We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Doric Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doric Hotel
Ranked #9 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2010

I have been stopping at Blackpool along time now, and i can honestly say this is one of the best hotels i have stayed in. We arrived late on a friday evening, and from the word go we were made very welcome. The head man in the dining room was a top man and spot on with the kids, having a bit of banter with my young lad about him texting his girlfriends. The bar staff were also very friendly and helpful and were always on hand if you needed anything. A good choice of food on the menu was also great. This is a great hotel and if it keeps hold of its good staff and carrys on with the good service it will always get plenty of people going back time after time, as i myself with be returning next year....Thanks

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRISPEE71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,216 - 1,222 of 1,265 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2010

i stayed with another staff member and service user we had an excellent time the food is very good the staff are all friendly and helpfull and dont forget your requirments yes there was a lot of older people there but it was a gold week my only negative was my room would have been a bit cramped if i had been sharing and the drinks shelf was in a bad spot plus window was awkward to keep open but the other 2 rooms were more spacey.After injuring my arm while out i asked for the first aiders help and Aimee was very helpful,i cant fault the hotel staff and we enjoyed the entertainment with music played specially for us too dance too i would certainly return it was just a shame the weather was not very good for us to try the outdoor pool but or beach we made up with the indoor one and jacquzzi

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank falconNorthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

having stayed at the doric a few times in the past i decded it was about time to go back to blackpool and stay at the doric again.i booked 2 weeks before and in that time i looked it up on here to see if anything had changed and was shocked having seen some of the comments regarding the food and a few other things ,so was beginning to wonder if i had made a mistake.but what can i say apart from the food as usual was very good infact i dont think you could get any better and ive been to a few places so i know what ime talking about.i would recomend the doric to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geoff483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

We stayed at the Doric in August having been recommended by family who stayed prevously, our expectations weren't high due to it being a 2 star hotel, however we were extremely pleased with our stay, the room was pleasant, perhaps a refurbished room would have been better as the decor was a little dated. The food in the restaurant was excellent, the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble, particularly James who really does know what customer service is. We were lucky enough to have good weather and spent some time around the outside pool which was great. The hotel is outside of the hustle & bustle but the tram stops outside the hotel and is very cheap to travel on. Would definitely stay again but would ensure we asked for a refurbished room next time.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mycat4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

I really enjoyed my stay at the Doric, as the food was great, 5 courses, including tea and coffee with mints, for evening meal, and a full english breakfast. James, the restaurant manager was great with the kids and made us feel welcome, and always had a chat with us when we were out and about. Indoor pool area with jacuzzi and sauna, with steamroom, was great, as it was heated and not too deep for the kids,( 3, 7, 10, 13 ), The outdoor pool was great too, but the weather was too cold to make use of it, although we still did sit out there and relax. The rooms were spacious and modern as the hotel has just been refurbished earlier in the year, with en-suite bathrooms and clean towels and maid service every day. The hotel is a bit away from everything, which i think is good as the quite the better. But it only costs £5 to get a Taxi to the centre of blackpool and to all of the shops and sights to see. Overall it was a great hotel and would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danielturnbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

we enjoyed every minute of our stay the welcome the cleanliness our food was fantastic every day the entertainment was really good we both had a wonderful time and would go again anytime

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sthelenskaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Very surprised with this hotel... When we arrived at 11am, our room was ready for us, We had room 27 which was in excellent decoration and kept spotless throughout the whole week!
The entertainment in the hotel was poor, but we either went out or sat at the bar playing cards!
Great choice of food, however the majority of the veg/potatoes were that of the frozen/tinned kind, and portion sizes are smaller than usual!
On a whole though a good experience at the Doric!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bellathebud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,306 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,160 reviews
3.4 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sheraton
Hotel Sheraton
#19 of 73 in Blackpool
442 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
506 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#16 of 73 in Blackpool
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doric Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doric Hotel

Address: 48-52 Queens Promenade | Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#13 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#21 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £69 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Doric Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the prestigious Queens Promenade with breath taking views over the Irish sea, The Doric Hotel is fast becoming one of the more popular promenade hotels offering a wide range of facilities and affordable holidays. Renowned for our quality and service in comfortable surroundings making The Doric a fine hospitality experience for all the family.In the last 3 years The Doric has been highly commended by The Blackpool Tourism Awards which picks out the best of Blackpool’s hotel's and its many aspects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Doric Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doric Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing