We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Doric Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doric Hotel
Ranked #10 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This is a super hotel in a great location for all that Blackpool has to offer. Lovely sea views but not close to noisy nightlife. The staff are ever so helpful and friendly and the hotel's facilities are very good. Our room was spacious and very clean and we enjoyed a good nights sleep. The food was delicious and generous proportions. Thanks for a very enjoyable stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Artfulbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    779
    256
    89
    31
    22
See reviews for
609
194
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
BLACKPOOL
Level Contributor
190 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I've arranged 3 fund-raising lunches a year at The Doric for over 20 years, the last one being on the 29th June. As always, the food was excellent and the staff are very helpful, efficient and friendly. The hotel is situated on the Promenade with great views. We couldn't ask for anything more.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GILL C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights in may with my son and other members of my family. A great time was had by all of us, food was lovely rooms were comfortable and plenty of pillows and sea view. This hotel is in the right spot no noisy centre and lovely sea view from the lounge, very tasty cocktails from the bar. We will definately return for another break next year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mazbam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntly, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Just home from a 4 nights break dbb at the doric. Absolutely brilliant the food was excellent every night good portions & good quality, service was very quick and friendly . We used the outdoor pool it's fab and the indoor pool& jacuzzi & sauna all were brill. Room was great although quite hot n stuffy but if you leave the windows open its fine . This is a great hotel and such a brilliant price for the quality of food and facilities on offer. Best for families and mature couples simply because its not in the centre of all the action. Highly recommend:-)

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Overall, myself and my two children (11 & 16) enjoyed our visit to The Doric. It was a very reasonable price, and very good value for your money.
The staff were very facilitating when I requested a modern room prior to my stay. Not only were they obliging but we were also upgraded to a larger family room upon our arrival.
The outside pool was particularly good for a hot summer afternoon; it was unfortunate we weren't there to stay longer to try the indoor pool and steam room too!
The breakfasts were good, however there were particular 'chef options' which were only made available on certain days. This did mean we were unfortunately left with black pudding on our second morning.. yuck! This being said, the service at The Doric cannot be faulted. James, in the restaurant (as many other reviewers have said) needs a particular mention. He is an absolute treasure to this hotel and is extremely welcoming.
Other comments include a fabulous location: quiet, on the promenade and directly in front of a tram stop; pillows a tad hard but room was spotless; lack of parking is a shame as side streets became very busy very fast.

Room Tip: Sea front rooms well worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TraceyB187048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here start of July 2014, For a long weekend with my boyfriend.

Pros -

Has a swimming pool sauna
Friendly staff - Nicky & helen are the ones that stick out the most for being the most welcoming and friendly these ladies were on the bar when we were there.
Rooms were kept clean and tidy ( Although i found a mark on the valance sheet that was not made by me on the Friday and was still there on the Sunday night so they obviously don't change the sheets).
Nice lounge bar area
Had bingo on every night
Bathrooms were clean

Cons -

Its is a good walk away from the main attractions/peirs - its about a 20/30 min walk from the tower
The room i was in number 58 was to hot, Could do with air con and be decorated again as it has a very old feeling to it.
Lifts are very small
The menu for the bar is very limited
Halls and rooms were very small


I would say that this hotel is most suited for elderly people and families,
I would not stay here again as i like to be near the piers and attractions i felt like this hotel was out the way of the night life. Although through no other reason and i would recommend it to my family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We came to Blackpool for 5 nights and not knowing anywhere to stay we picked the Doric. What a fab hotel such good value for money. The staff were very friendly esp the resturant manager. Highly recommended this hotel. Great for kids as well.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KiraRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
3.4 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,007 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,062 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,854 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#13 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
3.5 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doric Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doric Hotel

Property: Doric Hotel
Address: 48-52 Queens Promenade | Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#13 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#21 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Doric Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the prestigious Queens Promenade with breath taking views over the Irish sea, The Doric Hotel is fast becoming one of the more popular promenade hotels offering a wide range of facilities and affordable holidays. Renowned for our quality and service in comfortable surroundings making The Doric a fine hospitality experience for all the family.In the last 3 years The Doric has been highly commended by The Blackpool Tourism Awards which picks out the best of Blackpool’s hotel's and its many aspects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Doric Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doric Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing