We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Doric Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Alumhurst Hotel(Blackpool)
US$80
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Sheraton(Blackpool)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$167
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Clifton Court Hotel(Blackpool)(Great Value!)
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park House Hotel(Blackpool)
US$123
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$133
ibis Styles
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$122
US$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,319)
Filter reviews
1,319 results
Traveller rating
874
283
102
35
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
874
283
102
35
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor poolkrazy karlchildren's entertainertram stopkids entertainmentsteam roomgames roomsea viewrestaurant staffnext yearevening mealfamily hotelmeal timesfood was lovelygreat holidayduty managernothing is too much trouble
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
695 - 700 of 1,319 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Your room was pretty small it had nearly everything our tea coffee buscuits. Breakfast good and evening meal good but the 2 bad things are no wifi in the room and entertainment bad rubbish singer stayed 2 nights.

they had a indoor and outdoor heated pool that was good so you can have a swim free good blackpool break.

Room Tip: The corner room are larger and ask for the prom view for bit extra charge
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank luke1924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Well we have been going to the Doric for over 20 years but haven't been back for around 5 years, and we can honestly say we wernt disappointed , the restaurant staff were AMAZING, James, was extremely helpful, Danny and Lisa Marie we so obliging and couldn't have been any more pleasant , the food for the whole seven days was fantastic, the evenings entertainment was great for both Adults and kids, both the indoor and outdoor pools were great no matter what the weather was like, overall we will defiantly not be leaving it another five years, fantastic work from housekeeping, bar staff, restaurant, and entertainment xx thank you all the Clarke family Julie , Keith And Lilly xx

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We returned 1 week ago from our yearly 7 night stay at the Doric. Wasn't going to post a review this time as we have said everything before on previous reviews but have to say everything was perfect as usual. Every member of staff are brilliant and a credit to the hotel, as virtually everyone that posts says, nothing is to much trouble for them, they work so hard to try and make everyone's stay a good one and 99% of customers would agree. This hotel is perfect in every way for a 2 star (should be a 3) rooms, bars, swimming pools (indoor and outside), public areas etc are Spotlessly clean and maintained that way throughout your stay. Food, breakfast, dinner, bar snacks cannot be faulted. Adult entertainment on every night, not our cup of tea but a lot of people enjoy it, that is OUR problem though, you can't please everyone (were not that selfish). Plenty of other bars and rooms to sit in. Children's entertainment is brilliant. Tram stops, bus stops and taxi rank just outside the hotel. Cant fault this hotel, try it you will not be disappointed for what you pay. Sorry this is going to be long winded but I must take issue with a couple of recent reviewers and hope other reviewer's will do the same. One reviewer stated that the hotel was full of old aged pensioners, (sorry human beings). Never found this before, always found a great mix of people what ever age but if it is that way we would sooner sit in their company than yours. You sound a real arrogant self centered person, me me me as I bet It goes with everything. As for Iain c posted 16th of august. Must be the most pathetic, bigoted, biased, review I have ever read. Noticed it was his first review. Certain there are some people out there just post to damage the reputation of the staff and the hotel. Couldn't swing a goldfish in the indoor pool (just look at the photos) meant for family's me thinks. Not bad for a Blackpool hotel. 1940s tv. I don't think so. We've just left a room with a 36" (i think) flat screen wall mounted unit. Oh and a whirlpool jaccussi bath (our granddaughter loved it). To people looking to book this hotel, just look at the reviews and go by them. Sorry I have been so long winded but felt I had to defend the staff and owners of this establishment. See you all again at the end of October. Waiting for any comebacks, couldn't give monkeys ha ha, we know best. Ann & steve.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Went back 10th August for sixth time. After staying at approximately 20 other hotels in Blackpool over the last few years, we have found one that we are happy to go back to time and again. The staff are brilliant, so friendly and helpful, the food is good honest fare and plenty of it, the rooms are clean and comfortable and we had a brand new television too. The restaurant staff are the best I have ever come across in all the hotels I have ever stayed in and we will be back again later in the year. We don't use the pool but it looks a decent size for a hotel contrary to one or two opinions in other reviews. Bar prices are about average for Blackpool hotels and it is very handy for trams and buses if needed.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rastus4141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Just spent two nights at The Doric, Blackpool on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis.

We booked this hotel based on the Trip Advisor reviews and had a good experience except for one important area- sleep!

Rooms
We had a family room (115) and a double (48). The rooms were clean and reasonably appointed.

Room 115 had a double and single bed, and there was plenty of storage for the three of us with a wardrobe, chest of drawers and side tables. There were also extra pillows and bedding in the wardrobe. The bathroom had a powerful shower over the bath.

Room 48 had a double bed, plenty of storage and a modern bathroom.

Both rooms were clean. Room 115 had a side sea view.

Amenities in the room were fine. There was a kettle, tea bags and coffee sachets, milk cartons and a packet of biscuits per person.

Beds
The double bed in room 48 was comfortable and my mother had a good nights sleep each night.

The single bed in room 115 was adequate, but the double bed was awful - you could see and, unfortunately for us, feel the springs through the mattress. It was impossible to get comfortable and so we had no sleep for the first night. I explained the situation to the lady on reception and asked if the mattress could be changed or a topper put on. Her response was, 'I'll ask the management', but I got the distinct impression that nothing would be done. That impression was correct, and so a second very uncomfortable night was spent gaining very little sleep.

Food
Each room was assigned its own table in the dining room, so we knew where we were sitting for breakfast and dinner. We liked this as there was no waiting in line while tables were found.

Dinner each night was a four course menu with a choice of starters, a soup course, a choice of main meals, choice of desserts or cheese, then tea or coffee. Our first dinner was great, with some peppery mushrooms and melon with raspberry coulis as options. The spicy pumpkin soup was a hit with all four of us. For our mains our choices included hake in a sauce, chicken breast with a gluten free gravy and a lasagne with garlic bread. For desserts we had a caramel apple pie or ice cream. We finished with coffees and teas. All in all we were very happy with the meal - and very full! For our second nights dinner the menu options were all different. We had eaten lunch out so were not overly hungry. We skipped the starters. The tomato soup we had got mixed reviews - one son loved it and one hated it! We all chose the same main course (lamb with gravy) and we were all a little disappointed in this. The strawberries and ice cream for dessert was enjoyed by all.

Breakfast was good, with a choice of cereals, yogurts, fresh and stewed fruits and fruit juices from a small buffet area. This got a little messy towards the end of breakfast serving time. Hot food was ordered from your waiter with a choice of the usual bacon, sausages, eggs cooked as you wanted, beans and tomato. There was also a chefs special item which was different each day (for example mushrooms or black pudding). You could also have just poached or boiled eggs, or kippers. Overall we were happy with the breakfast, with plenty of hot toast also available.

Special diets
Two of our party were on gluten free diets. The hotel were happy to accommodate. James in the dining room was aware of our needs, and when we arrived for our first dinner he greeted us and asked the boys what they liked from the menu and adapted it to be gluten free. The hotel had a few guests who were staying at the same time as us who were also on gluten free diets. It was great that there were options available and James made the boys feel really welcome and that nothing was too much trouble.

Please note though that whilst the hotel has dedicated fryers and toasters for gluten free guests (which is important) you do have to bring your own gluten free bread with you if you want toast or sandwiches. I was surprised at this as gluten free bread is readily available and you are asked to specify dietary requirements when you book.

Entertainment
Both nights we were there had bingo (good fun with real money prizes!!), raffles and live duos or bands. There was also a separate room with children's entertainment. We thought that this was great added value. There was a small, well stocked bar, and George and the rest of bar and entertainment team were lovely.

Parking
There is limited parking at the hotel and if you park in the hotels side car park you will be asked to leave your keys with the hotel so that they can move your car if you are blocking someone else in.

Service
Overall I must say that the majority of staff at this hotel are first rate. A special mention goes to James and to George, who went out of their way to help and make us feel welcome.

My only problem was the bed and I was really disappointed that they did nothing to change, or improve, the mattress when I first requested it. Two nights without sleep took the shine off this break and I just wanted to get home after the second night as I was exhausted. Despite the other very positive points, the fact the hotel didn't rectify a significant problem would make it highly unlikely that we would rebook this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UKDisneyDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews