel is. Paul and Richard will do anything to make your stay with them the most comfortable you will have in Blackpool. This is a HIDDEN GEM tucked away behind the Pleasure Beach.
As recent reviews have stated BAD PLAY please do not listen. Book and see for yourself. My words are true!!!
Ask me anything. Kerry

Room Tip: The beach is only a 2 min walk!! Rooms decorated to high standards Lovely bar area with a gorgeou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lapless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you once again for taking your time to write a review. There are people who have given the Corona bad reviews, we understand the hotel is not suited to everyone's taste, style or budget but we work hard along with our staff to offer our guests the best experience possible.
Thank you and we look forward to your next visit.
Paul & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amz20
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

My friend won a stay at this BandB at a charity event. We had 2 nights here and absolutely loved it. Great location for beach and pleasure beach. The owners were lovely, as were the other members of staff, and very helpful. They gave a great recommendation for a local italian restaurant (which i think was called San Marcos)- the food was fantastic and early bird offer was £9.95 for 2 courses and a drink. They also recommended the hot ice show which was unbelievable and a very good evening event. The room was lovely, comfortable and very clean. The breakfast was very good and there was a large variety of choice. I would recommend and stay again. Thanks for such a nice few days away.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank amz20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Hello and thank you so much for the lengthy review. We support charities on a regular basis and when we heard about the event that was taking place, I was only to happy to offer a free 2 day stay. This is our 6th charity we have donated to this year. We believe that if we can do just a little bit to help raise funds for cancer, it all adds up. I t is so nice to hear how you appreciated our efforts and how you enjoyed your time at the Corona.
Thank you so much, we hope to see you returning to the Corona.
Paul & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

I booked a weekend at the Corona as part of my husbands birthday between Friday 18-Sunday 20th July and stayed in room number 4 at the front of the guesthouse. Although we are more used to staying in five star hotels this is the perfect getaway when you want to enjoy Blackpool in the sunshine or rain.
The minute you walk through the door Paul (front of house) and Richard (chef and evening barman) are the perfect hosts, attentive, knowledgable and professional and nothing is too much trouble. I had asked for a bottle of Chardonnay to be ready for us in the room as well as some chocolate covered strawberries and I can say without doubt they were the best we have ever had, I say we but in all honesty it was mainly me as they were so good hubby didn't get much of a look in.
Room number 4 is not the biggest of rooms but tastefully decorated with everything you need and a little bit extra on top, slippers, dressing gown and Elemis bathing products added a little touch of luxury as did the Ferrero Rocher waiting for us ( well yes me again) on the bedside table.
Everywhere was spotlessly clean and well maintained and our only negative during our stay was being woken up at four am ish by some fellow guests, they weren't particularly noisy but the doors do slam a little as they catch and the floors are a little creaky ( something to be expected in a building of this age) but nothing too bad as we managed to get back to sleep. All in all a lovely stay and we will return

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon-Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you to both of you for choosing the Corona to celebrate your husbands birthday. We value honest comments from guests and appreciate your trust in us as a small hotel.
Richards chocolate strawberries were made just for you, he was over the moon you enjoyed them. We are not a 5 star hotel by any means and as so many guests have said in the past, the rooms are compact and I can agree although they are clean. I would love to stay in a clean small room rather than a large dirty room, I work with our staff to ensure our standards are maintained and any issues are dealt with straight away.
Thank you so much for informative review. We look forward to seeing you return to the Corona and perhaps room 20 might be your next choice. 6FT bed, 42" wall mounted TV?
Thank you,
Paul & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We were looking to find somewhere to stay for three nights with our young son (10) and our dog. I found The Corona online, and immediately emailed to book. Once the booking had been confirmed (promptly), I then rang to check whether our dog needed to be with us during the day, or if he could remain in the room, as he usually sleeps all day. Paul told me it was fine to leave him in the room, and also said that if we found ourselves out longer than planned, they would take our dog out if necessary, and also that if they heard him pinning, they'd call us. From then onwards, I knew we were in for a treat. The room, along with the rest of the hotel was spotless, even the plants seemed dusted. There is a lovely Spanish feeling courtyard, which we used in the afternoons and evenings for a couple of drinks. The bar prices are very competitive, and whilst the bar is not manned all through the afternoon/evening, we were told that if we wanted another drink to ring the bell, and that this would be no problem, as "we like coming to serve you." We had several long chats with both hosts, who are delightful, and were given two fantastic restaurant recommendations. Breakfast was great - freshly cooked, lots of choice, and lovely staff. I'm quite picky at times, and having been in the trade myself, often see aspects that could be improved upon. We spent three days there, and it was perfect from booking until we left (which was at 5:30am to return for a football tournament - we were offered breakfast pastries and boxes of cereal for the car journey as breakfast was not served at that time of the day.) Can't recommend The Corona, Richard and Paul highly enough. Our son is insisting we return, with his older siblings and our dog, as soon as we possibly can. Thank you Paul and Richard for making our visit so perfect.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridesmaidinneed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Wow, now that is a review, thank you so much for all your positive comments and advice for other guests about your stay. We do accept dogs as you mentioned and we also have a wonderful dog walker who can collect your dog and take them on a daily walk, or if you have a busy schedule and can't find a kennel she can look after him overnight to.
I hope we do see you back with us, and as you said when you stayed, we can accommodate a coach party of friends and family.
Thank you again,
Paul & Richard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.1 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,000 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#17 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,851 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corona

Property: The Corona
Address: 18-20 Clifton Drive | South Beach area, near Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1NX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 853 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Corona 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 22 bedroom B&B offering all the services of a small hotel. Our standards are extremely high, we don't want to fail our guests. Situated very close to Pleasure beach for all the fun of the fair. If you enjoy that little bit extra in life, you have found your perfect place to stay. We look forward to welcoming you. By booking by phone, we can often save you that few pounds that we all like to save. Only one small dog 10kg per booking, on request only. (charges may apply if not notified in advance ) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Corona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Corona Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing