We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic wedding day at the doric. 100% care and attention from all the staff. a top class hotel. with fantastic staff”
Review of Doric Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Doric Hotel
Ranked #9 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2012

My son and daughter in law met at the doric hotel when they were only 13 years old, we all thought it was aq holiday romance but they carried on meeting up twice a year at the doric hotel. Last year my son proposed to my daughter in law, and they decided in august to get married in october. i worried about how little time we had to prepare, however with a lot of attention and commitment from the management and staff at the hotel our wedding plans went very smooth and without any stress.
we arrived at the doric the day before the wedding i was told you relax leave the worry to us, thank you that was appreciated.
From reception sorting all of the rooms and payments for around 50 of us thank you your stars totally stress free, they were patient and kind and caring.
James restaurant manager what can i say he is a tot6al saint he organised and managed the whole buffet for us, arranged for the room to be decorated, and more he went above and beyond the call of duty thanks james ur a star.
Jason hotel manager he is a true credit to the doric hotel and the Taylor family should be proud to have him as manager as im sure they are, he organised a bus to take the whole wedding party to the festival house. He ensured the smooth running of the whole day and not once did i see him relaxed from ensuring the day went well.
John the general manager allowing us to go to the park house (si9ster hotel to the doric) to take some photos on the beautiful stairs they have.
Every single member of the doric staff went well above and beyond their call of duty to ensure my sons and daughter in laws day was special, i cant thank everyone enough.

After the wedding we stayed at the hoel for a week as usual the food was fantastic, and nothing was a problem to the waiting staff, if i wanted more food i just asked it was there.
facilities are fantastic a jacuzzi to relax in swimming pool, entertainment was excellent, there are far too many people to name them all but every single member of staff at the doric hotel are credit to the hotel, they are all friendly commited andnothing is too much trouble.
special thanks to James, Jason, george,crazy karl, all at reception, mark and adam in restaurant. and chef who always seems to be forgotten your food is wonderful.
hope this helps people to decide to go to the doric and give it a try, well worth the money, total value and a relaxing enjoyable entertaining hotel.
DEFINATELY THE BEST HOTEL IN BLACKPOOL BY FAR .
Jason hotel manager arranged a bus for us all

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,027 - 1,033 of 1,305 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2012

Me and my husband stayed at the Doric from 26th -28th Oct for our wedding anniversary. Can I just say that we have stayed here before and the standards are as high as ever. The room we had 81 was a lovely room, it was spotlessly clean, everything you needed and very comfy.
I have to say a huge mention to the dining room staff, especially MITCH, who looked after us for our stay, he was well mannered very polite and a lovely young man. The same restaurant manager of 13 years is still there and as before is very polite and works extremely hard and runs to restaurant to perfection. The food was really lovely, hot and fresh, breakfast was wonderful, coupled with great staff you cant go wrong.
We will be returning to the Doric for sure in the future. Great value for money and all round friendly happy staff. 10/10 Keith & Linda xx

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the back of Blackpool, but you can upgrade to a sea view if you so wish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kitty3588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Had a short stay here with family in Oct 2012 to see the lights. Overall a great value stay that's well located for a walk through the lights to Bispham.

The children's entertainment is great, well organised and most importantly - free! This is definitely a selling point for the Doric.
Food is simple and plentiful! Lovely surprise to see Manx kippers on the menu for breakfast aswell.
Hotel is clean, infact the bathroom in our room looked brand new.

Yes, as other reviewers have mentioned, the hotel is a little toasty. Didn't stop me having a good night's sleep though.
Something to be mindful of is the lack of parking, however this applies to most hotels in Blackpool though. There's adequate street parking and the hotel are happy to advise of good local free car parking.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank Kungaloosh_boosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

I have visited the doric before in 2010 with my auntie. I visited with her again this year during the october half term. The room was spacious and clean towels provided every day along with coffee and tea in the rooms. The indoor pool was great for the younger children as it only reaches 1m in depth. There was also a turkish steam room which was good. THE HOTEL SAYS IT PROVIDES A SAUNA. IT DOES NOT PROVIDE A SAUNA INSIDE. IT USED TO BUT THEN IT GOT REMOVED. THE ONLY SAUNA IS OUTSIDE AND NOT OPEN WHEN ITS COLD. But overall, a great hotel food great and plenty of it. I will visit again in the future. All the staff work hard to answer all of your needs. One downside is that the hotel can overheat, the restaurant, the bar, the rooms, especially the corridors. They still seen to have the heating on high all the time! Its unbearable heat.

Room Tip: Rooms can get hot even when the radiator is turned off, so ask for a fan at reception at no extra co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank danielturnbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We all thought the hotel was good value for money, - (had 2 nights which included breakfast & 3 course dinner) the food was all of a very good standard, nice choices and plentiful for all of us!
staff were cheerful and efficient - nothing too much trouble. We were pleasantly surprised that the interior was quite modern and not tacky, like alot of other hotels in the area. Would have liked a bit more background music, it was on but hardly audible.
Our rooms were spacious, very clean. the bathroom in our room was a bit jaded & looked in need of up-grading, but it was clean & functional which is all that mattered for the short time we were there. We had requested sea views, which was nice as the weather on the saturday was really sunny & quite warm for october! An added bonus was the indoor pool & jacuzzi. Okay, pool not of olympic size, but my son & I had a few swims and it was lovely and warm & extremely clean.The one thing that got us all down a bit, was how hot the hotel was! It was uncomfortably hot, alot of people were complaining - even older people who do feel the cold more than us "youngsters!"All in our party had to switch off room radiators - but then I suppose it wasn't mid winter & we may have appreciated the warmth then!
Location was a bit far out, but no problem as tram stop opposite & we did walk into the town once - but then got tram back!
Overall, I would definately reccommend this hotel & go back there if visiting Blackpool again, we had a lovely family weekend with lots of fun at the Pleasure Beach!

Room Tip: Probably best to ask for a room at the front or pay a bit extra for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ella s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Excellent hotel, in a good location. We stayed for a week, the staff and food were second to none. The room was very clean and spacious, very comfortable. Thanks to the very helpful receptionist Suzanne for her local knowledge and advice, it was appreciated. Will definately return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Amelia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Good north shore location,not in the centre.Well maintained(except for the creeky floorboards, but that's part of its charm) with excellent staff especially in the restaurant. The food is outstanding and the service excellent.Trams and buses stop right outside.Ask for a newly renovated room. Rose well above expectations.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 73 in Blackpool
3,432 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
4,337 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#11 of 73 in Blackpool
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Sheraton
Hotel Sheraton
#16 of 73 in Blackpool
492 reviews
3.4 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,281 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doric Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doric Hotel

Address: 48-52 Queens Promenade | Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#9 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#21 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £68 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Doric Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the prestigious Queens Promenade with breath taking views over the Irish sea, The Doric Hotel is fast becoming one of the more popular promenade hotels offering a wide range of facilities and affordable holidays. Renowned for our quality and service in comfortable surroundings making The Doric a fine hospitality experience for all the family.In the last 3 years The Doric has been highly commended by The Blackpool Tourism Awards which picks out the best of Blackpool’s hotel's and its many aspects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Doric Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doric Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing