We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“another great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Doric Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doric Hotel
Ranked #11 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“another great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

went sun 7th to fri12th jul what a great week for the weather sent most of our time round the outdoor pool and in the pool we could have been abroad but without the cost Th food was very good the staff as always very friendly as always James gave us a great welcome at meal time The rooms were keep clean every day by very happy ladies on a hole the whole of the staff are happy in there work to make your stay very good The only gripe I have is after the bingo at night the room empties and they missed some good entertainment thank you to the new friends we made ie Steve and Bill hope to met up again at the Doric Pam Jean Gwen

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pamela m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    771
    251
    86
    31
    22
See reviews for
596
192
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

I was travelling with my husband and 20 month old daughter, my mother and my in-laws in mid-July, and were staying on a Dinner, Bed & Breakfast rate.

One of the best things about this hotel is the staff - they're so lovely and welcoming, and will do anything to help you. I really appreciated all their help, and being so accommodating with our little girl - it makes life a lot easier.

I think the hotel is welcoming of all ages and provide various different entertainment options - but we were often in our room by that point cause our wee one had gone to bed, but there were lots of families and older clients in the hotel that seemed to be enjoying themselves at nights.

If you read the reviews, you might see that there seem to be various stages of renovations being done to the rooms. From what I can gather, some are more modern in decor than others, but the room I had was a great room, and there was plenty of space, even with a travel cot in it. I have to say that the room we had didn't have a great view- it looked out onto the inside walls of the hotel and was next to a giant fan- however, I must point out that I chose not to pay for a room upgrade to guarantee a view, because it's not high on my priority list, but if it's important to you, then you should pay a little extra. The fan did get a bit annoying at night, but only because it was so hot that we had to have the windows open, though I don't remember the fan being on much past 11pm.

The location of the hotel was perfect for us. We weren't really there to party, just to have fun in the day time, so we didn't really want to be in the centre of the hustle and bustle, so the quiet location was perfect for us. There is a tram stop just outside that takes you into town - think about 10/15 mins to the pleasure beach direct.

Overall, I thought this hotel was friendly, offered good facilities, clean rooms, and importantly, the food was of a really good standard. I really have no complaints whatsoever.

Thanks to all at the Doric for being so great.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view, then pay the extra for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerri_bee80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

This is the second time at the doric,everywhere spotlessly clean,and a great atmosphere in the hotel.I havent seen as many chiildren in a hotel for years, and it was lovely to see them all enjoying themselves and being entertained in a seperate lounge, to the main entertainment area, on an evening.What happens to everyone once the bingo is over, they missed some very good entertainment.On the saturday evening there was a duo on in the large lounge, but not many guests, but for those that did stay it ended up being a great party night.Thanks to the entertainers and the family from liverpool.We had a great night.The two swimming pools are great.We could not believe our luck at the weather, and the outdoor pool was lovely.The food is very good, and always served with a smile.James does an excellant job, making sure all the guests are happy.The only problem we encountered was one of the lifts was not working, we arrived early friday and it was still out of action on the monday.We didnot see anyone working on this lift all weekend, wether they are waiting for a part l dont know, but quite a lot of the elderly guests found it a real struggle.As it is a maze of corridors if you were at that side of the hotel, and you had to use the other lift.Other than this a great weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pat186411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

Back again for 2nd visit.
our room was fantastic, the food was great as usual.
Cannot find fault with any part of our stay, great improvements to the kids games room and the pool and jacuzzi is a great end to a day of walking the golden mile
Definitely be back :-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Feefee4474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Just home from a 3 night stay we had such a great time The room we were given was not suitable so I went to the reception and Jason after considerable trouble so kindly was able to move us to another room which was wonderful with a sea view The food every morning and evening was so great we hope to come again soon The lift was a bit small for a wheelchair but as my son can stand it was not major problem for us but might pose a problem for others The swimming pools were lovely and clean Th staff were nice all the glasses we used and there were a few were very clean This hotel should be a 3 star t least

Room Tip: Sea view great Small charge but well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peterpan43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

As part of a large family we have been staying in this hotel for over 10 years. The staff are attentive, helpful and fun. The quality of the rooms within the hotel is superb, they are spotless and have added amenities. The swimming pool both inside and outside with the steam room and the sauna are idyllic after a hard days shopping. The food is wonderful,the entertainment is enjoyable and there is something for everyone. Special thanks to James for always going the extra mile and to George and Jason, thank you for the fabulous service always a pleasure to keep coming back.

Room Tip: beautiful views from the top floor sea facing .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Wow a fantastic hotel carnt fault it husband took me for my birthday 1st june 3 nights brake came home and bookeked for end of month carnt waite bin ear loads of times lovely hotel clean and frendly love the new decor food spot on littel hot in rooms hierd a fan so that sorted that out thank you doric for a wow holiday

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lubylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
3.4 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,974 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,028 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,807 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#13 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
3.5 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doric Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doric Hotel

Property: Doric Hotel
Address: 48-52 Queens Promenade | Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#13 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#21 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Doric Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the prestigious Queens Promenade with breath taking views over the Irish sea, The Doric Hotel is fast becoming one of the more popular promenade hotels offering a wide range of facilities and affordable holidays. Renowned for our quality and service in comfortable surroundings making The Doric a fine hospitality experience for all the family.In the last 3 years The Doric has been highly commended by The Blackpool Tourism Awards which picks out the best of Blackpool’s hotel's and its many aspects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Doric Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doric Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing