We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“READ THIS AND SAVE MONEY with a stay at The Doric”
Review of Doric Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doric Hotel
Ranked #9 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“READ THIS AND SAVE MONEY with a stay at The Doric”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

OK, let’s start with the Doric itself. It’s not a nice as the Hilton inside, and some bits look a bit tired but generally it is all OK. The bar is just a bit expensive but not outrageous.

The whole place gets VERY warm and does not have the best air-con or ventilation; there is no air con that I could see in the rooms. This would mean it is a bit of a sun trap in the winter…so well worth a trip then as it will be like a lovely warm greenhouse!!

The staff were all quite charming and yet good fun and George the Bingo caller was a bit of a character. The evening “turns” were really what one would expect for this kind of establishment…..you would not rush out to see them again but all were inoffensive.

Most customers are in the “senior set” but there were some there with young children, about 75% seniors I would say.

We had half board and the breakfast was fine, usual stuff, not loads of it but enough…oh and the sausages were pretty basic, but order without them and sometimes you get two bits of bacon.

The evening meals ranged from the…oh dear to the wow, not at all bad. Given the spread of ages there is nothing exotic on the menu and some of the starters clearly come out of a tin, but in general the meals were fine. The Ivy in London it is not!

The hotel is right by the [Uncle Tom’s] Cabin bus and tram stops.

HOW TO SAVE MONEY

DO NOT BOOK ONLINE, phone the hotel, if you book online you only get a B & B option but phone up and you can ask about half board, and it is not a lot more. We paid £50 extra for a sea view and although I did not see rooms without it it was a nice view, even if the salt in the air made the windows a bit dirty, we had room 110 and it was right on one end on the right in the “tower” look, this room was quite small and with all the windows and the sun it got hot and stuffy. Side “sea views” rooms could be bigger….but some sleep 4 (e.g. 112 where the kids were). Our room only had space for only one bedside table, and the TV was a side view from the bed, so all in negative!

GET FREE WI FI

The hotel charge £7.50 per day for Wi Fi, here is how you get it for free. Go to the bar nearest the pub, Uncle Tom’s Cabin, next door. Look for a wireless network called “The Cloud”. Go through the registration process, which is free, and sponsored by Carling, and hey presto free Internet, and I have had no junk mail off it (as I said no to it when I signed up) I could also get it in room 110…one advantage of the smaller room I guess!

SAVE ON PUBLIC TRANSPORT

Getting to town by tram is expensive, £4 as I recall, so £8 return, and with two or three of you it soon mounts up. If you are not worried about getting anywhere in too much of a rush use the Number 12 bus service between St Annes and Cleveleys which stops just beyond the pub next door. They claim to run every 15 mins, which is not always the case, but are very reasonably priced, especially if you do as we did and get the “weekly saver” ticket. For two adults and two kids it was only £12 ride all you like for a week!! The buses are NEVER packed (unlike the trams) and some are even open topped or old routemasters. Go to the classicbus .org web site and look for details. Be warned this might not be a service that runs every year but did in 2013.

Would I stay at the Doric again? ......Yes, I think I would.

Room Tip: Sea view could be worth it, get one on the right as you look at it and you MIGHT be able to get free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank watfordpip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    779
    256
    88
    31
    22
See reviews for
608
194
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Very disappointing, It was like a club hall you had to know what it offered. Rushed from your dinner to set up tables, never advised when games started. Reception area crammed under stairs.You had to be a regular to know what was going on.Lift out of order.We are two pensioners who have travelled the world, but would never recommend the Doric hotel to anyone.Tom from Ireland.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eily c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

we returned to the Doric after several previous visits, we got off to a bad start having asked for a room on lower floor and near to the lift, we were allocated rooms on the 4th floor, when I queried this was assured at least you are near the lift(were in fact well away from the lift, we got to the room walked in found every step we took the floor boards creaked, not an ideal situation when one has to get up in the night quite often, after unpacking went for a shower a pointless exercise as the water pressure was so poor, also found the TV channels were not working correctly, went to reception to ask for room change the duty manager said was not possible as hotel was full, but would refer matters to the proprietor, as nothing had changed the next day again went to reception to check progress, the paper with original complaints/observations was found, was informed "matter referred to proprietor " when I asked what this meant was told they would make a decision if engineer could be called? was none to pleased with this answer, TV was repaired later in day somebody came 3 days later to check the shower, after u had queried lack of response to 1st mention of lack of pressure, was in room when chap came to look at shower he informed me shower head was to big!! he replaced it with a smaller head, which did nothing to improve pressure, the service in the dining room was not up the standard of previous visits ?reduction in staffing, the food we found was excellent good choice and well presented, our rooms we found to be dated though clean, had we not had our Grandchildren with us would have returned home on day one, now we have decided will never visit again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sailor1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Arrived at the Doric for a short stay 2nd Aug. The room we were allocated was very small. We asked Sarah the receptionist if there was another room we could move to. We were given the keys to a much larger room, well done the Doric!! Our room was spotless. The public areas within the Hotel were very comfortable and clean. We booked B&B and evening meal, and the food was lovely. The staff in the restaurant were excellent, especially Dawn. She always has a smile for everyone!Our stay at the Doric was very pleasant, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John-Pat-Jessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

my famjly and i stayed at
the doric on 29th august for 4 nights half board, food was very good,rooms cleaned ever day, but rather hot, the outside pool was like being in spain, we had good weather though. the kids entertaiment was really good, adult entertainment not bad except for the comedian who was on thursday ni ight he was rubbish told old and tacky jokes. we had a really good time staff all exellent would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: take a fan
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank valerie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The service provided by the staff at this hotel is excellent. They could not have been any nicer and were always pleasant and helpful. The room I had was clean and comfortable and did not have any problems. Meals provided at breakfast and dinner were perfect with no problems, kind staff and well sized portions. Entertainment provided at night was good for both kids and adults and the hotel also had great facilities. All in all, great value for money and definently worth it!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JModulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

we stayed at the doric from july 29th to 2nd aug, there was a party of 9 ranging from 2 to 74. we ad a great time, very welcoming staff, the rooms were massive and well maintained, just a little hot so if you have a fan, take it. the pool area outside was like being in spain we were lucky to get the weather, the pool inside was ok but at 3ft, was child friendly but maybe not for adult swim. the restaurant was 4 star, cudnt do enough, even let us take tray of food up if children were asleep, choice of food good, never had long to wait and was able to open bar tab which saved time, we cant wait to go back hopefully in october. we would recommend a weekly tram, bus ticket we bought from paypoint for 13.50 each was well worth it with location being up north.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank johnc2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
3.4 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,000 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,058 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,851 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#13 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
3.5 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doric Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doric Hotel

Property: Doric Hotel
Address: 48-52 Queens Promenade | Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#13 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#21 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Doric Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the prestigious Queens Promenade with breath taking views over the Irish sea, The Doric Hotel is fast becoming one of the more popular promenade hotels offering a wide range of facilities and affordable holidays. Renowned for our quality and service in comfortable surroundings making The Doric a fine hospitality experience for all the family.In the last 3 years The Doric has been highly commended by The Blackpool Tourism Awards which picks out the best of Blackpool’s hotel's and its many aspects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Doric Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doric Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing