We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If Heineken made hotels....”
Review of The Corona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Corona
Ranked #23 of 864 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2010

We have been coming to this hotel for over 7 years and cannot rate it highly enough. Paul and Richard eat, sleep and breathe Customer service! You can tell it is a passion not just a business to them. The rooms are lovely and clean and very comfortable and if you want to spoil yourself choose a luxury/superior room and just wallow!

All the staff are very friendly and willing to go the extra mile to make your stay a memorable one. Spent some lovely nights in the very opulent bar where you are made to feel like a friend not just a guest.

If you come to Blackpool you will not go wrong if you choose the Corona and I bet you too will be a returning guest.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186312Tonyp1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (704)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

648 - 654 of 704 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2010

What can we say apart from excellent.we were there for our anniversary and everything was perfect the food was wholesome and hearty, the room was welcoming and the staff were friendly and the owners paul and richard were fantastic host thankyou

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tessie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

We used trip advisor when booking our stay in Blackpool, and found The Corona that way and are we glad we did. The hotel is the cleanest we have ever stayed in anywhere. The whole place is immacculate which immedaitely puts you at ease. Paul and Richard who run the hotel are very friendly, very helpful and very hard working. They must be very busy but still take the time to chat with guests and help with any questions.

The hotel is away from the hustle and bustle which we really liked. It was nice to leave the noise and flashing neon lights and turn into a really nice, well kept quiet street. It is about a five minute walk south of the pleasure beach and only one street back from the Promenade so not too far away by any means. We walked both to and from the tower with a four year old so the location is not an issue and to us was a bonus. The hotel has a generous car park but should it be full their is loads of free on street parking directly outside.

The breakfast was excellent, loads of choice whether you wanted something light and refreshing or if like me if you want a full English. The brekkie was well cooked and not at all greasy. We ate in the restauarant both nights and the meals were lovely. The meals each night were good food ,cooked well and without too much fuss. They had a good choice for kids with a main meal, dessert and soft drink for less than a fiver. Our little boy loved the food and was made feel welcome with special cutlery laid out especially for him. You may want to eat out but in Blackpool you will struggle to find many restaurants nicer than the Corona dining room and the value for money is great with a three course meal for around a tenner. The bar is really nice and very reasonable also.

Some people have complained about room sizes but we had a double and single bed in our room which were in no way crammed in so don't really see the justification for this grumble. How much space do people really need for a few nights in Blackpool?

Overall on past experience of Blackpool we went with a little trepidation of what the hotel may be like but we loved it and in future will go back for sure. I will also be reccomending this hotel to anyone I know heading for Blackpool. A real find!! Just before we arrived the hotel had just been granted a fourth star which speaks for itself.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drk_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

we stayed at Corona for 3 nights in sept with our 2 year grandson and parents.Situated close to the pleasure beach, close to sea front ideal for us. On arrival we receivced a warm welcome and introduction to hotel, service and rooms. We had booked the superior room which was modern, clean,comfortable with a kingsize bed . The food at the Corona is excellant, breakfast offers a good and varied choice of everthing with excellant service. we ordered evening snacks and sandwichs which were excellant. The corona is excellant value for money and very child friendly, there wasnt anything that was too much trouble for our hosts.
Paul and Richard gave us recommendations on local places to eat, which was well worth the visit. we had a thoroughly enjoyable break at the corona, and we will be going back .

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wonderwomen01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Friendly owners, great service, quality breakfast, fluffy towels. Clean & comfortable rooms, albeit the decor was a little tired. Spacious lounge, bar and dining rooms. Close to the Pleasure Beach and promenade.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tigersfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Wonderful location. First imprersions of the Corona was a lovely bright exterior. We had the warmest welcome at reception we have ever had from any hotel we have ever been to. There was no parking spaces in the hotel parking bay but we were well advised where we could park for free and were welcome to park outside as soon as a space was free, this was not a problem because of the location we could leave the car for our whole stay. Our check in could not have been any warmer, with help to our rooms with our baggage. We were told enroute about the hotel facilities. The family room was OUTSTANDING although, we were told there were a few upgrades due to be done to the room we were in ( not needed in our opinion ) Lots of fresh white towels, Crisp white clean bed linen bedding with contrast cushions and bed runners.( comfy beds and pillows) Nice touches with the range of toiletries on offer and good quality toilet roll. The hospitalitly tray had excellent quality biscuits. The breakfast was first class, with lovely smiley helpful staff, and top ups of tea, coffee and toast if nessesary. The house keeping girl we met also greeted us with a smile ( our room was very very clean)
We found this hotel very clean, excellent location with first class staff.. We already want to visit again, and would HIGHLY RECOMMEND this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coli45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2010

I just cant thank you enough for all the wonderful comments you have taken time to write, I want to stay at the Corona myself !!!
Since your visit, we have been awarded our 4th star from VisitEngalnd, we are now 4 STAR GUEST ACCOMMODATION and we are so proud with all our efforts and hard work we put into the business every year. It's not just a job, it's a whole lifestyle that we enjoy and thrive on every day.
It is a personal goal of ours to enhance the hotel year on year so all our regular guests who have supported us over the past 9 years, and prospective future guest have all that is need to make their stay a wonderful experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Just to say to Paul and Richard thank you so much for making it a fab week. My nephew following a disaster stay up at the North Shore really enjoyed himself and wants to come back again next year on one condition we stay at the Corona. The most relaxing holiday in year, both owners made us feel welcome and chatted to us most nights in the bar. Even the weather couldn't spoil the week we had.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TykeBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
The Colwyn Hotel
The Colwyn Hotel
#5 of 73 in Blackpool
754 reviews
0 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#2 of 73 in Blackpool
545 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#16 of 73 in Blackpool
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Kenley
The Kenley
#2 of 864 in Blackpool
1,083 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sutton Park Guest House
Sutton Park Guest House
#6 of 864 in Blackpool
410 reviews
0.6 mi away
Branston Lodge Guest House
Branston Lodge Guest House
#5 of 864 in Blackpool
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corona

Address: 18-20 Clifton Drive | South Beach area, Blackpool FY4 1NX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 864 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £45 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Corona 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 22 bedroom B&B offering all the services of a small hotel. Our standards are extremely high, we don't want to fail our guests. Situated very close to Pleasure beach for all the fun of the fair. If you enjoy that little bit extra in life, you have found your perfect place to stay. We look forward to welcoming you. Booking by phone, we can save you that few pounds that we all like to save or take advantage of our offers of free parking or bar credit during your stay. Only one small dog 17kg per booking, on request only. (charges may apply if not notified in advance ) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Corona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Corona Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing