We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!”
Review of The Corona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Corona
Ranked #22 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfection!”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Wow! We stayed for two nights at Hotel Corona with our two children (6&4). We stayed in the family room for four people with the adjoining bunk bed room. From the second we arrived Paul (joint owner) could not have been more helpful or pleasant. We were able to check in early and were given a tour of the hotel by Paul. It was clear from the start that nothing was too much trouble. The whole stay felt like staying with family (family you like!!). The kids absolutely loved it and that helped to make our stay extremely enjoyable. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone. Thank you Paul and Richard.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Darrcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you so much for the shining review on the Corona, we are lucky we love what we do as we head in to our 14th year owning the Corona and appreciate what we have and who comes to stay, by booking we realise guests put a lot of faith in the Corona and I guess there is always a little bit of uncertainty before guests arrive. Well, as you said, it's like staying with family you like, that's a beautiful comparison, thank you.
Paul & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    63
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
219
243
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My partner & my self have just come back from the corona hotel in Blackpool we had a lovely time Richard & Paul were great & so was there lovely little dog Reece , the hotel is lovely & clean has everything you want , the food was lovely & fresh. I can honestly say that of all the hotels we have stayed in in Blackpool this is without doubt the best, will definitely be returning. Thank you again see you soon. Debbie & Mark. Xxx

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbienut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for your opinion about your Bank holiday stay with us at the Corona, to say this is the best you have stayed in Blackpool is a huge compliment, we value all our guests reviews and honesty.
With the year flying by, perhaps booking early for next year is a thought? As you saw, we do get very busy.
Thank you so much for taking time to review the Corona,
Paul & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We visited the Corona hotel last weekend on a voucher basis. We had a very warm welcome from Paul, who quickly found me a close by parking space as all the spaces were taken. The frontage looks good and also is the internal decoration. We booked in and visited the bar which is well stocked and reasonable prices, with a lovely sun trap outside. The hotel is based on a double fronted boutique hotel but completely refurbished.Our room was a little compact but beatifully clean and decorated, the bed i could take home with me. The bathroom again compact but well appointed, spotlessly clean and although only a electric shower it was more than acceptable. Soap and Shower gel provided and a Ironing board on the landing. It has a lovley Sun lounge at the front where you can sit and read the paper or just let the full monty settle.The location is second to none, in a very quiet area but a stones throw from the pleasurebeach There is a bus service within a hundred yards and the tram just a few yards more, that will take you St Anns - Fleetwood, please be advised that the free sevice with your bus gold card is no longer valid on the Tram but is on the bus. The breakfast 08:30-09:30 superb, all the cereals and fresh fruit and yogurt, all you can eat, followed by a breakfast that would grace any large well known hotels. Make up your own components or have the Full monty. One recommendation is to ask them to give you 5min between the starter and your full monty.I would reccomend this hotel to all and would gladly return again for a full week. ask Paul or Richard before you set off on your intrepid adventures as they have many suggestions.
Paul and Richard keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Small hotel but rooms to the rear must be quieter but it is a very quiet road that has no volume of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryJOrton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Well, thank you so much, I think you covered everything for other travellers in your review. How informative you have been, not leaving any detail out, we love to read our reviews, especially outstanding ones like yours.
We have a majority of electric showers in the hotel as they are instant heat and hot water never runs out. The room you had was compact but just as you said, had all the amenities needed, we do offer larger rooms with 6 ft. beds and 42" TV's but with a higher price tag.
Thank you so much.
Paul & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Very pleased we took advantage of a KGB voucher and were more than happy to pay the very reasonable proper price for an extra night .
Quiet location on the southern edge of the Pleasure Beach with tram and bus stops on the nearby prom.

Smart and courteous staff and owners very welcoming.
Good facilities : nice comfortable bar, internet, superb breakfast.
Had room 16 which was compact but well appointed with a good shower in the en-suite.
It would just be pointless nit-picking to make any criticism.The Corona does what it does and does it very well and represents good value for money.
Having had to cancel a KGB offer in the past and had a very disappointing visit elsewhere in Blackpool last year we are delighted to find somewhere so very pleasant to go.Thanks to all .concerned.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your experience about your stay. We have a great team of young staff who work with us to ensure you have superb customer care. As you mentioned, we are a stones throw away from the pleasure beach and all the transport links yet in a very quiet area, we love living here and know we picked a great location when we bought the hotel in 2001.
I really hope we see you return and by all means, do pass on our details to family and friends.
Thanks again,
Paul & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Just stayed at the corona hotel for 3 nights with my daughter & husband it was a last minute break & when we arrived at hotel Paul showed us the room to make sure we were happy with it , lovely family room with adjoining room with bunk beds tvs in both rooms . Bar ,lounge & breakfast areas all spotless clean & breakfast included in price was of a very good standard with a lot of choices . The owners live on premises & are very friendly & helpful offering advice & tips on local attractions . Hotel in a quiet location just beside the Pleasure beach. A lovely small hotel that we would return to & recommend to others

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilylous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you so much for the great review and allowing other guests to make an informed decision before booking their stay with us.
I really do hope we see you coming back tot he Corona and by all means, do share your experience with your family and friends in Dublin.
Thank you,
Paul & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestwick, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Had a three night break in a twin room with my daughter and baby grandson. Hadn't stayed here before but we were not disappointed. When we arrived we were checked in immediately and assistance was given to get our bags to our room which was immaculate as is the rest of the hotel. The owners and staff were professional and friendly and made us feel really welcome. Beds were really comfortable. Breakfast was superb with a great choice for all tastes. Look no further if you want a really great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrannyB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hello and thank you for taking time to tell others about your stay, as you mentioned, we assist all guests to their rooms and carry baggage where we can (subject to weight) and on our way to the room explain breakfast times and offer local attraction information.
I hope you enjoyed your time with us to return for another stay.
Thank you so much,
Paul & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Just back front staying at the Corona, last minute trip 2 meet family, and feel like I made a couple of friends. This hotel is just the most welcoming, friendliest hotel I have stayed in. I agree with all the other fantastic reviews, can't recommend enough, I've been back home 1 week and already booked in again for a wee surprise break. Paul remembered me and my son as soon as I called for the booking which was a lovely personal touch. Check in, rooms and breakfast all first class.
Looking forward to our next visit .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllyBxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Well, we do offer the personal touch and by booking direct we do have the chance to offer guests a small discount too.
I know we are never going to be the biggest or best place to stay in Blackpool but one thing is certain, we will always do our best to make your stay as good as we can, we did something right I guess as like you said, you booked again, thanks for the great review,
Paul & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
476 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Colwyn Hotel
The Colwyn Hotel
#5 of 73 in Blackpool
731 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Mercury
The Mercury
#11 of 859 in Blackpool
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Branston Lodge Guest House
Branston Lodge Guest House
#5 of 859 in Blackpool
771 reviews
0.2 mi away
Number One South Beach
Number One South Beach
#45 of 859 in Blackpool
306 reviews
1.9 mi away
Westbourne House
Westbourne House
#32 of 859 in Blackpool
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corona

Property: The Corona
Address: 18-20 Clifton Drive | South Beach area, Blackpool FY4 1NX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Corona 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 22 bedroom B&B offering all the services of a small hotel. Our standards are extremely high, we don't want to fail our guests. Situated very close to Pleasure beach for all the fun of the fair. If you enjoy that little bit extra in life, you have found your perfect place to stay. We look forward to welcoming you. Booking by phone, we can save you that few pounds that we all like to save or take advantage of our offers of free parking or bar credit during your stay. Only one small dog 17kg per booking, on request only. (charges may apply if not notified in advance ) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Corona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Corona Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing