We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surely the best hotel in Blackpool in its category”
Review of Doric Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doric Hotel
Ranked #9 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Surely the best hotel in Blackpool in its category”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Came as a six-day holiday by coach and was impressed that the tripadvisor ratings are displayed for all to see.

The room was quiet and accessible by lift, as requested.
HOWEVER, the television was old with a small CRT screen and had very limited channels. NEVERTHELESS, IT WAS IN COLOUR ! Nowadays I expect the full range of digital channels, especially BBC News (Channel 80) on a flat screen display.

The dining room and food were excellent, with good choices for all meals.
The staff were very efficient and quick, and seemed to have unbeatable memories for the combinations ordered. All the staff were very friendly and helpful.... Especially GEORGE, who was always around and added an extra level of good customer satisfaction.

The entertainment was not to my taste and seemed to be very hit and miss regarding timings. A wider range of performing style would be welcomed by me.

The hotel is well-served by local transport, with tram and bus stops being situated directly opposite.

This is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel is probably quieter, but keep away from lifts and kitchen. However, you will t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lk2010a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    798
    258
    90
    31
    22
See reviews for
621
199
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Have been coming here for the past 7 years and I honestly wouldn't go anywhere else. The food is fantastic and the staff in both bar and restaurant bend over backwards to help. The free wifi now is also a bonus. Entertainment for kids was fantastic and hotel decorated for a Halloween party. My only complaint is the price. I know it's the illuminations and rooms are limited but the price is very expensive especially when a family said they got a last minute deal and paid half what we did!!! They need to offer a loyalty bonus to regular guests.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Morganb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

hotel a has a tiny car park but street parking is permitted and free, reception is small and cramped, rooms need updating, food was lovely and james and his team are brilliant 'thankyou', bar prices are steep, bar areas are adequate and comfy. pool and spa are very nice and clean, although whats with that fire exit door onto street left open all day for anyone to walk in? evenng entertainment was awful :/ some couple singing will-i-am cabiret style 'cringe!' and it got no better!! all the makings of a top class hotel just not there yet......

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank di1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Please ask for a refurbished room when you book. We we're a party of 8- 6 adults 2 children. We booked late and they only had 3 rooms left which was fine. However the family room we were given was at the back of the hotel and was very very dated very hot and very noisey. We could here the kitchen pots etc. Staff woke us up with all the noise at 630am every morning!! The room was so hot we had to ask reception to take the child lock off the window. The room had wallpaper peeling off the walls leaking shower leaking window very dated furniture. We have stayed at this hotel several times and it is the worst room we have ever stayed in!

My parents stayed in a suite 1st floor sea view and they were very impressed the room was large and nicely decorated. The other room we had was a twin again very dated very hot and window wouldn't open.

All bar and restaurant staff were fantasic especially James. James is a credit to the hotel and the hotel would not be the same without him. George the porter is excellent.

After our 1st night stay I went to reception to complain about the room heat noise etc and the receptionist was very unhelpful the only comment she said - there's only rooms left at the back off the hotel same as where you are now!!

Food was excellent as always good value for money cant complain. Breakfast was great just ask for whatever you would like the staff are vey accommodating.

The pool and pool area need a good refurb and clean.

Good location nice and quite 20 mins walk to centre of Blackpool.

This hotel caters for all ages. We will return but will book early for a refurbished room.

At check out I raised all my complaints to a lovely lady at reception & she got the assistant manager who apologised and was very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank But25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

i stayed here for 5 days and have to say was impressed with the hotel itself and cannot fault the staff the only thing's i didn't like was at breakfast its not self service and you literally get one small sausage i egg and 1 bacon and then each day they give one extra item i.e hash brown or mushrooms. The entertainment wasn't very good its all geared up to the old pensioners playing 50's an 60;s and the bar prices are ridiculous they were well overpriced a coke is actually more expensive then lager ! and at 14.50 for a carafe of wine is far to much money i only paid 9 pd a bottle at a large attraction. apart from ripping you off with bar prices this is an ok hotel but i wouldn't stay there again x

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daftyduck81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

For us the hotel had two halves!
To explain - our room was very dated and quite uninspiring, an old small TV and a well worn matress (our friends room was much better having clearly been recently upgraded, so I guess ours was due for the same treatment sometime soon!).
The dowstairs bar, dinning room, dance floor and informal seating area were all very good but the reception area was so cramped as were the lifts which served all floors. Whilst we didn't use them, there are both indoor and outdoor (summer) swimming pools along with a spa bath and pool table.
The best part for us was in the dinning room - from the brilliant full English breakfast to the evening meal - coupled with excellent service from a bright cheerful team of young people who were happy to serve and always with smiles on their faces. We were on a dance weekend and James ensured that our evening meal was available early to fit the timings - a big thanks for that.
There is a small car parking space but otherwise there are many on street free parking spaces both out front and on the side road. The tram stops right opposite the hotel - £2.30 to travel the 11 miles from one end to the other - now that is a sightseeing bargain not to be missed.
We will be back next year - its that good for the money

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernierug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

This has now been my fifth year at the Doric and we would never go anywhere else! It is an absolute pleasure to stay there! Lovely staff especially James, George and Dawn! A great stop and as the saying goes "Anything is possible in blackpool"!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank TayJ182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
3.4 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
3,041 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 70 in Blackpool
3,089 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
451 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#13 of 70 in Blackpool
739 reviews
3.5 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doric Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doric Hotel

Property: Doric Hotel
Address: 48-52 Queens Promenade | Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#13 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#21 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Doric Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the prestigious Queens Promenade with breath taking views over the Irish sea, The Doric Hotel is fast becoming one of the more popular promenade hotels offering a wide range of facilities and affordable holidays. Renowned for our quality and service in comfortable surroundings making The Doric a fine hospitality experience for all the family.In the last 3 years The Doric has been highly commended by The Blackpool Tourism Awards which picks out the best of Blackpool’s hotel's and its many aspects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Doric Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doric Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing