We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So disgusting we checked out early!”
Review of Doric Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doric Hotel
Ranked #9 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“So disgusting we checked out early!”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

This hotel had such fantastic reviews, We were expecting great things. It was the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. Our tiny, dark, dirty room overlooked the bins and pigeons - one tried to fly in at 5am one morning! The entertainment downstairs was so loud up to midnight that our children couldn't sleep. People smoked outside our bedroom and the whole hotel stunk of cigarettes. The reception manager, Jack, called our room at 10.30pm to discuss an issue with us. When we asked him to wait until the morning he was rude and aggressive. The only good thing was that the other manager, Jason, was very polite and helpful in discussing our issues. In the end, we just left a day early and went home. It was such a relief to sleep in our own house. Never again!

Room Tip: Don't stay there!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank nigel30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaylorGroup, Owner at Doric Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Ordinarily we don’t comment on Trip Advisor reviews. We respect all of our guest opinions and appreciate all positive comments. However, due to the particularly malicious and fictitious nature of this review we felt it appropriate to respond.

This customer booked a package which included two adults and one free child. They proceeded to bring 3 additional children with them which we were not immediately aware of. They brought all 4 children to breakfast the following morning which, combined with a report from a housekeeper that they had 3 of the children sleeping on the bedroom floor in sleeping bags, alerted us to the fact that they had 6 family members in a room only suitable for 3 people. At this point Jack, the duty manager contacted them to offer a larger family room as we did not feel that it was appropriate that 3 small children were sleeping on the floor. The guest was extremely aggressive and refused this offer as he did not want to pay for all of the children that he had brought with him.

This guest’s claim that people were smoking inside the hotel is wholly untrue, as is his claim that our duty manager was aggressive to him. Jack is a valued member of staff who tried to be as accommodating as possible despite this guest’s unreasonable behaviour.
We will not be held to ransom with threats of false trip advisor reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    812
    262
    90
    31
    22
See reviews for
636
202
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Traveled with blackpool promotions, rooms were comfortable ,good entertainment for kids food average, the swimming pools were good. Service in the dining room was a bit slow not keen on standard of food.

Room Tip: Paid for a sea view which was on the corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Just spent a long bank holiday weekend at the Doric.
We were part of a group of 30+ people from Manchester.
All the staff were friendly and hard working ,and the food was excellent.
My only small concern was the entertainment. It was good for 2 of the
3 nights we stayed(hence the title) and it's a shame as this is truly the only
critism I can make about an otherwise wonderful experience.
Come on Doric,sort out the entertainment!
Graham.

Room Tip: Check availability of shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank graham58807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

As far as Blackpool hotels go, this is one of the better ones. The staff are really friendly and work hard. The food is nice for mass catering and really plentiful.
However..........
Please sort out the smoking situation as people stand inside the doorway when the weather is bad or its windy resulting in the sun lounge at the front stinking of cigarette smoke. I reported this and the manager appeared immediately. However, it continued throughout the stay and was not monitored or managed in any way. I was with my elderly parents and young children and found this unacceptable. Please design a dedicated outdoor smoking area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shirleygvalentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We just spent a week at the Doric as part of a family group of 14 covering 3 generations from pensioners to a 4-month old baby. We had 5 bedrooms, including double and family rooms. They were clean and tidy. We parked up on arrival and didn't touch the car for the whole week. The Doric is across the road from the "Cabin" tram stop. We purchased a 7-day tram and bus pass for £13.50 from the newsagent near the hotel, which was great value. The staff were brilliant, nothing was too much trouble for them. The waiters and waitresses looked after our large family with great skill and patience and much humour. They were great with the adults and children alike. It is difficult to single one person out, but Lisa Marie has an infectiously cheery personality. The food was good. Breakfast consisted of the usual bacon, eggs etc. The quality of the 5-course dinner was excellent. We used the indoor and outdoor pools most days. There is a small games room with a pool table, air hockey and a handful of arcade games. There was entertainment every evening after dinner. Adult entertainment began with 3 games of bingo, followed by vocalists/band. The children's entertainment in the Cumberland Suite was good and busy every night. There is free wifi available which I could connect to in the public rooms on the ground floor, but I couldn't pick it up in my bedroom on the second floor. On the whole, this is an excellent hotel, with excellent staff and excellent food and all for excellent value. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank stormydan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stanley, co durham
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Visited with my 2 grandchildren age 3&7 hotel was a bit dated but clean,after kneeling down on the floor my knees were soaking wet off the carpet then I noticed my grandsons bottom and his socks were wet,the carpet had been cleaned and was still very wet.after getting changed again I rang reception and was told to have my meal and the manager would see me ,a few hours later the duty manager said it would probably be dry tomorrow! Eventually he Said we would have a10% reduction,the water in the room was scalding hot and I had to make sure my 3 year old grandson didn't go into the bathroom alone, during the children's entertainment my husband noticed a hot plate had been left switched on next to where my grandson was playing! The entertainment was good the first night, the next night was a race night for them where they had to place a bet on the horses,didn't think this was entertainment for 3 &7 year olds.on the plus side the food was very good and the waiters were all lovely.We saw the manager a few times during our 4 night stay and he has yet to ask if the carpet was dry or even acknowledged our existence .An appology or even a smile would have gone a long wayl

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebony3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Loved this hotel. Stayed for the weekend with family and friends, staff are so cheery it is what makes any holiday for me. Rooms clean & tidy with plenty tea & coffee. Pools lovely for the kids included in the price of our stay, and bar staff, reception staff and waiting on staff especially at breakfast outstanding!!!! So eager to make everybody's stay a happy 1. Would definately stay again. Mandy x

Room Tip: Ask for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amanda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
3,141 reviews
3.4 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
3,071 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#13 of 70 in Blackpool
759 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
469 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#16 of 70 in Blackpool
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doric Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doric Hotel

Property: Doric Hotel
Address: 48-52 Queens Promenade | Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#13 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#21 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Doric Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the prestigious Queens Promenade with breath taking views over the Irish sea, The Doric Hotel is fast becoming one of the more popular promenade hotels offering a wide range of facilities and affordable holidays. Renowned for our quality and service in comfortable surroundings making The Doric a fine hospitality experience for all the family.In the last 3 years The Doric has been highly commended by The Blackpool Tourism Awards which picks out the best of Blackpool’s hotel's and its many aspects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Doric Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doric Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing