We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“April trip”
Review of Doric Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Doric Hotel
Ranked #9 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We have stopped at the next door hotel (Sheraton) so many times we decided to try the Doric., and they are pretty much on a par. I prefer the latter, while my wife is a fan of the first named.

The breakfast at the Doric is splendid and the food and service were first rate. An extra course at dinner was good - reflected perhaps in the small difference in price. Entertainment was quite good but not quite as showy as the Sheraton and my wife preferred the round tables there.

The Doric is a clean hotel and it generally left nothing to be desired - except for our room TV. Members of staff were more than helpful and our stay was pretty much faultless.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harryhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,143 - 1,149 of 1,293 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2012

We have spent a number of good weekends at the Doric recently, and have just booked again. Good food, rooms, etc. Nothing too much trouble for James and Jack and their excellent staff in the restaurant. We are looking forward to our next visit.
D and A from Lancashire

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed at the Doric Hotel for 3 days over easter.
The rooms were well decorated, clean and modern. The staff were extremely helpful, nothing was any trouble.
The restaurant was excellent, the service was magnificent, waiting staff were polite and friendly and the food was piping hot and plentiful. I have never seen a hotel restaurant run so well and so efficiently.
Entertainment on all 3 nights was very good, with a good mixture for all tastes.
We would Highly Recommend the Doric Hotel .

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Had our wedding reception here and was
Superb from start to finish staff and management extremely helpfully 18 of us stayed and couldn't fault it. If it was up to me I would call it a 5 star hotel in a word
Superb mr & mrs Wilsdon

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Treglown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

stayed at the doric over the past eleven years, it is value for money and the food is scrummy.the facilities are brilliant and the entertainment is improving.stayed in others but the doric is the fav.the staff are very pleasant and very helpfull.james the head of the restaurant is brilliant and nothing is too much trouble. so watch out here i come again in the not to distant future .

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wellykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

just to let everyone know what a well run hotel this is. we had our holiday here at the begining of the easter hols. it was totaly fab. we loved the meals, the rooms were great and lots of space. house keeping were exelent. the staff who served our meals were great. john and james were realy friendly. all our family had a great time. and a big bonus is the pool!! lovely. the childrens entertainment were good especialy crazy carl. my family didnt want to go.

Room Tip: family rooms with see views are best not near the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donna345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed here as a large group in March 2012. They were ready for us when we arrived and check in was nice and quick. Rooms are a bit dated and ours was very small with a terrible view however was nice and clean and had all the facilities we needed. Breakfast was lovely - could have done with a little bit more as only small portions which are very good for the silver tops but not so good for a group of travelling football supporters! As mentioned by other guests the restaurant manager was great and very attentive. The only down size was the bar wasn't open quite late enough for us but all in all a very nice hotel. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burtie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,376 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,260 reviews
3.4 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Sheraton
Hotel Sheraton
#20 of 73 in Blackpool
472 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
512 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#17 of 73 in Blackpool
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doric Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doric Hotel

Address: 48-52 Queens Promenade | Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#9 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#21 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £67 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Doric Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the prestigious Queens Promenade with breath taking views over the Irish sea, The Doric Hotel is fast becoming one of the more popular promenade hotels offering a wide range of facilities and affordable holidays. Renowned for our quality and service in comfortable surroundings making The Doric a fine hospitality experience for all the family.In the last 3 years The Doric has been highly commended by The Blackpool Tourism Awards which picks out the best of Blackpool’s hotel's and its many aspects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Doric Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doric Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing