We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”
Review of Doric Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doric Hotel
Ranked #9 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Port Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great hotel”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed at hotel last week with my husband son and grandson had a great time outdoor pool was great I felt as if I was in Spain staff were all lovely meals were lovely with. a good choice would defineatly stay again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Isabell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    798
    258
    90
    31
    22
See reviews for
621
199
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights from 19th - 23rd July with my husband and 5 year old son. We made the booking due to the positive feedback on trip advisor and I must say, we were not disappointed! We had 2 minor concerns with our room and were immediately changed to a spacious suite. The staff were helpful and accommodating. My son really enjoyed the pools and the children's entertainment, so much so that he did not want to leave! We have booked again for October and are looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had not visited the Doric Hotel before so we relied on the reviews. They were mostly excellent.. The room we were given did not come up to standard and we spent a very uncomfortable night. We spoke to Jason the Manager with our complaint and he quickly sorted out another room which was very good. The food is fantastic also the waiter service. The Hotel is very clean. The entertainment is OK but not varied enough. There were a lot of children but all well behaved so that was not a problem and entertainment was in a separate room in the evening. We would certainly recommend this hotel and look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are liable to hear noise from the entertainment but this stops at 11.00. Do not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorothy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

reported to manager £40 stolen out of wife's handbag in locked hotel room only person to have been in while we were out was the maid manager's answer we will look in to it never heard anything again please beware.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
13 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Just back from a Blackpool promotions 5 day holiday staying at the Doric, all i can say is we have had a fantastic time, we had room 50 which could have had a more updated fresher decor but sufficient for our needs with the added bonus of a bath.
Food quality and choice is excellent and plenty of it too, all staff at bar,reception and dinner/breakfast were very friendly and helpful. Indoor pool was great not too cold. Tram stop directly outside so no hassle travel.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone for value for money and definitely hope to be back in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dorsetlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Well what can I say, the Doric is great for us, it suits all our needs. We take our grandchildren for 2 nights and we all love it.
Our room this year was the top floor and we had 2 double beds and bunk beds for the 4 of us, the view was a side sea view and we could see the tower. Rooms are clean and nicely decorated, towels are clean and fresh.
The food is fab as always, and as usual James is there to welcome you, nothing is too much for the staff, our kids are a bit of fussy eaters they don't like chips..lol...so each night they had things from the kids meal with rice. Each night for dessert they made our kids knickerbocker glories, we just asked for them. Breakfast is lovely and anything you need just ask for, we asked for extra bacon and sausage and they brought loads.
This year is the added bonus of cocktails, and under £4 each there well worth it. our kids love this hotel for the evening entertainment, and the pool, they love the indoor pool and Jacuzzi, and spend hours in this.
but this year we had the weather and we ventured to the outdoor pool, which is spotless, with a few sunbeds, the kids loved it, there's a bell by the door, to ring the bar and they will bring your drinks over to you. Fab if you get the weather.
Evening entertainment we just stay in the kids room, basically it's just kids dancing, and doing karaoke, with a few games thrown in, but they love it.
There's a nice lounge to sit and watch people go by, at 8.30pm there is bingo before the adult singer.

The location is great, easy parking, and only a 30 min walk into blackpool, or get the tram from over the road.

Already looking forward to our visit next year.

The kids can't wait as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ClaireH195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnoldswick
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I am writing this on our last day after a weeks stay. I have brought my two young daughters and we have had a fantastic time. The weather has been great so we have taken full advantage of the outdoor pool, again which is fantastic and has waiter service. The entertainment for the kids is great, disco and something different every night. The food is great and you get a good choice to choose from. Also I must add the cocktails are awesome :-) we will defo be bk. Such a fantastic time x

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K8ty88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
3.4 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
3,042 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 70 in Blackpool
3,092 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
452 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#13 of 70 in Blackpool
741 reviews
3.5 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doric Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doric Hotel

Property: Doric Hotel
Address: 48-52 Queens Promenade | Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#13 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#21 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Doric Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the prestigious Queens Promenade with breath taking views over the Irish sea, The Doric Hotel is fast becoming one of the more popular promenade hotels offering a wide range of facilities and affordable holidays. Renowned for our quality and service in comfortable surroundings making The Doric a fine hospitality experience for all the family.In the last 3 years The Doric has been highly commended by The Blackpool Tourism Awards which picks out the best of Blackpool’s hotel's and its many aspects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Doric Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doric Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing