We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great find the staff are so accommodating and friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doric Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Doric Hotel
Ranked #12 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“What a great find the staff are so accommodating and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Fantastic hotel the room is clean and spacious the food is great always hot and plenty of choice. The staff are super helpful especially James and George we will Definately be back !

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Feefee4474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    762
    250
    86
    31
    22
See reviews for
589
190
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

after going to the doric hotel for the lights ,the hotel was very clean the food was excellent try the soups , the staff could not have been any better nothing was to much trouble , the rooms were very nice we will be going again

Room Tip: we had a family room with a double bed and bunks all very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 336morris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

My 11 year old son and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Doric and were actually glad to leave and go home!!
On first impressions, the decor is extremely dated and nothing like what is portrayed on the Doric website photo's !!! On the plus side, staff were friendly and helpful, the place was clean and comfortable, the happy hour was good and the hotel is directly opposite the tram stop to take you to all the attractions.
Now for the negatives .....
Rooms were far too hot, even though the temperature outside was cool and the fact the radiators were not on. It was so uncomfortable I had to buy a cheap portable fan to cool us down. We were in room 50, and unfortunately, due to the windows being wide open because of the heat, all we could hear all night whilst trying to sleep, was the generator outside downstairs, it was very noisy! Also we could here other peoples showers/baths being ran, other televisions etc. Didn't have one decent night sleep there.
The decor was very dated. In the bathroom, was a very dated, on the wall hairdryer which was useless and looked like it was from the 70s! so I recommend if you have long or thick hair, take your own dryer. Also the towels provided were very small and did not even cover my child when he came out of the (very small and shallow) pool, so I suggest taking your own towels also.
The television only had 5 channels (even though it stated in their guidebook that they have a children's channel and a movie channel. Not true!) The TV was up on a stand so high it was uncomfortable to watch. We went our last night without TV because it didn't have any reception... very frustrating!
Entertainment was, well lets just say, was catered for the elderly. Bingo and old crooners singing.
We were not at all impressed with the food. On the first morning, we waited by the 'wait here to be seated sign'. After waiting what seemed like ages (whilst the staff were just standing there staring at us) I went and spoke to the lady on reception who said to just wait and they will come. So after more waiting and still being ignored, I went and spoke to a staff member who then seated us. The cooked breakfast came out almost immediately and was cold on all 3 mornings. I did enjoy the strawberries, melon and variety of fruit on the first day, so was then disappointed on the other two mornings when they had 'run out'. Did not eat evening meals there as we wanted to eat out.
My son and I felt extremely uncomfortable being in a hotel with no 'younger clientele'. Apart from one other family with one teenager and one couple with a baby, we were the only people staying in the whole of the hotel under the age of 65, and most of them were a lot, lot older than 65.
Definitely not a hotel to stay in if you have children or are a young couple!! I am extremely surprised that they are rated as a 'family hotel'.
Good hotel for the elderly, but I will not be returning to the Doric Hotel again. EVER!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 999karenm_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

First time ( Sat 16th June) stay at the Doric.
Check-in was smooth enough. Previously requested room on a high floor and got that OK. Room was clean and comfortable - a little dated - but all perfectly fine.
Grabbed a quick Happy Hour (2:30pm to 4:00pm and 7:30pm - 9:30pm) pint. We had a quick Swim followed by a Steam and Sauna. Useful facilities to have if the weather isn't good.
Doric have various in house activities laying on a DJ, Comedians, Bingo or Cabaret (if that appeals!!!) most nights.
There is a Tram stop (Cabin) right across from the hotel. 4 or so stops will take you practically to the Tower. £1.50 for a Single ticket.
Spoke to a few other guests and they seemed to be regulars or they had been a few times previously. A good endorsement.
Breakfast was good - served 8:00am - 9:30am Weekends. Cereals & Toast followed by Full English or Kippers or Boiled Eggs plus plentiful Tea & Coffee with refill.
The Staff were helpful and cheerful - a definite bonus - seeing some of the miseries I've encountered at other places !!! Doric is a friendly and good value place to rest your head. When in Blackpool again I would certainly stay at the Doric.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jools483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehuddstribe
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Stayed for the first time 15-17 June and from the minute we checked in felt really welcome.

We arrived at about half 5 on the friday teatime and the staff on reception where friendly and checked us in quickly, we managed to get bags to our rooms we had 2 rooms both where lovely and spacious with plenty hanging space.
We went down to the dining room for dinner. We were meet by the restaurant manager who welcomed us with a big smile showed us to our table and had a laugh with the kids, He then introuduced our waiter Aiden..who was fantastic nothing was too much trouble for him..infact all the staff in the hotel were really friendly.
The food was excellent choice of starters, then soups, main course, dessert and coffee. We had a vegitarian with us and didnt know that you need to order a vegi meal at reception but they sorted that out for us no problem and then gave us a vegi menu with 5 or 6 choices on that can be ordered at reception for dinner the next night..whats really nice is that the dinner menu is on display so if children dont like whats on there you can order a kids meal also..
The breakfast was just as good as dinner..serve yourself cereal, juice and fruit and then your waiter brings your cooked breakfast..with 3 kids and a fussy eater we asked for a few different breakfasts and they all arrived hot and quick served with a smile..toast was plentiful too.
We played bingo on the fri night and but didnt watch the entertainment as the football was on but the bar had 2 happy hours whihc pretty much ran frrom about 2pm to 8 i think.
we used the pool, sauna and steam room on sat all where nice and clean was just a shame it was raining as the outdoor pool looked lovely.
this was our first visit but it will not be the last..cant wait to go back to the doric and plan to do so soon

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thehuddstribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

this is our second time came last year and loved it. this hotel has everything for young and old, indoor and outdoor pools ,great location great food . staff are very friendly and nothings too much trouble. well worth the money will defo go again .

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sandradNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

I recently enjoyed a two day full board break at the Doric Hotel for only £35ppp night !Excellent value. Great service , very good food & entertainment & the Hotel was spotlessly clean !!
I don't know howthey do it, but I ( & my family ) will certainly be returning in the none too distant future.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank maxandbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
3.4 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,933 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,980 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,743 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#13 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#22 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doric Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doric Hotel

Property: Doric Hotel
Address: 48-52 Queens Promenade | Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#13 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#21 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Doric Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the prestigious Queens Promenade with breath taking views over the Irish sea, The Doric Hotel is fast becoming one of the more popular promenade hotels offering a wide range of facilities and affordable holidays. Renowned for our quality and service in comfortable surroundings making The Doric a fine hospitality experience for all the family.In the last 3 years The Doric has been highly commended by The Blackpool Tourism Awards which picks out the best of Blackpool’s hotel's and its many aspects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Doric Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doric Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing