We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dancing weekend stay”
Review of Doric Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Doric Hotel
Ranked #9 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The doric staff were very accommodating and would do anything possible to make your stay as pleasant as possible. The rooms were exceptionally clean and tidy. The food was lovely with the professional and friendly staff providing a very good service. All in all a very nice stay and I hope to stay there again next year.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Heidi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

822 - 828 of 1,305 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

Having stayed at this Hotel for the last 13 years I have never yet had reason to complain. You enter a very friendly reception and are greeted with a smile when you book in. There is a porter to assist you if required. In the bar you will find helpful and friendly staff who are only too happy to assist you with your purchases to a table. In the dining room you will be greeted by James who is only to happy along with his excellent staff to give you first class service, and the food which the chefs prepare is excellent, well presented and well served. Nothing is too much trouble. Your room is clean, tidy and well presented with housekeeping calling each day to service the room and clean towels. Again I cannot praise this hotel enough, its good value for money and service. I can only think whoever posted a fragrant and vindictive report on this website about this hotel, is a complete and utter liar, small minded and immature. If you want a good hotel to stay in. You cannot find anything better.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

On arrival at The Doric the staff were very helpful. We stayed there for a weekend with a group for a dancing competition. The food was lovely and the waiters were very efficient. The room was clean with excellent facilities. Good value for money. The hotel is right on the seafront with a tram stop just outside for access to the piers and pleasure beach.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Having just returned from a 14th visit to the great Doric hotel I was dismayed to read somebody complaining so veremently. As I have stated above I have stayed at the Doric once a year for the last 14 years whilst attending a dance competition and have NEVER encountered any of the problems stated, the bed linen has always been pristine and the rooms cleaned throughly with a shower that works very efficently, and I don't know anybody that would not rather have somewhere to stay that is to warm rather than too cold!!. As for the restaurant the food at all meal times is of a very high standard and served professionally by friendly staff who cant do enough for you, especially James (the restaurant manager) who always remembers us, quite an achievement when you consider how many people must pass through the hotel in a year!!!
I would recommend this hotel to anybody that was wanting a nice, family friendly place stay in Blackpool, and we are looking forward to our TWO visits there next year.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sparky68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

A hotel that cant be more helpful if they tried. Very recently took a party of over 100 for a dance weekend, Nothing was too much trouble - early breakfasts , rooms with showers, room with baths, bar food included if guests missed dinner due to the event we were attending. A late evening hot food buffet was even included as 90% missed dinner. Have been using this hotel for many years. Of course there are problems with some guests, but the hotel always try and succeed in sorting them out. That's people for you . Have been attending festivals in Blackpool for the past 30 years and it will be hard for you to find a better family run hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NPM60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Just back from a weekend dancing in Blackpool and our dance teacher booked us into the Doric Hotel. At last - a decent hotel in Blackpool - we were beginning to think they didn't exist! The Doric is clean with good sized bedrooms, friendly staff and excellent food. We had breakfast and dinner and both were excellent with good portions and tasty food. Well done to the staff who were really friendly and made us feel like family. We will definitely go there again. Excellent value for money. Its not far from the centre - only 5 stops on the tram which costs only £1.50 or you can buy a pass which is even cheaper

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 8bel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We are a family of 2 adults 1 child & 1 baby. We stay at the Doric overnight regularly just to get out of the house at weekends and Blackpool has everything a kid could want. The actual hotel is about a twenty min walk to the centre but the newly refurbished tram lines are the best way to travel instead of your car as parking is always packed in the centre and can be quite expensive. It's the perfect distance to be near the attractions if you want them but far enough not to hear the noise and hustle and bustle. The rooms could do with updating but it doesn't bother me that much as we're not in it much, only to sleep, but if you like the look of the nice rooms on the website you have to ask for a refurbished room whilst booking but they do get booked up well in advance as the older generation do prefer this hotel and take months vacations here, so it's not your party hotel but perfect for families. They had karaoke on at night last time which was funny. The pool ares cannot be faulted, the indoors is very warm which is perfect for my disabled son. The outdoors when open in summer is cooler and like being abroad by a pool just don't look up and see the not so nice back of the hotel and kitchen. The meal at night is a bargain, we pay £90 for B&B and the 5 course meal....how do they do it for that it's delicious and plentiful and they do a kids menu. They do gave a small games room too but never been in as the bountiful amusements arcades in the centre is enough. Excellent value for money the staff are very attentive and look after you well.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room if your looking for a room pictured on there website otherwise it will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kayley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 73 in Blackpool
3,429 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
4,334 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#11 of 73 in Blackpool
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Sheraton
Hotel Sheraton
#17 of 73 in Blackpool
492 reviews
3.4 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,280 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doric Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doric Hotel

Address: 48-52 Queens Promenade | Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#9 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#21 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £66 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Doric Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the prestigious Queens Promenade with breath taking views over the Irish sea, The Doric Hotel is fast becoming one of the more popular promenade hotels offering a wide range of facilities and affordable holidays. Renowned for our quality and service in comfortable surroundings making The Doric a fine hospitality experience for all the family.In the last 3 years The Doric has been highly commended by The Blackpool Tourism Awards which picks out the best of Blackpool’s hotel's and its many aspects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Doric Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doric Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing