We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value traditional Blackpool hotel.”
Review of Doric Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doric Hotel
Ranked #9 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Myself, wife and 2 young daughters stayed at the Doric for 2 nights during the October half term this year. The deal was £90 per night for the four of us Dinner bed and breakfast which was reasonable. especially as the Imperial (our normal choice) were wanting to charge us £97 room only and make us fend for ourselves if we wanted a breakfast.
Having read the reviews on tripadvisor we opted for the Doric, which admittedly was a bit of a gamble for us as my wife is a bit of a snob and only usually accompanies me to Blackpool if I book us in the Hilton or the Imperial. Well I told her that her snobbery can take a back seat from now on as our eldest daughter has started school now and we have to find a good deal in the school holidays which isn't always easy.
Thankfully for us the gamble paid off and the Doric was an excellent choice.
Our room was not one of the more modern refurbished room, however it was spotlessly clean and consisted of a double bed and a bunk bed (with ample room for all of us to move around and not feel to squashed). During our stay decorators were changing the dated wallpaper in our corridor so perhaps these room will soon be undergoing refurbishment also.
The hotel is around a 20 minute walk from the north pier but for us this is fine, as it means the wife can get away from some of the riff raff yet there is a tram stop directly outside the hotel. (A tip is to get a day traveller pass from the newsagents just behind the hotel. For only £3.50 per adult you get unlimited travel on the trams for that day.
The food at the hotel is decent British Food, whch is cooked well but is nothing too fancy. The service on an evening is fantastic and the restaurant staff do a cracking job. As soon as you'd finish one course they were clearing the plates away and bringing out the next one, which was perfect for us having young children. None of us had any complaints about the food whatsoever and found it very practical to get back to the hotel and get settled in for the evening without having to plod around Blackpool like drowned rats trying to find somewhere decent to fill a family of four.
Breakfast were also very good quality with the cooked breakfasts not being at all greasy. Whilst the staff on the evening were excellent, unfortunately one morning we got a waitress who must have got out of the wrong side of bed. As I was telling her my order for cooked breakfast she snapped and asked me to just tell her "what I didn't want" as opposed to "what I did want". Maybe she was hungover from the night before. However this shouldn't tarnish the rest of the restaurant staff who were superb.
My daughters loved using the swimming pool which was small but perfect to kill half an hour or so.
The food and drink in the bar areas of the hotel are very reasonably priced with 2 happy hours from around 3-4:30pm and 7:30-9pm.During happy hour a pint of beer is only around £2.40 and a glass of wine £3. Even when it isn't happy hour the drinks aren't much more, so as a result instead of finding somewhere outside of the hotel to drink we opted for the hotel bar.
The hotel only has a handful of car parking spaces, however we always managed to find a space on the side street next to the hotel so this wasn't an issue.
I asked the other half if she would return to the Doric next time we come to Blackpool and she said she would, which says a lot about this hotel. OK she'll probably want me to price up the Hilton and the Imperial, but if they're attempting to charge me nearly £100 and not even give me a breakfast for that price the Doric will win hands down.
It needs a bit of a tidy up in parts of the hotel and a bit of modernisation, but it offers good value, is clean, very child friendly and in a good location. There's even entertainment on an evening but we never experienced this.
Next time we return to Blackpool the Doric will definately be on our short list and I would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darlo672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,252)
There are newer reviews for Doric Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

971 - 977 of 1,252 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2012

Just arrived at the Doric for another great week with the gold club the decorations are super as usual they had a fantastic artist on Friday evening tonight is the gala dinner in which father Christmas arrives good fun for everyone .the staff are brilliant as usual,here are a couple of photos of the dineing room with mark clearing the table and there is one of Linda and Sara the reception staff two. Lovely ladies

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
Thank jacqueline r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Stayed for 2 nights over oct half term..had 2 rooms a double and a family room both were nice plenty big enough,the double was extremely hot and on the morning off our second day reception changed it for another room with out question...lots of hot water in bathrooms and plenty pressure to showers.
The food was great breakfast usual choice of cereal and fruit which you help yourself too plus juice and water, then waitress/waiter service brings tea or coffee and takes orders for breakfast which is brought piping hot you can order what you like and swap items,toast is brought with hot drinks so if you want it with breakfast tell them and its no problem. Evening meals are all served to table starters followed by soup main course,dessert and tea coffee and mints lots of choice the pie was excellent..a tip if you have a vegetarian or child in your group you can order a special meal before 4pm..
The pool area is nice..didn't get to use the outdoor pool but it was oct/nov but that looked a good size a big plus for summer months I'd imagine..
Entertainment was the norm bingo,singers and Kraft Karl for the kids.
Will def be back for a stay at the Doric...

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thehuddstribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

My son and daughter in law met at the doric hotel when they were only 13 years old, we all thought it was aq holiday romance but they carried on meeting up twice a year at the doric hotel. Last year my son proposed to my daughter in law, and they decided in august to get married in october. i worried about how little time we had to prepare, however with a lot of attention and commitment from the management and staff at the hotel our wedding plans went very smooth and without any stress.
we arrived at the doric the day before the wedding i was told you relax leave the worry to us, thank you that was appreciated.
From reception sorting all of the rooms and payments for around 50 of us thank you your stars totally stress free, they were patient and kind and caring.
James restaurant manager what can i say he is a tot6al saint he organised and managed the whole buffet for us, arranged for the room to be decorated, and more he went above and beyond the call of duty thanks james ur a star.
Jason hotel manager he is a true credit to the doric hotel and the Taylor family should be proud to have him as manager as im sure they are, he organised a bus to take the whole wedding party to the festival house. He ensured the smooth running of the whole day and not once did i see him relaxed from ensuring the day went well.
John the general manager allowing us to go to the park house (si9ster hotel to the doric) to take some photos on the beautiful stairs they have.
Every single member of the doric staff went well above and beyond their call of duty to ensure my sons and daughter in laws day was special, i cant thank everyone enough.

After the wedding we stayed at the hoel for a week as usual the food was fantastic, and nothing was a problem to the waiting staff, if i wanted more food i just asked it was there.
facilities are fantastic a jacuzzi to relax in swimming pool, entertainment was excellent, there are far too many people to name them all but every single member of staff at the doric hotel are credit to the hotel, they are all friendly commited andnothing is too much trouble.
special thanks to James, Jason, george,crazy karl, all at reception, mark and adam in restaurant. and chef who always seems to be forgotten your food is wonderful.
hope this helps people to decide to go to the doric and give it a try, well worth the money, total value and a relaxing enjoyable entertaining hotel.
DEFINATELY THE BEST HOTEL IN BLACKPOOL BY FAR .
Jason hotel manager arranged a bus for us all

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Me and my husband stayed at the Doric from 26th -28th Oct for our wedding anniversary. Can I just say that we have stayed here before and the standards are as high as ever. The room we had 81 was a lovely room, it was spotlessly clean, everything you needed and very comfy.
I have to say a huge mention to the dining room staff, especially MITCH, who looked after us for our stay, he was well mannered very polite and a lovely young man. The same restaurant manager of 13 years is still there and as before is very polite and works extremely hard and runs to restaurant to perfection. The food was really lovely, hot and fresh, breakfast was wonderful, coupled with great staff you cant go wrong.
We will be returning to the Doric for sure in the future. Great value for money and all round friendly happy staff. 10/10 Keith & Linda xx

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the back of Blackpool, but you can upgrade to a sea view if you so wish.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kitty3588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Had a short stay here with family in Oct 2012 to see the lights. Overall a great value stay that's well located for a walk through the lights to Bispham.

The children's entertainment is great, well organised and most importantly - free! This is definitely a selling point for the Doric.
Food is simple and plentiful! Lovely surprise to see Manx kippers on the menu for breakfast aswell.
Hotel is clean, infact the bathroom in our room looked brand new.

Yes, as other reviewers have mentioned, the hotel is a little toasty. Didn't stop me having a good night's sleep though.
Something to be mindful of is the lack of parking, however this applies to most hotels in Blackpool though. There's adequate street parking and the hotel are happy to advise of good local free car parking.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank Kungaloosh_boosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

I have visited the doric before in 2010 with my auntie. I visited with her again this year during the october half term. The room was spacious and clean towels provided every day along with coffee and tea in the rooms. The indoor pool was great for the younger children as it only reaches 1m in depth. There was also a turkish steam room which was good. THE HOTEL SAYS IT PROVIDES A SAUNA. IT DOES NOT PROVIDE A SAUNA INSIDE. IT USED TO BUT THEN IT GOT REMOVED. THE ONLY SAUNA IS OUTSIDE AND NOT OPEN WHEN ITS COLD. But overall, a great hotel food great and plenty of it. I will visit again in the future. All the staff work hard to answer all of your needs. One downside is that the hotel can overheat, the restaurant, the bar, the rooms, especially the corridors. They still seen to have the heating on high all the time! Its unbearable heat.

Room Tip: Rooms can get hot even when the radiator is turned off, so ask for a fan at reception at no extra co...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank danielturnbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 73 in Blackpool
3,257 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,100 reviews
3.4 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sheraton
Hotel Sheraton
#22 of 73 in Blackpool
428 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
496 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#12 of 73 in Blackpool
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doric Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doric Hotel

Address: 48-52 Queens Promenade | Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#13 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#21 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £68 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Doric Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the prestigious Queens Promenade with breath taking views over the Irish sea, The Doric Hotel is fast becoming one of the more popular promenade hotels offering a wide range of facilities and affordable holidays. Renowned for our quality and service in comfortable surroundings making The Doric a fine hospitality experience for all the family.In the last 3 years The Doric has been highly commended by The Blackpool Tourism Awards which picks out the best of Blackpool’s hotel's and its many aspects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Doric Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doric Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing