We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One word - BRILLIANT!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Branston Lodge Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Branston Lodge Guest House
Ranked #4 of 913 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield
1 review
“One word - BRILLIANT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2009

I visited the lodge with a group of work friends for the weekend for a leaving "do" for my boss. Sally and Mike were so welcoming and remembered us making the original booking and commented on why we had booked there. The location is great, close enough to the sea front and Pleasure Beach, a bit of a distance from the pubs and clubs which was fine because you didn’t get the noise from everyone turning out at a silly hour, and a taxi there only cost a few pounds. The rooms are lovely, very airy and really well kept. I only had one breakfast there (even though we did stay for two nights) and again no complaints at all, Sally and Mike really couldn't do enough for us, bringing us extra toast and tea. I would definitely go back there again without hesitation!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emwa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikenSally, owner at Branston Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 9 October 2009
Thankyou very much for taking the time to make these lovely comments. You obviously enjoyed yourself so much you couldnt make breakfast after the 2nd night. We do hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    702
    30
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
335
214
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxton, Prenton, Wirral
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2009

Hi Mike & Sally.

Really enjoyed our stay at your B & B. Hope you continue to have a successfull Business. Enjoy your Holiday in Eqypt. Would definately recommend your establishment to anyone...Very close to All of Blackpool's attractions. Breakfast was first class. Room V ery Clean & Tidy. What more can we say....

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grzyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikenSally, owner at Branston Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 9 October 2009
Thankyou for your positive feedback it was lovley to meet you and thankyou for you for taking the time to pass comments on the hotel..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flintshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2009

My boyfriend and I, along with 2 of our friends, stayed at The Branston Guest Lodge last weekend. Although we would agree that it was a comfortable, clean, spacious stay within walking distance to the Pleasure Beach and G Casino, I would still only say that the B&B was average and that I’m not too sure what all the fuss on the below reviews was about…

I would also say it was more of a 3* than a 4*.

We arrived in 2 cars as we travelled down earlier than our friends, only to find that there was one parking place available (Out of approx 6-8 spaces at the back). Our friends ended up parking quite far away so I suggest the word “Limited” is added to the parking description on the website. I noticed the website also said that the rooms have heating, but ours was very cold in the morning!

The room we stayed in had 1 double bed and some bunk beds. It was definitely very clean and we found the bed comfy. I think it could have done with a couple of personal touches like a soap bar or shower gel in the bathroom. The alarm clock ticked VERY loud, so if you’re lucky enough to find that yours had ran out of its wind… DON’T wind it up! Or you’ll end up stuffing it in the draw with a towel wrapped round like we did…

The shower wasn’t powerful enough and took ages to heat up and the kettle didn’t fit under the tap so we had to fill up glasses of water then pour in the kettle.

Although the breakfast tasted nice, I probably could have counted the amount of beans we had on my two hands!

I also suggest the B&B purchase a card machine. I rarely carry cash with me as I usually pay off my card so it was a bit of an inconvenience to have to find a cash machine before we could pay (And the one I ended up finding charged me too!!)

I wouldn’t stay here again, but would say for it was an ok base for families that want to visit the Pleasure Beach. The owners are friendly and I’d imagine would help out with any queries.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BranstonLodge, owner at Branston Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 22 September 2009
Thankyou for your feedback. Sally and I are sorry that your one night stay here was not satisfactory. We do our utmost to ensure that everbody has a comfortable stay,the heating is not on at the moment as it is early September but if you had only asked we would have responded to your request.
We wish you would have drawn these points to our attention while you were here.
As far as the credit card goes,we did explain to you when you rang to book here, we did not have credit card facilities in the guesthouse and you said that it wouldnt be a problem.
Thankyou for taking the time to provide comments on your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2009

Our first trip to Blackpool and we couldn't have chosen a better B & B.
Mike & Sally were friendly,helpful and made us very welcome. The room was great, spacious comfortable and very clean. The breakfasts too were very good and plentiful.
There was also the bonus of free parking. We really enjoyed our stay in Blackpool and would happily stay at Branston Lodge and highly recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saabmaxChad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BranstonLodge, owner at Branston Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 18 September 2009
Sally and I are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2009

Very nice b&b- spacious, comfortable beds etc. It is well located, but is suprisingly quiet. The owners were very friendly and helpful. Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katelmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BranstonLodge, owner at Branston Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 18 September 2009
Thankyou for taking time to give us feedback. It was lovely meeting you and we look forward to seeing you again..

Mike and Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2009

We had a great stay in branston lodge mike and sally were very friendly breakfast was lovely the rooms were good size, clean and comfortable and in a great location, would definately recommend a stay here

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GillyNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BranstonLodge, owner at Branston Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 18 September 2009
Thankyou for your feedback. We think the location of the Guesthouse is Ideal as you say. Close to the Pleasure Beach but not too close and only minutes from the trams to town.
Sally and I look forward to meeting you again in the future...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watford
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2009

we really enjoyed staying at the branston lodge and its one of the best hotels we have stayed in for a long time and we have stayed in quite a few. The hosts were very friendly from the start of our holiday to the end. The hotel is quiet and very clean and nicely decorated. We would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank walmarjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,931 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Arthington
The Arthington
#2 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
FouRooms Blackpool
FouRooms Blackpool
#1 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Hotel Blackpool
The Hotel Blackpool
#7 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Manhattan
The Manhattan
#21 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Branston Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Branston Lodge Guest House

Property: Branston Lodge Guest House
Address: 64 Withnell Road, Blackpool FY4 1HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 913 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Branston Lodge Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Branston Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing